Customer Reviews for

Manual: A True Bad Boy Explains How Men Think, Date, and Mate--and What Women Can Do to Come Out on Top

Average Rating 4
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Innately Informative, Extremely Enjoyable

I bought this book about 2 months ago, and just didn't get around to reading it earlier. Man, I wish I had! At the time I started the book, I was dating a 'nice guy', and very interested in a 'bad boy'. I've realized what makes me attracted to the 'bad boy', and how I w...
I bought this book about 2 months ago, and just didn't get around to reading it earlier. Man, I wish I had! At the time I started the book, I was dating a 'nice guy', and very interested in a 'bad boy'. I've realized what makes me attracted to the 'bad boy', and how I will never get what I need from the 'nice guy', so I was able to move past the 'nice guy' and move into seeing the 'bad boy.' And goodness, Steve's book was like a window into this guy's soul. Steve would describe actions of the bad boy that I would recognize in my own bad boy, and he would explain what the goal is from those actions. Further, Steve then went on to explain how women who understand these actions can play the same game as the bad boys... making it a very fun hunt for all involved! The book was light and humorous, but spot-on. If you glance through and recognize any of the behaviors that Steve is talking about, then I would highly recommend a thorough reading of this book..... you'll probably learn more than you thought!

posted by Anonymous on December 10, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

Contradictory in places, smug, arrogant. Steve is sure to mention at least 10 times how he used to be a model. Bully for him! I do give him credit for his candor, but at the end of the day, one has to wonder what is the value of following the advice of a 43 y/o, commitm...
Contradictory in places, smug, arrogant. Steve is sure to mention at least 10 times how he used to be a model. Bully for him! I do give him credit for his candor, but at the end of the day, one has to wonder what is the value of following the advice of a 43 y/o, commitment-phobic bachelor unless you wish to attract more of the same? I would rather read a book from a happily married man--at least he can commit.

posted by Anonymous on July 1, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2007

    Innately Informative, Extremely Enjoyable

    I bought this book about 2 months ago, and just didn't get around to reading it earlier. Man, I wish I had! At the time I started the book, I was dating a 'nice guy', and very interested in a 'bad boy'. I've realized what makes me attracted to the 'bad boy', and how I will never get what I need from the 'nice guy', so I was able to move past the 'nice guy' and move into seeing the 'bad boy.' And goodness, Steve's book was like a window into this guy's soul. Steve would describe actions of the bad boy that I would recognize in my own bad boy, and he would explain what the goal is from those actions. Further, Steve then went on to explain how women who understand these actions can play the same game as the bad boys... making it a very fun hunt for all involved! The book was light and humorous, but spot-on. If you glance through and recognize any of the behaviors that Steve is talking about, then I would highly recommend a thorough reading of this book..... you'll probably learn more than you thought!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2007

    the kind of advice your best guy friend would give you

    Steve gives honest and to-the-point advice on dating from a guy's perspective while remaining tasteful and fun. The book is a must for women who just can't seem to find 'a good guy' and encourages them to go out and have fun and let guys worry about finding them!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2007

    I loved it!

    I am so impressed. Finally. A man who loves, respects, and admires women enough to write a book for us girls. Steve is blunt about the mysteries that constantly run through a man's head, adds a bit of witty, flirty humor, and made me feel one more step ahead of the game. He tells us things we need to hear, want to hear, and wish we didn't hear. I recommend this book to any girl out there who is single, is not willing to settle, and who truly loves/wants a REAL man.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Finally know what men are thinking!

    Gives you a male perspective on how they like woman. Good example - women dress usually for women (perfectly matained highlights, designer shoes), when you should be dressing for a man if you want a man. Example - natural looking haircolor, and heels that make your legs and butt look great no matter what the brand. Although seeming sexist - it is definatly not. A man wants a woman with respect.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2008

    Wake up and smell the millenium !

    If you're willing to accept and apply some hard truths about men , this is the book for you. Bulls eye! If you like/or want to compete you have to know the rules, right? Read the play book! Do I have your attention yet! I'm a recently divorced 44 yr.old woman. I spent my entire adult life with (1) man, and blinders on to all other men. If your like me, your time will be well spent/invested in reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2008

    i thought i was going to learn more..

    call me cynical, call me a know-it-all. but it all seemed a little common sense.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    The Manual is not usually the kind of book I would purchase, but I am so glad I did! It has changed my life! Steve has helped to restore my confidence and given me an insight into how I can be pro-active in dating 'espeically bad boys, which I love' His advice was spot on, and shared in a light hearted approach, which made me laugh from start to finish. It is a must read on so many levels and should be shared with every sinlge female out there!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2007

    Smart, fun, and informative!

    I devoured this book! For once I really felt like I was given the inside scoop into the mind of man who is attractive, fun, and successful with women (which is the type of man that appeals to most women--ladies admit it). Steve is honest and blunt, and although I found myself cringing at times the tone of the book is fun and not condescending. A must-read for single women who want an edge on the dating scene.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2007

    Great inside information!

    I enjoyed this book and believe that Mr. Santagati is sincere in his desire to give women a 'heads up'......he is to be applauded for caring and for leveling the 'playing field'!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2007

    Informative and Forthright

    I read The Manual in one day that's how good it was. Steve gave out many secrets women have been trying to figure out. He's like our own private spy. Steve's sense of humor throughout the book made it fun to read. And it was like he was directly speaking to you individually. I would highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2007

    frank advice from the genuine article

    I was skeptical about this book, but bought it anyway, and wow, I'm glad I did. Steve's advice reads like a more charming version of what your brother might tell you, if your brother weren't afraid you'd beat him up for saying it. Yes, it's politically incorrect, but no, the author isn't trying to promote a Neanderthal vision of relations between the sexes. If you've ever wanted to know why guys try to get away with well, everything, and what you can do to stop them, it's all here. And it's refreshing for a man to come out and admit to the simple, biological truth that men like women who make the most of their looks.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2007

    A reviewer

    Contradictory in places, smug, arrogant. Steve is sure to mention at least 10 times how he used to be a model. Bully for him! I do give him credit for his candor, but at the end of the day, one has to wonder what is the value of following the advice of a 43 y/o, commitment-phobic bachelor unless you wish to attract more of the same? I would rather read a book from a happily married man--at least he can commit.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2007

    This is What we've been asking for...

    What a breath of fresh air--anyone who is offended or irritated by this book needs to lighten up and face reality--they're obviously single and bitter. He isn't sexist or a player. (There is a difference between a player and a bad boy). And his description of a bad boy is the epitome of why I love men--it goes beyond the stereotype of a motorcycle and leather jacket and treating a woman like arm candy--it isn't that at all! It is about real men who love real women, love a challenge and refuse to wax their eyebrows (why some men do that is beyond me--gross). Steve is right, nothing beats in-field experience. He delivers his revelations with candor and in a straightforward nature. There are times I laughed out loud, and times I bit my tongue, but in reality, everything he had to say is worthwhile to read. It was a pleasure, and an enlightenment. I read it from cover to cover in one sitting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2014

    Amazing Book

    I have this boyfriend named Justin he claims he's the bad boy type but acts like the nice guy, now I can finally understsnd how he really thinks, Steve is amazing!!! Im so gonna have to buy this book

    ~Camara

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    I like how it says you can preview the book but when you click o

    I like how it says you can preview the book but when you click on it, it says the publisher hasnt allowed any pages be available, Im so glad I learned so much from the copyright page!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    not all boys are bad ....

    I never thought im goin to read this kind of book but when i get in to it i felt all women pain and suffering steve is totaly saying truth facts about men and relationships i leard alot intersting thing tha i didnt know and how women can control men and made him fall in love ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Informative and funny

    Enjoyable to read!!!! While I didn't agree with everything he said, it is fun, informative, and funny!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2007

    Refreshing Candor

    I went out and bought this book in fact I bought 5 more for my closest girlfriends and I read this book in about a day and a half! I give it 5 stars! Thanks Steve for explaining how men think, date, and mate!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3