BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Marilyn Encyclopedia

Average Rating 5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2002

    outstanding

    This is the most throughlly researched book on Marilyn EVER written.I was so impressed with the wonderful pictures.Buy this book!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2002

    Outstanding

    For all the Marilyn Fans i personally recommend this book. It shows all the beautiful pictures of Marilyn when she was young up till she lived. It is an incredible book I can't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2001

    THE BEST MARILYN BOOK OUT THERE!!

    I am the biggest Marilyn fan out there an i know everything about her but this is the most complete book about her. It captures her beauty in all the pictures(especially on pg. 301) I recommend this book to all the people who feel have a connection with the biggest star in history: Marilyn Monroe. I Love her!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2001

    The Most Marilyn

    Before describing the book, you should know that it contains photographs of Ms. Monroe that would earn this book an R rating if it were a motion picture. '. . . [T]his book does not claim to have a monopoly on the truth of Marilyn's life.' The book '. . . aims to be a work of reference and an extraordinary read.' ' . . . [I]t is only apt for the fans to seek out their own truths about Marilyn.' When stars are alive, fan magazines and television reporters capture endless amounts of information about the person's activities. This context for Ms. Monroe's life comes alive in easy-to-use detail in this remarkably complete volume. Think of an aspect of her life that you want to know. Look that point up alphabetically, and you will probably find it here. For example, I looked up Hugh Hefner, and found that he had published nude photographs of Ms. Monroe and was a fan of her work. To follow that thread, you can also find the photographer who made those images and who published the famous calendar. This reference includes a photograph of the photographer, with the calendar on the wall behind him. Very nicely done! The references were even-handed in almost all cases, so those who have a point of view about that aspect of Ms. Monroe's life will see the other side. For example, there is a section on her suicide attempts that details when they occurred and the circumstances surrounding each of them. I was impressed that the book contained details that I never thought I would know. Unless you are a real Marilyn expert, you will probably have the same reaction. For example, there is a section on the movies she considered acting in, but did not. You even get her connections to the Academy awards. She never won one, but she presented. You get a photograph of the outfit she wore that night. As great as the detailed written references are, I enjoyed the visual references more. There are 170 color and 205 black and white photographs in the book. Many of them are very small, as befits a reference work rather than a photography book. They expose new sides of Ms. Monroe by showing her mood, body language, and clothing styles at various stages in her life. You can see the gradual shift from vibrant young woman, to carefully posed star. The book shows you movie posters, publicity stills, shooting on the set, informal scenes with co-stars, vacations, dates, and

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2001

    MOST BEAUTIFUL PICTURES ALONG WITH EVERYTHING THERE IS TO KNOW ABOUT HER!!!!

    I feel this book was the most outstanding Marilyn Monroe book I have ever read or seen. It seems to have absolutely anything you can think of about her with the most stunning pictures. I love her so much and it was so easy to do a report on her with the help of this book and my knowledge. She is my idol and I am very pleased there is a book out there with both alot of pictures and wording.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2000

    marilyn!marilyn!marilyn!

    EVERYTHING you wanted to know about the most famous woman in history!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2000

    Marilyn Monroe

    Marilyn Monroe I feel had lots of talent and is still known today. She is beautiful talented and smart. She deserves 5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2000

    Marilyn Encyclopedia

    I am Priscilla Presley. I bought this book in March and just can´t put it down. It´s truley amazing! I really give my best regards to Victor he did a marvelous job. There are hundreds of pictures and information. Anything you want to know is in this book. Buy it and be happy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 1999

    Marilyn Encyclopedia

    One of the greatest Marilyn books ever! I am a huge Marilyn fan. Marilyn would have loved this book if she would have gotten a chance to see it. Hundreds of beautiful Norma Jean and Marilyn pictures. Great for any Marilyn fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1