Customer Reviews for

The Mark of Athena (The Heroes of Olympus Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 4256 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3697)

4 Star

(302)

3 Star

(101)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(115)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

435 out of 527 people found this review helpful.

Ummm... yeah im excited

Ever since my friends read Percy Jackson and the Olympains,i really wanted to read them. Instantly i became hooked. I loved the mythology and the action. So, I'm more than excited that he is following up with his series. And need-less to say i cannot wait for the new bo...
Ever since my friends read Percy Jackson and the Olympains,i really wanted to read them. Instantly i became hooked. I loved the mythology and the action. So, I'm more than excited that he is following up with his series. And need-less to say i cannot wait for the new book to come out. Rick your a great author keep it up.

posted by Anonymous on June 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Cant WAIT

I cant wait for it I just need to persuade my parents to get it

posted by Anonymous on May 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 4259 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 213
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    To all you stupid people using a nook to get sommething stupid

    Every single one of you idiots using a nook to get a girlfriend or boyfriend is stupid. All of you trying to get laid is even stupider. I wish i could have everyone that is on my side of yhis arguement could copy and paste this on as many reviews as possible. Sorry to all of you who hate it when people chat on a review page and to all of you that wish they would go away and achieve something: A LIFE! I thank l of you wchho agree and actually took five minutes to read this entire thing.

    Brought to you by someone who doesn't care about your problems

    11 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Omg!

    I cant wait i started reading percy jackson when i was six and two years later heroes of olympus came and blew me away cant wait!

    11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    HURRY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    WHY CAN'T THIS BOOK COME OUT EARLIER????????!!!!!!!! HURRY!!!!!!! I WANT TO READ IT BADLY!!!!!!

    11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Cant wait!

    Omg! I cant wait for this book! I have already preordered it and everything! I cant believe i have to wait till october to read it :(

    11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan.

    I have been a fan of Riordan's for years, and this book, the 3rd in the "Hero's of Olympus" series, does not fail to impress. Very well put together, I found no grammer issues, as you may expect with a first addition book. I have purchased the Hardcover copy, but as it does come from "Barnes and Noble" ? I would expect it to be up to acceptable eBook standards. I have the NOOK color, and the eBooks preform exeptional well, considering I got it second hand.
    The plot and characters of this book are very rich and well develeped, and adds to the overall reading experience. Annabeth, Percy, Leo, Frank, Hazel, and Jason go on many adventures, leading up to there visit to Rome. A good book for ages 12 and up, as there are many kissing scenes, and scenes that may not be understood by anybody under the age group I suggested. If you are under 12, but have an advanced maturity level and reading level, as there are latin references you would learn in Grade 7 history, as I did, go ahead. It is a a very good book, and I would reccomend this book to anyone in that age group. It is a very large book, though it only took me about 3 days to finish. It has about 500-700 pages long, but you will fly through this. Something it was lacking though, was explanation for the previous books. If you haven't read the other books, do NOT read this book, as you will find yourself grasping at straws to understand this book. Also, at the end of the book, they leave you hanging, and wondering what has become of (not going to spoil it) certain spiders. Also, you have to wait 1 FULL year for "House of Hades" to be released. Other than these, I would reccomend this book, and hope you like it as much as I do.
    Rachel Sultana

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Great

    Great job rick, you made me cry. The ending was great but sooo sad! The percabeth reunion was great and the whole book was awesome, but you are torturing me! How can you do this to me! WHY!!!! But seriously, on a rating of 1-5 stars, this book gets 100,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    The Mark of Athena

    Rick Riordan has done it again. Another action packed, romantic, humorous novel has been relaesed agin by the BEST author Rick Riordan. Just how did he do it? Well, Rick finally reunited Percy and Annabeth completing the missing link that has occured for two whole books. (And if you are as big a fan as me, then it was driving you CRAZY). Rick finally introduces the Romans to the Greeks. (Uh-oh) Jason, Piper, Hazel, Frank, Leo, Annabeth, and Percy all head out on Leo's magical boat. And the adventure begins!! Of course the trip to Rome was not very easy for 7 demigods traveling together plus Coach Hedge. Their were obstacles at each turn literally and whats worse the meeting with the Romans did NOT go all so smoothly do they have a whole angry Roman camp after them. Also, Annabeth has her own agenda on her mind, Nico is still missing, Frank is having some jelousy issues, Hazel is offgaurd around Leo, Piper and Jason "seem" to be together, that leaves Percy whom of course the story would not be complete with-out. Gaea is finally unleashing her rath in this book and the monsters are everywhere! And boy-oh-boy did Rick leavw us all off on a truley mind consuming cliff hanger. My only complaint- What happened to Grover??? I miss him. Well for sure we have a whole lot in store for us in The House of Hades.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Hey

    Would you guys stop using this as a chat room. Some of us actually want reviews believe it or not

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Percy Jackson Lover

    This book had it all; humor, love and action.
    This book is written from the perspective of 4 different greek demigods. Each of these demigods have their own strengths and weaknesses.
    Can't wait for The House of Hades!
    This book was soooo goood!!!!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Best book everrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!

    This book is so amazing. This is the book I was waiting for since last Fall. It totally exceeded my hightest expectations. The cover is awesome to. This is the best book Rick Riordan has written so far. When I woke up on October the 2 at 6 am I shook with excitment. I got in trouble 4 times in 1 day because I was reading in class. I could not peel my face away. I did the dishes while reading this thing. I encourage people to read this.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    READ!!!!

    I CANT WAIT FOR THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    9 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    I can't wait

    I own the other two books I cant wait for thisto come out

    9 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Love this group of demigods but wish R.R. would hurry up!

    I LOVE!!!!!!!<3

    9 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    excited

    i can' wait till it comes!

    9 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    OMFG. Soooooooo good. Heart just exploded in last chapter.

    "Percy is the strongest demigod i've ever known. No offense." Best. Quote. Ever.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    The book I read was a fantastical and mythical story by Rick Rio

    The book I read was a fantastical and mythical story by Rick Riordan called The Mark of Athena.  It was an easy, yet exciting and fun read.  I enjoyed it very much.  The main characters in this book are seven teenage heroes on a journey to unite the Greek and Roman forces (two camps that have a history of hating each other) to destroy the evil earth goddess Gaea.  Gaea isn’t a threat during the book since she is still sleeping under the earth, as she has been for hundreds of years, but the waking of the goddess would be catastrophic.  She uses her children still living on earth (two giants named Ephialtes and Otis) to try to wake her from sleep.  This involves a ritual that happens on August first.  The seven heroes are all demigods, but four are Greek and three are Roman.  The Roman demigods are Hazel, Jason, and Frank.  The Greek demigods are Percy, Annabeth, Leo, and Piper.  Their plan to cooperate with the Romans quickly fails when Leo is possesed and forced to fire missiles at the Roman camp.  This continues the long war between the two camps, and the demigods are forced to leave.  
    My favorite character in this book is Percy.  I really like his free spirit, his strong determination, and his bravery.  He always comes up with the best and most clever ideas especially in times of extreme trouble.  He is also loose and funny in time of war and death.  In this quote Percy is facing the god that he is not fond of, Dionysus.  “The plant war,” Percy said.  “You’re going to arm all the little grapes with tiny assault rifles?”  Even though Percy doesn’t have a good relationship with the wine god, Dionysus (Bacchus in Roman) does give the demigods a good idea of where their adventure is going to go.  My favorite moment of The Mark of Athena is when the demigods finally make it to Rome and Annabeth meets Gregory Peck on a Roman holiday.
    I thought that this book was well written because it was straight to the point.  The writing was not full of similes, hyperboles, or special phrases, but it was easy to understand and not hard to figure out what was going on between all of the characters.  A quote from the book illustrates this point.  “Dionysus snarled.  His Diet Pepsi transformed into a five-foot staff wreathed in ivy, topped with a pinecone.”  The quote didn’t explain how the Pepsi transformed, but the reader understands what Riordan means.  Another positive point about this book is that each of the characters had a special personality.  Frank is strong, whereas Leo is cunning and puny.  Piper is shy, compared to Annabeth who is powerful.  A final positive aspect about The Mark of Athena is the side story of Annabeth searching for the Mark of Athena.  This is a “scavenger hunt” for children of Athena, which eventually leads Annabeth to the goddess of spiders (any child of Athena’s largest fear) and Annabeth finds a large statue of her mother inside the cavern of the spider goddess Arachne.  Even though this was an adventuresome book, I thought there were some downsides to the writing.  First, I thought Riordan incorporated too much romance and dating between the demigods.  This passage proves my point.  “Jason tried to laugh, but it turned into a painful wince.  “Last time I checked, you were my awesome girlfriend Piper.””  Jason had just woken up and was talking to Piper.  Parts of the book similar to this didn’t add anything to the story.  In the end, I got annoyed every time a passage like this occurred.  My final complaint about this story is that it ended on a major cliffhanger.  Just as five of the demigods were going to save the others from potential death, the book ended.
    Rick Riordan does a very good job of telling about the ruins and the monuments of Rome when the kids reach the city.  Rome was once a stronghold for new ideas and impressive power.  Percy and Jason have the chance to fight the two giants (sons of Gaea) in the Colosseum.  This arena was once used for gladiator fights and ship battles.  I believe that Riordan wrote this book to continue his series but also to display what loyalty looks like and how friendship can shape a person’s life.  Even though the romance part of the book was bad, the friendship between the demigods helped them through tough times.
    The author of this book believes that his story deserves the good attention it gets (it is posted on his web site).  Many readers agree.  Many believe that it is great book and packed with adventure, suspense, and intense scenes.  I agree, but I think that Rick Riordan’s books get all of attention mostly because of his name.  He is a great writer, but I think he started off strong with Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief, and now he is getting progressively worse.  I would still give this a high rating, but not as high as all of the five star ratings on the Barnes and Noble web site.
    There were a couple quotes in The Mark of Athena that I thought were entertaining.  This first one is said by Percy as the ship of heroes is coming to the Pillars of Hercules (an entrance into the Mediterranean Sea).  “Hercules, huh?” Percy frowned. “That guy was like the Starbucks of Ancient Greece.  Everywhere you turn-there he is.”  I thought this quote was funny because it connected to the real world.  This second quote is less funny than the first.  This also comes from Percy as the kids sit around the dinner table on their ship.  He is saying that if the demigods want help from the wine god Bacchus on their journey, Bacchus wants something in return.  “He wanted a tribute, and he made it pretty clear that it would be a tribute we couldn’t handle.”  I liked this quote because it illustrates the problems the kids are facing.
    Overall, I would rate this book four stars out of five.  I thought it was well written and I thought that it was exciting and full of adventure.  I only had a few complaints.  I didn’t like the side love stories and I didn’t like the cliffhanger at the end.  My rating would be similar to other readers ratings, but not identical.  I would argue that Rick Riordan's past books were better than this book, but I still enjoyed reading The Mark of Athena.   

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    You know, just about all the people who rated this book with 2 s

    You know, just about all the people who rated this book with 2 stars and lower(called it boring + lame) were the 'least helpful' people with only 2 'i likes', or were completely ignored. ;D
    Anyways, I've always loved the Percy Jackson series and when I was in B&amp;B I saw Lost Hero and when i saw that it was ricks book i was skeptical, i admit. It was fine, Son of Neptune had less detours + action but i liked it,and I've waited impatiently ever since 4 Mark of Athena. It again wasnt what I expected(certainly the ending-but, unlike others, i did not cry. Dont hate me but its a perfect way 2 keep readers interested) and.... there was this whole glass-house-dramatic-who-likes-who drama and insecure bella swan obsessiveness(coughpipercough-not that i hate her), but i liked the action, sassy humour, etc. There is slight teasing and bullying that i didnt like but hey what would be a good story without it :|.
    I highly recommend this book if youre a Percy Jackson fan and if u luv mythology, gr8t character develop., lil romance(slightly exaggerated), action, quick switching of povs,and all the other good things about this book. Sorry if i left out any key points, or if this was unhelpful.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Book does not work

    My nook is glitching out and says its not available until 2098
    Help plese

    8 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    I so want to read this book

    Seriously it should be a good book and i so want to read it so you should buy it to know i'm going to go cuddle with my kitten

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    YAY

    I saw this at the library ,already 15 waiting now i can get it without the wait.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 4259 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 213