Customer Reviews for

The Mark of Athena (The Heroes of Olympus Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 4388 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3803)

4 Star

(311)

3 Star

(108)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(121)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

453 out of 547 people found this review helpful.

Ummm... yeah im excited

Ever since my friends read Percy Jackson and the Olympains,i really wanted to read them. Instantly i became hooked. I loved the mythology and the action. So, I'm more than excited that he is following up with his series. And need-less to say i cannot wait for the new bo...
Ever since my friends read Percy Jackson and the Olympains,i really wanted to read them. Instantly i became hooked. I loved the mythology and the action. So, I'm more than excited that he is following up with his series. And need-less to say i cannot wait for the new book to come out. Rick your a great author keep it up.

posted by Anonymous on June 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Cant WAIT

I cant wait for it I just need to persuade my parents to get it

posted by Anonymous on May 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    The book I read was a fantastical and mythical story by Rick Rio

    The book I read was a fantastical and mythical story by Rick Riordan called The Mark of Athena.  It was an easy, yet exciting and fun read.  I enjoyed it very much.  The main characters in this book are seven teenage heroes on a journey to unite the Greek and Roman forces (two camps that have a history of hating each other) to destroy the evil earth goddess Gaea.  Gaea isn’t a threat during the book since she is still sleeping under the earth, as she has been for hundreds of years, but the waking of the goddess would be catastrophic.  She uses her children still living on earth (two giants named Ephialtes and Otis) to try to wake her from sleep.  This involves a ritual that happens on August first.  The seven heroes are all demigods, but four are Greek and three are Roman.  The Roman demigods are Hazel, Jason, and Frank.  The Greek demigods are Percy, Annabeth, Leo, and Piper.  Their plan to cooperate with the Romans quickly fails when Leo is possesed and forced to fire missiles at the Roman camp.  This continues the long war between the two camps, and the demigods are forced to leave.  
    My favorite character in this book is Percy.  I really like his free spirit, his strong determination, and his bravery.  He always comes up with the best and most clever ideas especially in times of extreme trouble.  He is also loose and funny in time of war and death.  In this quote Percy is facing the god that he is not fond of, Dionysus.  “The plant war,” Percy said.  “You’re going to arm all the little grapes with tiny assault rifles?”  Even though Percy doesn’t have a good relationship with the wine god, Dionysus (Bacchus in Roman) does give the demigods a good idea of where their adventure is going to go.  My favorite moment of The Mark of Athena is when the demigods finally make it to Rome and Annabeth meets Gregory Peck on a Roman holiday.
    I thought that this book was well written because it was straight to the point.  The writing was not full of similes, hyperboles, or special phrases, but it was easy to understand and not hard to figure out what was going on between all of the characters.  A quote from the book illustrates this point.  “Dionysus snarled.  His Diet Pepsi transformed into a five-foot staff wreathed in ivy, topped with a pinecone.”  The quote didn’t explain how the Pepsi transformed, but the reader understands what Riordan means.  Another positive point about this book is that each of the characters had a special personality.  Frank is strong, whereas Leo is cunning and puny.  Piper is shy, compared to Annabeth who is powerful.  A final positive aspect about The Mark of Athena is the side story of Annabeth searching for the Mark of Athena.  This is a “scavenger hunt” for children of Athena, which eventually leads Annabeth to the goddess of spiders (any child of Athena’s largest fear) and Annabeth finds a large statue of her mother inside the cavern of the spider goddess Arachne.  Even though this was an adventuresome book, I thought there were some downsides to the writing.  First, I thought Riordan incorporated too much romance and dating between the demigods.  This passage proves my point.  “Jason tried to laugh, but it turned into a painful wince.  “Last time I checked, you were my awesome girlfriend Piper.””  Jason had just woken up and was talking to Piper.  Parts of the book similar to this didn’t add anything to the story.  In the end, I got annoyed every time a passage like this occurred.  My final complaint about this story is that it ended on a major cliffhanger.  Just as five of the demigods were going to save the others from potential death, the book ended.
    Rick Riordan does a very good job of telling about the ruins and the monuments of Rome when the kids reach the city.  Rome was once a stronghold for new ideas and impressive power.  Percy and Jason have the chance to fight the two giants (sons of Gaea) in the Colosseum.  This arena was once used for gladiator fights and ship battles.  I believe that Riordan wrote this book to continue his series but also to display what loyalty looks like and how friendship can shape a person’s life.  Even though the romance part of the book was bad, the friendship between the demigods helped them through tough times.
    The author of this book believes that his story deserves the good attention it gets (it is posted on his web site).  Many readers agree.  Many believe that it is great book and packed with adventure, suspense, and intense scenes.  I agree, but I think that Rick Riordan’s books get all of attention mostly because of his name.  He is a great writer, but I think he started off strong with Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief, and now he is getting progressively worse.  I would still give this a high rating, but not as high as all of the five star ratings on the Barnes and Noble web site.
    There were a couple quotes in The Mark of Athena that I thought were entertaining.  This first one is said by Percy as the ship of heroes is coming to the Pillars of Hercules (an entrance into the Mediterranean Sea).  “Hercules, huh?” Percy frowned. “That guy was like the Starbucks of Ancient Greece.  Everywhere you turn-there he is.”  I thought this quote was funny because it connected to the real world.  This second quote is less funny than the first.  This also comes from Percy as the kids sit around the dinner table on their ship.  He is saying that if the demigods want help from the wine god Bacchus on their journey, Bacchus wants something in return.  “He wanted a tribute, and he made it pretty clear that it would be a tribute we couldn’t handle.”  I liked this quote because it illustrates the problems the kids are facing.
    Overall, I would rate this book four stars out of five.  I thought it was well written and I thought that it was exciting and full of adventure.  I only had a few complaints.  I didn’t like the side love stories and I didn’t like the cliffhanger at the end.  My rating would be similar to other readers ratings, but not identical.  I would argue that Rick Riordan's past books were better than this book, but I still enjoyed reading The Mark of Athena.   

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Thoughts on the series

    Well really, this is a pretty good series, but lacks real sense of closure. For really the whole series it ended with a cliff hanger, then you go out and buy ANOTHER book when it comes out. Also some people actually taking this book seriously and doubting that the parents they have right now are beyond pitiful. I mean when this book first came out I day dreamed about it, gave myself an alias. But I DID NOT go around thinking I was the son of a mythical god. This series is overall pretty good. It deserves three stars though because the cliff hangers.

    6 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I expect the hate-messaging to start not long after I post this

    I expect the hate-messaging to start not long after I post this review since I seem to be in the minority opinion, but I'm sticking to my guns: compared to everything else I've read by Rick Riordan (which is all of his output since the first Percy Jackson book), this book felt padded and disjointed and ultimately I did not enjoy it as much as the previous volumes in this series or in the Percy Jackson and Kane Chronicles series.

    Riordan has successfully divided his books between multiple point of view characters before, so I don't think having four point of view characters (Percy, Annabeth, Leo and Piper) is the cause of the disjointed-ness. I think the problem is that the author is just trying to fit too much story into what should be a fairly focused book: the mission of the Seven to fulfill the prophecy. Every one of the seven demi-gods involved in the quest (the four aforementioned plus Frank, Hazel, and Jason) have their own sub-plots that need to be addressed and advanced, not to mention the characters they've left behind or are striving towards: Tyson, Rayna, Nico, Ella, both Camp Half-Blood and Camp Jupiter, even Athena herself -- all of these folks need to be mentioned and weave in and out of the fabric of the quest. That's a lot of personalities to juggle, a lot of bodies to manipulate, and it doesn't always gel smoothly even in Riordan's capable hands.

    We expect a certain formula from Riordan at this point in terms of the focal characters' encounters with mythological beings in the mortal world, but this book has more of these side-quests than any previous and that added to the feeling that the book is padded. Because every encounter has to follow the formula: the hints at who will be encountered, followed by the reveal, followed by the meat of the encounter (for better or, usually, for worse), and finally the method by which our focal characters escape the encounter to continue on their quest. Even though every single one of the encounters in this book does tie into the main quest in some way, it still felt like there were too many: the visit to Fort Sumter, the meeting with the sea-centaurs, the encounter with Narcissus and Echo, the evil naiads, Hercules, the sea gods in the Atlanta aquarium (this scene in particular felt the most unnecessary to me personally) ... I'll admit that the mythology geek in me loves all of this but there was just so much of it, I started to feel like the author was simply delaying getting his characters to Rome for some reason.

    The cliffhanger ending might have been that reason. I think, as an author, I'd have felt a bit of trepidation at writing that ending, leaving at is does certain beloved characters' fates very much up in the air (so to speak). Of course, knowing there's another book to come in the series, I'm pretty sure those characters will survive to the ultimate showdown (and if anyone of the Seven are to pay with their lives, I don't suspect it's the two whose lives are currently at risk, for fairly obvious reasons). The cliffhanger ending is also one of the best parts of this book: Riordan gets the emotional stakes for the reader and plays to them expertly. It doesn't completely counteract the feelings of padding and disjointedness that plague most of the book, but it goes a long way towards the hope that the next book, The House of Hades, will be a return to form for Riordan.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Anonymous

    Greeks rule

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    A cliff hanger,Really!

    Why does it always emd in a cliff hanger! It just like the last book

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Good

    Pretty good

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Brooke Sanders

    I loved the plot! I didn't like the way the characters fell in love though. I want it action packed like the Percy Jackson series. I don't care or want to know about their love life's. Does anyone else agree?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Percy vs jason

    They fight and jason thinks he's better but percy can beat him.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    okay, first things first, the book is good but could be better.

    okay, first things first, the book is good but could be better. In my opinion, it was almost somewhat boring. The humor has literally disappeared or it is just plan stupid, and descriptions and details are very little. However, the plot is very good and there are many twists and turns in the story. That's what basically made me keep reading. (Spoiler: The Giants that are mentioned in the story were not killed by Bacchus, they are killed by the arrows of Apollo and Heracles that were dipped in the poisonous blood of the Hydra- or in other stories, killed each other for Artemis's hand in marriage to release Ares from prison. The only Giant that he killed with his weapon was Eurytus.) Over all, it was entertaining, but it could have been better, Rick. I've been a fan for over 5 years, and I was slightly disappointed. :/

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Really good

    I thought this book had a great plot. However, I did not like the fact that it made fun of the Romans.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Ok

    Not as good as the others cuz of the romantic moments

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Boring

    This book got boring in the end. Other than that it was fine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    **SPOILERS** It was decent, although I thought the rivalry betw

    **SPOILERS**

    It was decent, although I thought the rivalry between Jason and Percy could've been made more fierce (talk about a misleading cover). Bacchus was wayy too overpowered, it doesn't really explain why the Gods need demigods to take down the Giants. Hazel and Frank didn't do much (if anything), Arachne was beaten too easily, and there was too much focus on the romance. The book also lacked sufficient action involving the seven demigods, which resulted in Leo being one of the most important characters in the book as he maintained the ship and saved everyone's butts with it. My interest in this series has cooled since I read The Son of Neptune, so I thought the cliffhanger ending was exciting and a decent end to the book (I wasn't angry with Rick or anything, unlike some other fans).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    To:to hes not all that

    The guy I like is extremely sweet! And smexi. I seen him in a swimsuit and he has amazing abs! He likes me back and I am going to ask him out! His name is CJ Sundberg. My BFF likes him too but I know he doesnt like her aand since she is myBFF i cant hurt her feelings what shoul i do! Plz help!!!!!!! Write advice as your headline

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Amazing Plot. Riordan does it again.

    Awesome book! Moves a little slower than some of his others in the beginning.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Sounds awesome but havent read it

    Brb syl

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Ok

    This book is a good book but it didnt come up to my expectations for a book in the series. It doesnt have as much intense action or comedic genius we have come to love about Rick's books. This was just a good book in an amazing series

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Great book but some pages were out of place

    Around 290 the pages were out of order later on they were again other than that it was great

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2014

    The Mark of Athena

    It leaves you with suspense to the next book it also has a lot of adventure. I wish there was too much detail

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    Good

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6