Customer Reviews for

The Marsh Hawk

Average Rating 5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 20, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Highwayman romance

    I love the old poem "The Highwayman" and really enjoy the old costumers that you used to get in Historical Romance. Sadly, no highwaymen of late. So I was so delighted to see this book and to find out MacTavish is the penname for an author. Thompson is just the tops. There seems little Dawn Thompson cannot write. <BR/><BR/>I was sad to hear of her death in February of this year. The world lost a bright talent.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    perfection from start to end

    I absolutely adores this charming romance. The heroine and hero were living, dashing, and full of human mistakes. I loved this in them. Thompson is a very original writer that keeps giving beautiful stories time and time. On my automatic buy, whatever the name. On my keeper shelf now, along with all my other Thompson books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2007

    A reviewer

    The Marsh Hawk is a wonderfully written romance with an intelligent heroine and sigh-worthy hero, not to mention secondary characters you come to care about. Lord Kevernwood marries Lady Jenna after a very brief acquaintance, this against the advice of his oldest friend, the Vicar Robert Nast. Robert cautions them to wait and get to know one another before they wed, but to no avail. Both deeply in love with each other, they wed. But it¿s after the wedding night that Jenna suspects her husband might be The Marsh Hawk, the highwayman who murdered her father. When she sees her suspicions proved true, she follows the only path she believes open to her, returning home to her mother. She leaves posthaste. Lord Kevernwood is devastated his bride could believe him a murderer. Nor does he know if she¿ll reveal what she knows to the authorities. He fetches her back to his home, but not before Jenna makes another startling discovery. They agree to an arrangement, to live together and give the impression of a happy couple until after the come-out ball for his niece. Both love the other, but believe too much distrust, too many lies prevent the marriage from working. Lady Jersey makes an appearance, learns a shocking truth or two, and stays on, determined to find out the veracity behind some outrageous accusations. I say no more, but leave it to the reader to learn what happens to The Marsh Hawk. You won¿t be disappointed in the twists and turns of the story. I loved this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2007

    beautiful cover, even better book!

    I love this charming book. They writing is simply beautiful, the characters engaging. I put this one on the keeper shelf and will read it again soon. What really drew me were the hero and heroine, their sparkling conversations and the sheer fun of a highwayman book. Well done!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2007

    You can't go wrong with Dawn MacTavish!

    Take one devilshly handsome highwayman, add one beautiful lady on a crusade, along with a dash of skullduggery, and you have one terrific Regency-set story that breaks the mold. ***** Who knew Jenna Hollingsworth's night of revenge, resulting in the wounding of the Marsh Hawk, would mark the beginning of a new life filled with romance, passion, and intrigue. Little did Simon Rutherford, Earl of Kevernwood, know that once he laid eyes on Jenna, he would fall crazy in love. Can Simon's love carry them through Jenna's suspicions concerning his character? Will Jenna's need for revenge spoil a beautiful romance? ***** The Marsh Hawk is a smooth, compelling read that takes you away to another time and place. What a page-turner! Dawn Thompson writing as Dawn MacTavish certainly proved that she can hold her audience captive with straight historical romances just as well as she can with her award-winning paranormal books. You can't go wrong with this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2007

    A reviewer

    If it has Dawn Thompson's name...well Dawn MacTavish in this case, it's auto-buy for me. I absolutely adored this book. Sexy highwayman, everyone has secrets. Lady Jenna's romance with the man who is her new husband, who might be the highwayman was just so heart-stealing. This is one I will read again...soon!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    True lovers of Regency romances will sigh in bliss at this detail-rich saga of one couple destined for a dark, treacherous road. Set in Cornwall, England, 1812, Jenna Hollingsworth has sworn vengeance on the notorious highwayman that killed her father. The Marsh Hawk, as he calls himself, may have escaped the authorities, but she'll make sure he does not escape justice. When she encounters the man on a dark stretch of road, the time for her brand of justice is at hand. Now, she can move past the death of her father and concentrate on her coming nuptials. Only, killing a man's not as easy on the mind and heart as she'd hoped. When the enigmatic Simon Rutherford, Earl of Kevernwood, appears on the weekend of a ball to announce her engagement to another, she quite loses her head, and heart over the dashing man.*****Against the wise council of a close friend, Simon pursues Jenna after the disastrous weekend party and he finds he cannot dismiss the alluring woman. Before either realizes it, they're ensconced in a relationship that will either bring about lasting happiness...or utter despair. Simon's actions don't always ring true and before long, Jenna begins to suspect him of some misdeeds. When secrets come to light, will they be able to set aside their differences? Or will suspicion and doubt plunge them headlong down the dark, treacherous road, from which there may be no return? Only time will tell, but there may not be enough time.*****As this wonderful author continues to release books, I've grown more used to, and now expect, the wonderful level of anticipation and suspense that is drawn forth in each book. The Marsh Hawk is no exception, and I literally had to keep myself from chewing my nails as I turned the pages. This is an interesting perspective for a romance rarely do we get to see through the eyes of the Robin Hoods of romance. If masked men and hidden intrigues are your bag, this one dishes it out in spades. The characters, beginning with Jenna and Simon, all possess a rather intriguing level of roughness, for their situations hinge on desperation more than once. Once again, the author had me on the edge of my seat, truly wondering if happily ever after was in order. As surely as we all read romance for the happy endings, this author makes us and the characters work for it instead of giving the easy ways out. An interesting subplot involving Simon's best friend and his ward adds to the forbidden edge of the novel and we're introduced to another character that leaves me wondering at a possible sequel. Packed with emotion and rich, historical detail, The Marsh Hawk offers up a rich, satisfying feeling by The End.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    In 1812 Cornwall, England, Lady Jenna Hollingsworth shoots the infamous highwayman THE MARSH HAWK before she can ascertain whether he is dying, she flees the scene as she hears voices. Jenna assumes that she killed the brigand who murdered her beloved father. --- At a masquerade gala where Jenna and Viscount Rupert Marner are to announce their betrothal, she sees a masked man with the same hypnotizing ¿eyes of the felon she shot. However, before she can follow up on whether this masked hunk is THE MARSH HAWK, Jenna finds herself married to the earl Simon Rutherford to avoid a scandal. As the newlyweds are deeply attracted to one another and both believing they must hide their love for the other from their mate, she wonders how to unmask him and he wonders how to remain masked while an outraged Rupert plots to destroy the pair who publicly humiliated him. --- The fun in this Regency resides with the dynamic pairing who for the most part dominate the story line. The Rupert subplot distracts from the prime theme of two opponents playing chess with love as Jenna and Simon move and counter move back and forth seeking checkmate, which in her case is proving her husband is (or is not) the highwayman and in case hiding his secret identify. For the most part the audience will enjoy their antics until Rupert intrudes on the plot when he brings them together with his perilous mischief. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2007

    A reviewer

    I read anything Dawn Thompson writer and each book is special. I simply LOVED this one. Sigh. The couple is just so vivid, so enchanting. More, more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2007

    Dawn Thompson writing as Dawn MacTavish

    Dawn MacTavish is the penname for Award-winning author, Dawn Thompson (The Ravencliff Bride Blood Moon Lord of the Deep). Thompson is a hot seller in the paranormal historical romance field, but the MacTavish books will be straight historical novels, without the paranormal elements. And WOW, what a start. This book racked up tons of awards, and has been eagerly awaited. A Regency set in Cornwall, the highwayman comes riding, riding, riding! Lady Jenna Hollingsworth shoots the man they call The Marsh Hawk. Before she makes certain her aim was true, she is forced to flee. Why did the lady shoot the hero of the saga? She believes he killed her father. Later at a masquerade, Jenna is about to announce her engagement to Rupert Marner, only the event is turned topsy-turvy when she spots a man with mesmerizing eyes¯eyes of the highwayman. In a turn of fate, to avoid scandal, she finds herself married to Lord Simon Rutherford. Their romance heats up quickly, but each holds dark secrets and just cannot fully trust the other. The author has penned a pure Regency romp, so delightful in the detail and love for the period. The hero and heroine steal your heart, making this a keeper from start to finish. MacTavish? Thompson? A rose by any other name¿.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2