BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Marshall Mathers LP

Average Rating 4.5
( 117 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(97)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    this is not real music its fith and trash

    this album stinks from begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    the most gross disgusting piece of garbage ever made in music history

    this whole entire album is pure garbage this cd should be taken off store shelves all across the entire world!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Rapper as Poet

    Eminem stirs all of our minds, for better or for worse. He is the only intelligible rapper since Tupac's death. His riffs on Christopher Reeve and Sonny Bono were repugnantly funny. The song "Stan" was breathtaking in its lyricism, a true poet was truly at work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Open minds make way for rap recording

    The Marshall Mathers LP is a mix of clever rap beats and unique, shocking lyrics. It takes a very open minded person to enjoy and understand this particular record. Many of the songs talk about drugs, rape, homophobia and most common, violence. This is a very controversial album, which is why it has become so interesting to many people whom to it would not normally pique their interest. The beats on the tracks are amazingly rhythmic and in sync with the raps. Collaborations on many of the tracks are what separates them from the others. Eminem includes a shocking collaboration with light rock newcomer, Dido. A couple of the tracks include D12, Eminem’s rap posse, as guest rappers. Songs such as Kill You and The Way I Am are angrier but unique songs. Although there may be anger as the motivation behind a song does not mean the song is not of just as much artistic value as a classical song. I would recommend this CD to open minded adults who can have an appreciation for an artist who works hard to express himself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    em's best

    i loved this album when it came out. i still listen to it every now and then. i personally think this is the best. i bought every eminem album after this one and i personally just dont think they compare to this one. i can understand how some people dont like it. sure, some of the subjects are distasteful. i enjoyed it and i hope em gets it together and make another good album

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very nicely done.

    i have a high I.Q. and i used to teach grammar at a private highschool. if you buy this album, you have to have an open mind to all art forms. this is not a very pretty album. it includes thoughts of murder, rape, drugs, alchohol, and very violent and adult situations. another thing that you must keep an open mind of when buying this album is that eminem did not have a very happy life. you must understand the pain that he's been put through by his alchoholic, abusive mother and his cheating wife .eminem may not use the best of words on this album but like i said you must try to respect his own personal art form. the marshal mathers lp is a very different and darkly amusing album. and not everyone will understand his very strange humor. this may not be any calm poetry but it is packed with emotion. hip-hop is one of the most underestimated types of art and music in the world but like i said, not everyone will like this album, but i must say that i sure did. ta.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best albums EVER

    Every song on here is well-put together. This is what truly inspired me to write my own stuff. Eminem came from some tough stuff and puts it down for everyone that did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Eminem is less than talented

    Upon listening to this CD, I caught myself wondering why this guy makes so much money. Any Joe that grew up in a bad environment could get in front of a mic and, well...talk. There is no singing involved, not on his part anyways. If I claimed not singing meant you weren't talented, then I would be a hypocrite because I love rap. However, I only like that kind of rap that doesn't involve suicide, killing your mother and wife/girlfriend (whatever she is). These lyrics are simply distasteful. I'll admit, some songs have a good beat; however, a good beat can't make up for its lack of entertaining lyrics. The CD would be better if Eminem wasn't on it. Whether he likes it or not, Eminem is a role model to all those little boys out there which are products of wrecked marriages, drugs, and trailer parks. He is a role model to them because he has become successful, but his success is from selling albums that portray death and rage. Take the song “Stan” for example, in which the plot goes something like this: Stan is a fan of Eminem, and writes him a letter when Eminem blows off Stan and a kid after a concert. When Eminem doesn’t respond to these letters, Stan send more filled with even more rage. This goes on until Stan sends an audio tape to Eminem in which he diaries how Stan just locked his pregnant girlfriend in the trunk of his car and drove off a bridge. After listening to that, I just felt all warm and tingly inside…not really. What kind of twisted guy thinks of lyrics like this? Eminem belongs in a mental institution instead of CD players across the country. The only hope there is for Eminem is that perhaps there is a genius manager/publicist behind this controversial rapper that tells Eminem to stir up controversy to sell records.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I L@VE EMINEM

    This is da best cd & rapper ever!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Martial Mathers L.p kicked Butt

    I love all the songs espesially the real Slim shady that song kicks butt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Eminem: I love you!

    This is a tight c.d. I love it! I think Slim is sooooo hot too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Brian Bultema should ...

    Brian Bultema should keep his views to himself. I respect him for what he is...a religious bible beater with one sided views. If you do not like this music, DO NOT LISTEN TO IT!!! Keep your views to yourself, and let us angry humans rage on. Oh, DC talk, Newsboys and all those other bands are old and also , as you so put it, repetitive. Their music is one sided and those bands have not explored their musical creativity to any great levels. It is music, but nothing special.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I'm not ashamed to admit it...

    OK. I'm 30 years old, female, professional and have a high IQ. By all accounts I should be too square to "dig" Eminmem. Or at least I should be grossly offended. I'm not. The Marshall Mathers LP is genius. Eminem is a great storyteller and very clever with a lyric...I honestly never appreciated the artistry of rap before (with the exception of KRS-ONE. Not that it's a comparison). Sure, some tracks did leave me thinking "Hmmm," but all in all a great CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Eminem controls your ears.

    After his humorous and dark debut I thought that things couldn't get more sadistic. I was wrong. On tracks like "Criminal" he shows why he's known for his punchline filled humor, while a song like "Stan" is brutally real and a good story. The only downside is the album often loses focus trying to be more badder than everyone else, but all in all its a good buy for Slim Shady fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Marshall Mathers Matters!

    Eminem might be bizarre or vulgar for some ignorant people, but this guy expresses the Reality of Life, therefore he uses the strong and explicit language to make the message be clear. Forget about the fantasy world, these are tragicomedic vibes...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Master peice

    This was the first taste I had of Eminem, and i have to say, since this album, i have only listened to rap. This album is a pure masterpeice. In the beginning, his first two albums werent the best (Infinite & Slim Shady EP), but after time, he has only got better. This album was recenlty followede up by Devils Night (D12) and the Eminem Show.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE BEST EVER

    I think Eminem is a very talented artist. The Marshall Mathers LP us just one of the many works he has put together. His music is compelling, tragic, funny and enthusiastic in some cases. Buy it if you don't have it already. and p.s. hes not a wigger!!!! hes ghetto!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    EMIN3M

    eminem is the best raper out of all the others,i like him because he speaks truth and he is not afraid to say whats on his mind mostlt because(HE JUST DONT GIVE A FU*K) EMIN3M IS ONE OF A KIND!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Masterpiece!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is what rap music is all about. The real slim shady's got the tight beat and amazing lyrics, as well as the way I am. Stan, is the best song in this album.(at least that's what I think)I just think the lyrics are great. Marshall, KEEP GOING!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pretty Good

    I like this cd. Enimen is also cute.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6