Customer Reviews for

The Marshall Mathers LP

Average Rating 4.5
( 117 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(97)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Rapper as Poet

    Eminem stirs all of our minds, for better or for worse. He is the only intelligible rapper since Tupac's death. His riffs on Christopher Reeve and Sonny Bono were repugnantly funny. The song "Stan" was breathtaking in its lyricism, a true poet was truly at work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Open minds make way for rap recording

    The Marshall Mathers LP is a mix of clever rap beats and unique, shocking lyrics. It takes a very open minded person to enjoy and understand this particular record. Many of the songs talk about drugs, rape, homophobia and most common, violence. This is a very controversial album, which is why it has become so interesting to many people whom to it would not normally pique their interest. The beats on the tracks are amazingly rhythmic and in sync with the raps. Collaborations on many of the tracks are what separates them from the others. Eminem includes a shocking collaboration with light rock newcomer, Dido. A couple of the tracks include D12, Eminem’s rap posse, as guest rappers. Songs such as Kill You and The Way I Am are angrier but unique songs. Although there may be anger as the motivation behind a song does not mean the song is not of just as much artistic value as a classical song. I would recommend this CD to open minded adults who can have an appreciation for an artist who works hard to express himself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very nicely done.

    i have a high I.Q. and i used to teach grammar at a private highschool. if you buy this album, you have to have an open mind to all art forms. this is not a very pretty album. it includes thoughts of murder, rape, drugs, alchohol, and very violent and adult situations. another thing that you must keep an open mind of when buying this album is that eminem did not have a very happy life. you must understand the pain that he's been put through by his alchoholic, abusive mother and his cheating wife .eminem may not use the best of words on this album but like i said you must try to respect his own personal art form. the marshal mathers lp is a very different and darkly amusing album. and not everyone will understand his very strange humor. this may not be any calm poetry but it is packed with emotion. hip-hop is one of the most underestimated types of art and music in the world but like i said, not everyone will like this album, but i must say that i sure did. ta.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best albums EVER

    Every song on here is well-put together. This is what truly inspired me to write my own stuff. Eminem came from some tough stuff and puts it down for everyone that did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I L@VE EMINEM

    This is da best cd & rapper ever!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Martial Mathers L.p kicked Butt

    I love all the songs espesially the real Slim shady that song kicks butt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Eminem: I love you!

    This is a tight c.d. I love it! I think Slim is sooooo hot too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Brian Bultema should ...

    Brian Bultema should keep his views to himself. I respect him for what he is...a religious bible beater with one sided views. If you do not like this music, DO NOT LISTEN TO IT!!! Keep your views to yourself, and let us angry humans rage on. Oh, DC talk, Newsboys and all those other bands are old and also , as you so put it, repetitive. Their music is one sided and those bands have not explored their musical creativity to any great levels. It is music, but nothing special.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Marshall Mathers Matters!

    Eminem might be bizarre or vulgar for some ignorant people, but this guy expresses the Reality of Life, therefore he uses the strong and explicit language to make the message be clear. Forget about the fantasy world, these are tragicomedic vibes...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Master peice

    This was the first taste I had of Eminem, and i have to say, since this album, i have only listened to rap. This album is a pure masterpeice. In the beginning, his first two albums werent the best (Infinite & Slim Shady EP), but after time, he has only got better. This album was recenlty followede up by Devils Night (D12) and the Eminem Show.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE BEST EVER

    I think Eminem is a very talented artist. The Marshall Mathers LP us just one of the many works he has put together. His music is compelling, tragic, funny and enthusiastic in some cases. Buy it if you don't have it already. and p.s. hes not a wigger!!!! hes ghetto!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    EMIN3M

    eminem is the best raper out of all the others,i like him because he speaks truth and he is not afraid to say whats on his mind mostlt because(HE JUST DONT GIVE A FU*K) EMIN3M IS ONE OF A KIND!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Masterpiece!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is what rap music is all about. The real slim shady's got the tight beat and amazing lyrics, as well as the way I am. Stan, is the best song in this album.(at least that's what I think)I just think the lyrics are great. Marshall, KEEP GOING!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ''I'll stab you in the head, Whether you're a fag or les.''

    ''Come on, relax, cat. I like gay men, right Ken? Give me an Amen!'' Seriously some of the funniest lyrics I have ever heard. I can't believe that some people dont see the humor. All in all I highly recommend this albulm to everyone, especially kids under 18. I like to watch the news and see how parents cant watch their own kids like columbine. Now THAT was some quality entertainment. ''damn, how much damage can you do with a pen?''

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Genius!

    Marshall is a very angry f-d up kid, but he's one of America's permier humorists, a twisted son of Mark Twain. Does he have personality deficits? Oh yea. But he can write, he can rhyme, and he's the real deal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    FOR THE GREATEST RAPPER THERE IS

    This CD is amazing!!! There isn't a song which is boring or something, all of them are GREAT!!! Slim is SO cute and I would REALLY like to meet him. I even dreamt him twice. It was beautiful... His pictures are all over my room, in my wallet, sometimes I sleep with his picture in my hand,... Oh, God, I think I'm in love with him. How can somebody hate him? Well, he is a bit sick, but I wouldn't mind. I spend most of my time stearing at his pictures, kissing them. My friends say I'm crazy, but I just don't give a... You know what...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This guy is the hottest

    Eminem can hurt people in many ways, but this dude is hot to rib on the gays. He's so hot he's got dmx surprised,he'll even have tupac daed with open eyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Oh So Totally Twisted!

    It's cool that there are some artists out there who sing about the ''back alleys'' of life instead of those who sing about their lovers cheating on them. As for testing the limits of free speech... The songs are awesome and I frequently get a song stuck in my head and sing it to myself all day. Until I get on everyone's nerves. Then I sing it some more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Marshall Mathers LP is the darkest,most contravesial hip hop album ever!

    Eminem is a very talented rap artist! + this is his best album yet. His bad attitude and brilliant lyrics make this album top of the league! Why do people get so angry when they hear a swear word!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best album!

    The Marshall Mathers LP is the best CD I have!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5