Customer Reviews for

Marvel Encyclopedia

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    Marvel source

    A very well put together book.As much information as you could possibly expect to find in a book this size.
    Great character references & basic origin.I really enjoy having it around to refer to as I need. The book does an awsome job of explaining the characters I do know & want to read about & also intoduces me to many characters I have not seen or heard of. I have always been a huge superhero fan, so if that is your thing too, I do believe you will enjoy browsing through this book time & time again to get basic information. The only way you could expect any more would be to have a book way to big to want to go through.I could not see any characters that did not get a good mention. Even includes team references.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Massive and complete

    The original encylopedia was huge, this updated version has 48 more pages. This book showcases some of the greatest characters in the comics field. Not to be missed for true marvel lovers.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    My nephew LOVED this

    I gave this to my 10 year-old nephew for his birthday and he has been carrying around this tome ever since. I think that it may be attached to him. (His dad really seems to like it, too.) The layout is great, with several heroes/anti-heroes per page and passages that are long enough to give the pertinent info, but not get too drawn out and boring. I am no comic book aficionado, but to my unskilled eye, this seems to be a good reference book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    marvel encyclopedia!!!

    I mean the title says it all. If you are a marvel fan, and I mean a HUGE marvel fan, this is the book for you! Not only does it has all the characters that I could think of growing up, but also goes into great detail about hhow they lived, up to where they are now. A truly must have!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    MARVEL-ous!

    I had been looking for this book for two years and finally was able to get my hands on it! This was a great purchase for someone who has been addicted to Marvel ever since I was a little boy. The illustrations are mind-blowing and the entries are very informative. They could have fleshed out some of the minor entries a little more but a great volume nonetheless. I would recommend any comic book fan to pick this up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    Great gift for a Marvel Fan

    Gave as a gift. My brother loved it. Great illustration.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Perfect Compendium

    It's been wonderfully updated, it's easy to page through and find the character you're interested in. Plus it's got great crossover references. It's a great deal at $40 but it's been on sale on and off for only $20. Absolute bargain!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Perfect gift for marvel comic book lover

    I bought this for my best friend who loves his comic books and he absolutely lived this. It gives a look into every character in the marvel universe.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    Great Book!

    I like this book because if there is something I don't know about a superhero then I can just look it up. I would recommend this book to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Great info!

    If you think you are a Marvel fan, have your knowledge be put to the test by reading the Marvel Encyclopedia.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    Great Gift or Addition to Collection

    I bought this book for my boyfriend's birthday and he loves it. We are both avid Marvel Comic fans and this book is best encyclopedia I've seen. The illustrations are awesome, and the information and layout of the pages are great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    A great read for any comic fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    marvel

    it wasa gift for my husband and he absolutely loves it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Love books!

    Everything Marvel is great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    awesome book

    to look up cahaacters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Don't Judge Book by Cover

    Wonderful for peolpe who know Marvel and want to know Marvel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    appropriate as it does cover all Marvel

    I use books like this as reference and details about characters that may appear in other readings

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    Great Gift

    I gave this to my nine year old son as a Christmas gift because he kept reading it at our visits to the bookstore. My husband has also enjoyed this book as well...it has taken him back to his childhood. The book is definitely full of interesting Marvel hero information. Not to be left out, my four year old son likes looking at all the pictures. I guess you could say that this book allows the men in my family to have some good quality time discussing their favorite marvel characters. A great purchase and highly recommended as a gift idea for any Marvel comic fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent source of reference for Marvel.

    I found this Marvel Encyclopedia to be very informative, and an easy reference source to look up comic book characters. Good for comic book enthusiasts of any age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    Marvel

    It was a very useful and comprehensive book. The artwork and stories are wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2