Customer Reviews for

The Mating (The original Law of the Lycans story)

Average Rating 4.5
( 13129 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8446)

4 Star

(3228)

3 Star

(889)

2 Star

(252)

1 Star

(314)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

577 out of 621 people found this review helpful.

Take reviews with a grain of salt!

I would watch some of the reviews. Many negative reviews of this book either:

A) criticize the author's edit - She makes the books free, she has no editor, she simply enjoys writing! Be a little grateful! Read the first or second page where she only requests that IF ...
I would watch some of the reviews. Many negative reviews of this book either:

A) criticize the author's edit - She makes the books free, she has no editor, she simply enjoys writing! Be a little grateful! Read the first or second page where she only requests that IF you feel inclined, donate to a local animal shelter. Come on folks, get a brain!

B) consider the books to involve too much sex. Ok, this is a romance. Compare to some of the "top" romance writers of our day and time, and the amount of sex in her book is average at best.

C) too detailed. Ok, so I suppose you hate Anne Rice as well? Does that make her juvenile, or is the issue with you?

All of this said, the books in this series are well written for someone without an editor. Could the books use work to become published? I could name many books on the market with crappy "professional" systems in place that still end in misspelled words, crappy dialogue, etc. What is their excuse? I have seen romances that verged on erotica. To each his/her own. I would consider carefully before criticizing an author that takes time to write a series for free. Better yet, if you think you can write better, do so!

I apologize for sounding angry, but I am angry. I find it pathetic that people want something for free, then provide negative feedback. If you can do better, do so. Most writers do their best, and do not need the negative, judgmental garbage they get. One good reason I chose to not go into writing.

I felt the characters were enjoyable, and the author did well with making each unique. I do believe the author could benefit from using a spell check, and perhaps someone to read the book to ensure less usage of double-types. However, people are human and do miss things occasionally - note that even "professional" authors and editors make this mistake!

The plots were interesting, and the author did diverge from the more common werewolf storyline I am used to hearing. This, to me, was a good thing. I like werewolf stories, but they are becoming a bit predictable in romances. I appreciate an author that does not feel bound to commonality. The second and third books reveal the author's growth, and I am certain she takes reviews to heart in trying to please.

posted by Etherealcry on April 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

good quick read

Enjoyed the book however I did find the heroine lacking. She was supposed to be smart and brave but never saw it in the book. Would like to have seen her use the lists and things she saw to help instead of relying strickly on the hero. Have all 3 books might wait to ...
Enjoyed the book however I did find the heroine lacking. She was supposed to be smart and brave but never saw it in the book. Would like to have seen her use the lists and things she saw to help instead of relying strickly on the hero. Have all 3 books might wait to read others.

posted by PURPLEKOREA on March 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3228 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 162
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I was pleasantly surprised...

    I really only picked this book because it was free - I figured, what was the loss in trying it? And I was pleasantly surprised with it. I thought it was pretty original. I am used to seeing vampire stories that are romantic and not horrific, but not werewolf stories. I really found myself relating to the characters, feeling for them, rooting for them - even the villain. Quite a few spots in the story were pretty emotionally charged and I feel that the characters are worth contemplating and discussing. There were a few spots in the book that drug and I found myself skipping over paragraphs here and there that were full of details about scenery, when I just wanted to get on with the story - but it was not probelm enough to prevent me from completing and enjoying it. I also had moments where I put the pieces of the plot together faster than the main character and it reminded me of how you watch a horror movie and scream at the blonde who is running up the stairs to hide in her bedroom when the killer is on her trail. But that, also, was not bad. I still think the author could have given it a better title, but I don't have any suggestions. And I found that just a few of the descriptions of the romance were laughable and a little cheesy or raunchy - a few of the words just ruined the mood and made me instinctively think "barf!" - but they might totally flow fine for someone else. Overal, it was a good read and that fact that it was free is excellent! I would definitely recommend it!

    35 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    Great Free Book

    This is my first free book and I was not disappointed. I am looking forward to the next book.

    23 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2010

    A very nice read!

    The characters were well developed and the plot had me captivated. Once finished I had to read The Keeping to find out what came of Ryne.

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    excellent plot

    I enjoyed this book very much and hope to read more from this author in the future. I would very much like to read Ryne's story. This is the first book I have read from this author. I am always looking for a new author to read and I am glad to say I have found one.

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    loved it

    A must read! Need more Kane and Ryne!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2010

    Great Free Book

    Surprisingly good read! I wasn't expecting a full story and a good one for free. I enjoyed the characters and storyline. I would read more about Kane and Elise they are such strong characters.

    I recommend this book, if you like werewolf stories.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Loved it

    Hard to put down!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    THE MATING

    Really good, I had a hard time putting it down, I was not getting anything else done till I finished The Mating.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2010

    Really quite enjoyable!

    I was pleasantly surprised with this one. Not only is it an actual book-length ebook (I haven't came across very many free ones) but its interesting and had me hooked. I want to know MORE. I always think a good book is when I want to know MORE about whats happening with who and I WANT the story to continue. After reading this I was pleasantly satisfied with the book---but I still wanted MORE. I hope theres another in the works continuing the story!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Great Read!!!! I don't usually read romance novels but this is a

    Great Read!!!!
    I don't usually read romance novels but this is a great book.  And it's free!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Great

    Awesome read. It wasn't two pages of sex scenes. It was a nice story with a solid plot. I look forward to reading more from this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    I enjoyed this book

    I enjoyed this book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    The Mating

    Good read. Hope Ryne's story us next.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    FANTASTIC

    Great books other than very mature content. As far as what order, they go: the mating, the keeping, the finding bonded is prequel to the mating but has its own sequel called betrayed: days of the rogue

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Good read

    Another good book by Nicky Charles

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Good read

    I looked at some of the reviews and deceided to give this book a read. Glad I did , found myself unable to put it down at times. Good characters and story, going to read the rest of the series......

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    I have to admit that the genre of paranormal romance had never a

    I have to admit that the genre of paranormal romance had never appealed to me in the past.  In fact, I never finished one of “those” types
    of novels - until now.  Nicky Charles has crafted a well-rounded love story that touched my heart and I could not put it down!  The
    romance of Elise and Kane was rich, well developed, and emotionally satisfying.  Elise is a typical young female, secure in her place
    within her family unit, on the cusp of adulthood and its associated pleasures and responsibilities, looking forward to starting her life with
    her childhood best friend.  She exhibits many of the same uncertainties about her ability to function as a woman that I could relate to at
    the same age.  Kane overcomes a turbulent childhood that lacked stability and a loving family unit until he was a teenager when he is
    “adopted” into an existing pack.  After serving as a Beta, he survives a challenge to become their leader.  He is a strong Alpha male who
    leads his pack with wisdom and a sense of justice unusual for one so young.  

    Elise and Kane are mated to strengthen the political alliance between their two packs.  Unfortunately, Elise is unaware of the impending
    event and must deal with the loss of her expectations, being intimate with a stranger, leaving her home and relocating to a place where
    others may or may not accept her.  Additionally, she must find her footing as an Alpha male’s wife that forces her to examine how she
    relates to others as an adult.  Over the course of the book she attempts to feel her way through unfamiliar situations with new people
    entering her life and discovers the dominant traits that have been dormant, just waiting for the occasions to assert herself and pave her
    way in her new world.

    The book describes their journey dealing with being newly mated along with a mystery surrounding the welfare of their pack’s territory.  I
    was struck by the similarity of this storyline to those of historical romance where an arranged marriage is a common theme and the
    participants must learn to deal with each other as strangers while forging a life for themselves. 

    The writing style is engaging and well paced.  I felt all of my senses participated in the storyline due to the author’s descriptive talents. At
    times, the dialogue was very simplistic (especially in the beginning) but it was not much of a distraction.  It is a complete novel (thank
    you!) but the ending sets up for a series in a most enjoyable manner.  I’m glad that I gave this book and author a chance.  It was time well
    spent!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Recommended-A good read.

    The Mating is a simple yet likable romance, with a bit of intrigue and Lycan politics thrown in. I feel it's a bit too erotic for the average teen reader, but adults who enjoy the genre will sink their teeth into it. The characters are decent, and do develop throughout the book. The plot is interesting enough, although I thought it was a bit political at times, and I just wanted to get on with the story. The mystery, plot twists, and the likeability of the characters kept my interest, and I do want to read the other books in the series. The Mating is a great beach or rainy day read, for anyone who enjoys werewolf romance, mystery, and fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Nice Surprise!

    I selected this book because it sounded like it had an interesting storyline, however I was a bit skeptical because I had never heard of the Author and the book was free. I was delighted to find that I was hooked from the beginning. I became invested in the main characters, often found it difficult to put down and overall really enjoyed the book. I am definately going read the other books in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Fantastic

    starts out slowly, but picks up speed...so much so that I had to get the next two books...invest the time you won't be disappointed

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3228 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 162