Customer Reviews for

The Mating (The original Law of the Lycans story)

Average Rating 4.5
( 13161 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8468)

4 Star

(3233)

3 Star

(892)

2 Star

(252)

1 Star

(316)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

588 out of 634 people found this review helpful.

Take reviews with a grain of salt!

I would watch some of the reviews. Many negative reviews of this book either:

A) criticize the author's edit - She makes the books free, she has no editor, she simply enjoys writing! Be a little grateful! Read the first or second page where she only requests that IF ...
I would watch some of the reviews. Many negative reviews of this book either:

A) criticize the author's edit - She makes the books free, she has no editor, she simply enjoys writing! Be a little grateful! Read the first or second page where she only requests that IF you feel inclined, donate to a local animal shelter. Come on folks, get a brain!

B) consider the books to involve too much sex. Ok, this is a romance. Compare to some of the "top" romance writers of our day and time, and the amount of sex in her book is average at best.

C) too detailed. Ok, so I suppose you hate Anne Rice as well? Does that make her juvenile, or is the issue with you?

All of this said, the books in this series are well written for someone without an editor. Could the books use work to become published? I could name many books on the market with crappy "professional" systems in place that still end in misspelled words, crappy dialogue, etc. What is their excuse? I have seen romances that verged on erotica. To each his/her own. I would consider carefully before criticizing an author that takes time to write a series for free. Better yet, if you think you can write better, do so!

I apologize for sounding angry, but I am angry. I find it pathetic that people want something for free, then provide negative feedback. If you can do better, do so. Most writers do their best, and do not need the negative, judgmental garbage they get. One good reason I chose to not go into writing.

I felt the characters were enjoyable, and the author did well with making each unique. I do believe the author could benefit from using a spell check, and perhaps someone to read the book to ensure less usage of double-types. However, people are human and do miss things occasionally - note that even "professional" authors and editors make this mistake!

The plots were interesting, and the author did diverge from the more common werewolf storyline I am used to hearing. This, to me, was a good thing. I like werewolf stories, but they are becoming a bit predictable in romances. I appreciate an author that does not feel bound to commonality. The second and third books reveal the author's growth, and I am certain she takes reviews to heart in trying to please.

posted by Etherealcry on April 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

good quick read

Enjoyed the book however I did find the heroine lacking. She was supposed to be smart and brave but never saw it in the book. Would like to have seen her use the lists and things she saw to help instead of relying strickly on the hero. Have all 3 books might wait to ...
Enjoyed the book however I did find the heroine lacking. She was supposed to be smart and brave but never saw it in the book. Would like to have seen her use the lists and things she saw to help instead of relying strickly on the hero. Have all 3 books might wait to read others.

posted by PURPLEKOREA on March 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 8468 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 424
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    Take reviews with a grain of salt!

    I would watch some of the reviews. Many negative reviews of this book either:

    A) criticize the author's edit - She makes the books free, she has no editor, she simply enjoys writing! Be a little grateful! Read the first or second page where she only requests that IF you feel inclined, donate to a local animal shelter. Come on folks, get a brain!

    B) consider the books to involve too much sex. Ok, this is a romance. Compare to some of the "top" romance writers of our day and time, and the amount of sex in her book is average at best.

    C) too detailed. Ok, so I suppose you hate Anne Rice as well? Does that make her juvenile, or is the issue with you?

    All of this said, the books in this series are well written for someone without an editor. Could the books use work to become published? I could name many books on the market with crappy "professional" systems in place that still end in misspelled words, crappy dialogue, etc. What is their excuse? I have seen romances that verged on erotica. To each his/her own. I would consider carefully before criticizing an author that takes time to write a series for free. Better yet, if you think you can write better, do so!

    I apologize for sounding angry, but I am angry. I find it pathetic that people want something for free, then provide negative feedback. If you can do better, do so. Most writers do their best, and do not need the negative, judgmental garbage they get. One good reason I chose to not go into writing.

    I felt the characters were enjoyable, and the author did well with making each unique. I do believe the author could benefit from using a spell check, and perhaps someone to read the book to ensure less usage of double-types. However, people are human and do miss things occasionally - note that even "professional" authors and editors make this mistake!

    The plots were interesting, and the author did diverge from the more common werewolf storyline I am used to hearing. This, to me, was a good thing. I like werewolf stories, but they are becoming a bit predictable in romances. I appreciate an author that does not feel bound to commonality. The second and third books reveal the author's growth, and I am certain she takes reviews to heart in trying to please.

    588 out of 634 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    PLEASANTLY SURPRISED!

    I wasn't sure what to expect, with all the free books lately, they're short, bad writing and not great story lines. I WANT MORE FROM THIS AUTHOR!! Well written, not jumping around like other authors' works. I am eagerly awaiting more from this series!!

    278 out of 303 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A NEW FAVORITE BOOK- MUST READ (Highly Recommend)

    I am not the most avid reader, nor do I read random books. With that said, I downloaded these books for my girlfriend (she likes the romantic kind of books). I don't read what she reads but for some reason curiosity got the better of me one night... and I am hooked... Even though the book is from a woman's perspective, it has a very solid plot and many twists and turns that even a guy can enjoy. The sex scenes were done tastefully, not too much but left you mentally excited. Afterwards you find yourself rushing upstairs to your own mate.^_^ I have even found myself waking up to saying "I will read just a couple pages..."(3 hours later still reading) and even going to bed at 12 to read a little, only to finish at 3:30. On a last note I commend and PRAISE the author that this book is free with note to PLEASE DONATE WORTH OF BOOK(S) TO LOCAL ANIMAL SHELTER. These three books are written out of true love for the story and not just for money, and THAT to me is a great book saying that alone. Any female OR MALE that is curious about reading these books... DO IT, I will be surprised if you dislike it.

    246 out of 255 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    Excellent book. Wonderful characters. Leaves you wanting more...

    This was a very well written story that kept my interest from the very beginning. This is the first time I have read a werewolf book that managed to blend both the humanity and wolf together so well. The author's writing brought you into the story right from the beginning and wanting more at the end. I could see the book being a series. I hope there are more books to follow. This was my first free download, but if the author comes out with more...I would definately buy them.

    95 out of 105 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow! And free too?!?

    I was pleasantly surprised by this book. Some free books can be a bit of a disappointment but this was great. It hooked me quickly and once I got into the heart of it, I couldn't put it down. Had to see where it was going and how it would end. Like others, I'd love for this to be a series. There is a story with Ryne and I'd love to read it. I'd even pay for it! Great author!

    80 out of 85 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    Wonderful read! It's not my normal taste in books so I was pleasantly surprised at how much I liked this book. It held my attention until the very end and left me wanting more. I am so looking forward to more in this series.

    52 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2010

    GREAT READ!!!

    This is a great book.. I couldn't put it down until I finished it & I immediately started The Keeping, finished both in 2 days! The author keeps you wanting more so I hope he has a lot more to come!!!

    40 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    A-M-A-Zing

    I don't want to give a long review because everyone gave it all the same good praised I could give. I just want to add I could not put this book down, it was that good! I read it straight until I finished! It's definitely a must read!

    35 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    read alot

    keep up the good work! Now I will go read book 2 .

    20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    Wonderful read!!!!!

    I was a little skeptical about this book and it was one of the best surprises I have all month. It was well written and was so hard to put down and you became involved with the characters so quickly. Excellent book would highly recommend. I will continue to read the author!

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    READ THE ENTIRE SERIES!

    I LOVED this series! They captured my attention in each book and I couldn't put them down! I really hope the author decides to write another book in the series.
    The way I describe these books to my friends is that it is similiar to Stookie Stackhouse/Twilight books only all about Werewolves and FOR ADULTS!
    Great book!!

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    Good escapist story suited for ADULTS

    If you're looking for a hot romantic easy read, this is the book for you! A sexy leading man, a sweet innocent female lead, some light mystery and some SMOKING hot lovin'

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2010

    Great book

    When an author asks for just a review as payment for a book I never think that the book will be very good. Boy, has she proven me wrong! I loved this book and immediately after finishing it downloaded the 2nd book. I can't wait for the 3rd book to come out!

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2010

    Highly recommanded

    Fantastic story, one of my faves & I will read it again & again!!

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I Hope There is a Sequel!

    I really enjoyed reading this book! I can't believe it was free. I saw in someone else's review that this authoress has written a sequel and will write a third. I did a search on B&N and didn't see them, but I'll buy them when they are available, even if they are not for free. I hope she writes Ryne and Bryan's stories. I would love to see them find mates and establish their new pack. I'd also like to see more of Elise and Kane. The ending was satisfying, but it definitely left room for a sequel or two. It had good character development, a good story, and I loved the romance. I read it in 2 days. I couldn't put it down. I love fantasy and paranormal book, and I've seen a lot of vampire books, but not so many on werewolves. She put in a lot of detail on their society and how they change. It was great. I felt like I was there. I would recommend this book to anyone, even if they don't normally like paranormal books. The story line and romance would still make a good book, even if they weren't werewolves. The characters being werewolves was just a bonus. If you give it a try, you won't be sorry. Enjoy!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Awesome.

    For a mature reader. A bit of everything. Romamce, love, suspense, mysteey. Would read it again.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    The trilogy

    I have to admit... i cried a little when i read the last line of these three and found that Nicky would not be writting a fourth, due to a shoulder injury. While i have to admit the 'racy' parts were a bit too much for me and i skimmed those, i read each word of each of the three stories with an eager urgency that makes my heart smile! I love getting lost with characters and adventures that are identifiable, fun and sincere!! I didnt begin the first book with this intent, i was stretching..reaching for a distraction from a mood of depression.. but a few pages into The Mating i became engulfed in the desire to learn more about all of Nicky'S characters! I do hope so for that shoulder to heal and for reconsideration to continue with the story.. id love to know more about the bar owner... the were-bear... xoxo Nicky, please get better!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Would love to read more from Nicy Charles

    An enjoyable read that keeps you hooked and waiting for more!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2010

    Love this book

    This is one of the best werewolf book I have read in a long time. I hope there is a second book to follow this because there is alot of room to continue. I started this book yesterday afternoon and was unable to put it down till it was finished. It is a book I know that I will read again because I read it to fast the first itme because it was that good.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    If you love Twilight, you'll love this!!!

    This is a great love story for mature audiences. I started reading and read all 800 some odd pages in two days. It's a very easy read and keeps you wanting to read and see what happens. I've started the 2nd in this sequel and am going to have to pace myself this time.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 8468 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 424