Customer Reviews for

The Mating: Hostile Hearts Part 1

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Green-Eyed Pirate Meets Coffee Server

There is nothing in the world quite like a good boy-meets-girl romance---especially when the story involves contrasting socio-economic backgrounds. You know the routine: one of them is as poor as the proverbial churchmouse, the other as obscenely wealthy as Donald Trump...
There is nothing in the world quite like a good boy-meets-girl romance---especially when the story involves contrasting socio-economic backgrounds. You know the routine: one of them is as poor as the proverbial churchmouse, the other as obscenely wealthy as Donald Trump. They meet by happenstance and there is an instant mutual attraction. (Of course, details such as personal compatibility and family structure are penciled in as the storyline progresses, or they may not even be addressed at all. [Which, of course, would make the entire story last about a page and a quarter.])

Naturally, due to the intense physical attraction between our two intrepid protagonists, the lovemaking can never be too far away. Inevitabitably, the urge to merge is described in vivid detail, to the delight and pleasure of both partners (and the reader, too!). This forms part of the crux of the story; the remainder is inherently wrapped up in other relevant subplots (mutual danger from an adversary; elements of nature; a moral crisis or two) that add to the twists and turns of the story.

Sandra Ross presents a similar example in "The Mating (Wild Cats Part One)." She relates the story of Iliana, a waitress in a Starbucks-esque coffee shop, who happens to encounter a man named Nickolas Benson, who is described by the author as having "almond-shaped, green, piercing eyes," and "a dark complexion and sensual full lips" (ch. 1).

Iliana is the epitome of the aforementioned churchmouse. She is a hard worker who struggles to pay her bills and her rent, while periodically confiding with her fellow co-worker about her ideal man who might appear before her one day and sweep her away from the monotony of coffee urns and small customer tips. Her journey towards the Land of Dreams-Come-True begins one afternoon when a male customer, who is eventually identified as Nickolas Benson, enters the coffee shop and Iliana goes to serve him.

What makes the character of Nickolas different from other protagonists in Ross's stories is his seemingly malevolent persona. In previous reviews, if the male protagonists were "mysterious," they came across that way because of shyness, or being taciturn, or possessing a physical attribute or handicap that inhibited their inherently good nature. In this particular case, the woman, Iliana, is frightened of him: Nickolas comes across as an off-putting individual; not smarmy, but not open or instinctively trustworthy. This is demonstrated as such when Nickolas's "eyes bore at (Iliana's) back every turn and every second" (ch. 1). Additionally, he made her nervous---except the nervousness seemed based more upon fear than having social butterflies in one's stomach.

Iliana's description of Nickolas as a green-eyed pirate seems fitting, since pirates were mercenary and traditionally held no allegiance to any particular group or government except one: themselves. In this instance, Nickolas conjured up an additional image of a panther---black; sleek; stealthy; relentlessly stalking its prey. The ominous imagery described in "The Mating" provides Ross's readers with a foreshadowing of how the relationship between Iliana and Nickolas will play out.

"The Mating" is an entertaining story, written with the usual verve and slick pace by a talented writer.

posted by RussellG on November 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I always love my erotica with a splash of intrigue and romance,

I always love my erotica with a splash of intrigue and romance, and this short book has a little of both. For some reason, I got a real gothic feel about the characters in this story. Iliana and Nickolas felt like they had stepped out of a European romance novel. ‘Th...
I always love my erotica with a splash of intrigue and romance, and this short book has a little of both. For some reason, I got a real gothic feel about the characters in this story. Iliana and Nickolas felt like they had stepped out of a European romance novel. ‘The Mating (Wild Cats Series Part One)’ by Sandra Ross is a little bit romance, a little bit erotica, and a whole lot of fun!
Iliana works hard in a coffee shop, unappreciated by the boss, but practically stalked by one of her customers. Nickolas is a moody, brutish character with hypnotic green eyes, and he uses those eyes to feast on the lovely Iliana every day. She has a low opinion of herself, since she feels she is plain, and she can’t understand why someone as handsome and rich as Nickolas could be attracted to someone who could barely pay her own rent. I loved the ‘rich man, poor girl’ storyline…it may be a cliché, but it’s a fun one!
After finally losing it and confronting the leering, lusty businessman, Iliana is rewarded with an offer of a date. She is hesitant at first, since she senses Nickolas could be dangerous, but in the end relents, and then things really heat up. Living out many women’s dream, Iliana is whisked away to Nickolas’ castle, and they discover a mutual passion that keeps readers enthralled.
The reference to the wild cats threw me at first, but as I read more of the story it did make sense. Nickolas is sleek and almost sinister, but oh so sexy, much like the dangerous black panther. Iliana makes this comparison early on, but it took me a while to see it. I liked the way Nickolas was a brutish, almost dislikeable character at first, but he softened as the book progressed. I also thought it was a nice touch to make Iliana go from feeling inferior to more in control of her sexuality through her interaction with Nickolas.
I think the hottest part of the story had to be the first love scene, when Iliana finally gets to confirm exactly how Nickolas feels about her, and her breasts, lol! I loved that line! There was something so commanding about the way Nickolas took control of the sex, but was gentle with her at the same time. He was so serious, and I imagined that he had plans for her that went beyond this first installment, and they would probably be juicy ones!
Since this is the first part of the series, I was left wanting to know more about how the couple’s relationship would play out. I wanted to see Iliana take more control, and I wanted to see Nickolas begging for her to control him! Can’t wait to see how this series turns out!

posted by Jwoods1 on November 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Green-Eyed Pirate Meets Coffee Server

    There is nothing in the world quite like a good boy-meets-girl romance---especially when the story involves contrasting socio-economic backgrounds. You know the routine: one of them is as poor as the proverbial churchmouse, the other as obscenely wealthy as Donald Trump. They meet by happenstance and there is an instant mutual attraction. (Of course, details such as personal compatibility and family structure are penciled in as the storyline progresses, or they may not even be addressed at all. [Which, of course, would make the entire story last about a page and a quarter.])

    Naturally, due to the intense physical attraction between our two intrepid protagonists, the lovemaking can never be too far away. Inevitabitably, the urge to merge is described in vivid detail, to the delight and pleasure of both partners (and the reader, too!). This forms part of the crux of the story; the remainder is inherently wrapped up in other relevant subplots (mutual danger from an adversary; elements of nature; a moral crisis or two) that add to the twists and turns of the story.

    Sandra Ross presents a similar example in "The Mating (Wild Cats Part One)." She relates the story of Iliana, a waitress in a Starbucks-esque coffee shop, who happens to encounter a man named Nickolas Benson, who is described by the author as having "almond-shaped, green, piercing eyes," and "a dark complexion and sensual full lips" (ch. 1).

    Iliana is the epitome of the aforementioned churchmouse. She is a hard worker who struggles to pay her bills and her rent, while periodically confiding with her fellow co-worker about her ideal man who might appear before her one day and sweep her away from the monotony of coffee urns and small customer tips. Her journey towards the Land of Dreams-Come-True begins one afternoon when a male customer, who is eventually identified as Nickolas Benson, enters the coffee shop and Iliana goes to serve him.

    What makes the character of Nickolas different from other protagonists in Ross's stories is his seemingly malevolent persona. In previous reviews, if the male protagonists were "mysterious," they came across that way because of shyness, or being taciturn, or possessing a physical attribute or handicap that inhibited their inherently good nature. In this particular case, the woman, Iliana, is frightened of him: Nickolas comes across as an off-putting individual; not smarmy, but not open or instinctively trustworthy. This is demonstrated as such when Nickolas's "eyes bore at (Iliana's) back every turn and every second" (ch. 1). Additionally, he made her nervous---except the nervousness seemed based more upon fear than having social butterflies in one's stomach.

    Iliana's description of Nickolas as a green-eyed pirate seems fitting, since pirates were mercenary and traditionally held no allegiance to any particular group or government except one: themselves. In this instance, Nickolas conjured up an additional image of a panther---black; sleek; stealthy; relentlessly stalking its prey. The ominous imagery described in "The Mating" provides Ross's readers with a foreshadowing of how the relationship between Iliana and Nickolas will play out.

    "The Mating" is an entertaining story, written with the usual verve and slick pace by a talented writer.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    Ok

    I got the 1st short story... well because it was free.... it left with a cliff hanger and to really get the full story you would have to purchase multiple short stories.... it was ok. Needless to say I didn't purchase anymore.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    Sandra Ross is one of my favorite writers of erotic fiction. Her

    Sandra Ross is one of my favorite writers of erotic fiction. Her writing is always full of sensual build-up and very sexy sex. I have no problems putting myself in the place of the characters in her books. I always feel like one of her novels is money well spent. 

    Using the framework of a cinderella story Sandra Ross takes on a heat-filled adventure with Iliana and Nickolas. Iliana is a naive young character who doesn’t know her beauty- a relatable figure for every woman - and Nickolas is a rich man who discovers he knows how to love. 

    At first you aren’t sure that you’re rooting for Nickolas because he’s a little stalkery, but over time he grows on you. As the relationship between Nickolas and Iliana grows you can’t help but be drawn in by the plot. 

    The plot is a little like 50 Shades of Grey, with the mysterious man who whisks a young woman off to the life she’s always fantasized about, so if you enjoyed that trilogy you’ll enjoy this too. 

    The one thing I have to gripe about is the editing: I wish someone would provide a proofreader for Miss Ross. She is a wonderful woman, but for me, small editing mistakes (such as capitalization or punctuation errors) distract from the book. But, I am really nerdy about such things, so c’est la vie!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2012

    Excellent Erotic Romance! I love Sandra Ross because her story

    Excellent Erotic Romance!

    I love Sandra Ross because her story are written in simple way and yet it gets my imagination all worked up with her descriptive erotic scenes. The same can be said about “The Mating (Wild Cats Part One). It will have you at the edge of your seats wanting more, but unfortunately this is only part one of the series. Nevertheless, it is a whole lot of fun to read over and over again.

    Iliana is a beautiful and hard working waitress at a nearby restaurant. One day a extremely handsome and wealthy man, Nickolas came by and she instantly fell in love with him. However, she thought to herself that there is no way she can be with him since she is poor. Yet, he still wanted to date her, so maybe he doesn’t care if she is poor. The sex scenes were steamy, hot, and full of detail! After a wild night of sex, she wakes up the next day thinking if this is real at all. It must be real, right?

    The characters were well developed and highly likeable. I love Nickolas because he was controlling and that social status isn’t really a concern for him. I felt like he was the Prince and she is Cinderella. Excellent erotic romance that is entertaining to read before you sleep or if you’re on the go.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Short story

    It was a good love story,good writing, i look forward to reading the next one in the series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Really liked it

    I really enjoyed this story. It hook me from the beginning. It was not predictable and the characters are very likable. I can't wait to read the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Great start to a Series. Tells you they have a past but not the

    Great start to a Series. Tells you they have a past but not the whole thing. Can't wait to read the next one. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Good book.

    It was short but was well written. Looking forward to the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    I always love my erotica with a splash of intrigue and romance,

    I always love my erotica with a splash of intrigue and romance, and this short book has a little of both. For some reason, I got a real gothic feel about the characters in this story. Iliana and Nickolas felt like they had stepped out of a European romance novel. ‘The Mating (Wild Cats Series Part One)’ by Sandra Ross is a little bit romance, a little bit erotica, and a whole lot of fun!
    Iliana works hard in a coffee shop, unappreciated by the boss, but practically stalked by one of her customers. Nickolas is a moody, brutish character with hypnotic green eyes, and he uses those eyes to feast on the lovely Iliana every day. She has a low opinion of herself, since she feels she is plain, and she can’t understand why someone as handsome and rich as Nickolas could be attracted to someone who could barely pay her own rent. I loved the ‘rich man, poor girl’ storyline…it may be a cliché, but it’s a fun one!
    After finally losing it and confronting the leering, lusty businessman, Iliana is rewarded with an offer of a date. She is hesitant at first, since she senses Nickolas could be dangerous, but in the end relents, and then things really heat up. Living out many women’s dream, Iliana is whisked away to Nickolas’ castle, and they discover a mutual passion that keeps readers enthralled.
    The reference to the wild cats threw me at first, but as I read more of the story it did make sense. Nickolas is sleek and almost sinister, but oh so sexy, much like the dangerous black panther. Iliana makes this comparison early on, but it took me a while to see it. I liked the way Nickolas was a brutish, almost dislikeable character at first, but he softened as the book progressed. I also thought it was a nice touch to make Iliana go from feeling inferior to more in control of her sexuality through her interaction with Nickolas.
    I think the hottest part of the story had to be the first love scene, when Iliana finally gets to confirm exactly how Nickolas feels about her, and her breasts, lol! I loved that line! There was something so commanding about the way Nickolas took control of the sex, but was gentle with her at the same time. He was so serious, and I imagined that he had plans for her that went beyond this first installment, and they would probably be juicy ones!
    Since this is the first part of the series, I was left wanting to know more about how the couple’s relationship would play out. I wanted to see Iliana take more control, and I wanted to see Nickolas begging for her to control him! Can’t wait to see how this series turns out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Awesome

    Loved it! Wanted it to continue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Ok

    Really short. It was good but then it just stopped so you have to buy the other books if you want to continue the story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Great

    Ig was a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    What a cliff hanger

    I am really waiting to read the next installment. I was later leaving out for work this korning because I opened this book and came straight to the book when I got home only to be left with a cliff hanger. Ok, I'll bite. I'm teadingthe next installmebt waiting to find out, "What Comes Next.."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Great book

    Its a great book...my only problem is..... i need more!!! The stories calling my name

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    So many layers!

    I loved this story! There are so many secrets and layers to this relationship.... but it's so unfair that we are left dangling...lol! Can't wait to read Part 2....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    confused

    I was confused on this whole book. Not sure I understood. But this is what I got out of it. He is seeking revenge, and she has no idea who he is. Not sure I will get the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Ok

    This was anok teaser read. This is the first book in a series, but it feels like a tourist trap. The books are all short, and are about 2.99 each.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    What?.... this book is not for you!

    This book is written by and for a cabbage brain.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    The mating

    More please.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Wanting more

    Was not ready for it to end. I am so ready to read more about the panther and stray cat.




    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3