Customer Reviews for

The Mayan Secrets (Fargo Adventure Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 122 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Another super Page Turner from Cussler!

Another super Page Turner from Cussler!

posted by Anonymous on September 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Poor writing t Poor writing style

As a long-time Cussler fan it pains me to say I just may not finish this book. The co-author (whom I presume is the main author) seems unimaginative or immature in style. Too many sentences begin with "They"--one paragraph repeated it three times out of four sentences. ...
As a long-time Cussler fan it pains me to say I just may not finish this book. The co-author (whom I presume is the main author) seems unimaginative or immature in style. Too many sentences begin with "They"--one paragraph repeated it three times out of four sentences. Some words seem missing as well. In general, this book could have been much more entertaining, but reads at child or youth level. This is way below Cussler standard, even comparing to other co-authors.

posted by 8952752 on September 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Poor writing t Poor writing style

    As a long-time Cussler fan it pains me to say I just may not finish this book. The co-author (whom I presume is the main author) seems unimaginative or immature in style. Too many sentences begin with "They"--one paragraph repeated it three times out of four sentences. Some words seem missing as well. In general, this book could have been much more entertaining, but reads at child or youth level. This is way below Cussler standard, even comparing to other co-authors.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Fans of Clive Cussler will be disappointed with this book. The

    Fans of Clive Cussler will be disappointed with this book. The writing style is definitely lacking maturity. Many lines of dialogue actually begin with "Remi said..." and "Sam said...". One paragraph had them conversing between each other and he still wrote who was speaking! The villains were cliche and the use of GI Joe nicknames (Cobra and Viper.... really Clive?) toward the end of the book was just sad. One other disappointment was the lack of flow. The transitions between settings were abrupt throughout the book. The transitions were so bad in a couple spots that I actually thought it was my Nook e-reader skipping pages! I look forward to reading the next Cussler book but will probably avoid purchasing any more from this co-author.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2013

    It was an OK story and all, but lacked excitment and surprises.

    It was an OK story and all, but lacked excitment and surprises. One could almost guess at the outcome. Not in the Cussler writing tradition. At times the words and stories were a bit Dick and Jane-ish, making it an easy read. The history lesson of the Mayan's was interesting and keeps one's interest going. Not what I would call a page-turner.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2013

    Having enjoyed all of the preceding Cussler novels, I was lookin

    Having enjoyed all of the preceding Cussler novels, I was looking forward to reading "The Mayan Secrets." Overall, the story line is promising and inviting as a mystery novel. But, the writing is not measuring up to the Cussler standards to which I have become accustomed. And, in some instances, the writing seems entry level rather than professional and experienced.

    Why would I say such a thing? Because in chapters 3-7 I am anticipating what's about to happen before the author confirms my suspicions. Next, the tag lines are excessive which distracts the reader from the building of suspension necessary to make the subplot work. There are other elements of the writing that I would have thought the editor would have highlighted and questioned. But, at this point, I find myself questioning whether or not I will finish the book. I would recommend that any reader delving into this book maintain a lower set of expectations than normal.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Another super Page Turner from Cussler!

    Another super Page Turner from Cussler!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Incredibly poorly written in third person just rushing through &

    Incredibly poorly written in third person just rushing through "they went here, they went there". Have always enjoyed Cussler's books and this series but will NOT read another co-authored by Perry. Portions including dialogue were fine, but the bulk of the book is amazingly badly written. Its obvious that Perry was on a deadline or contractually required to write this and put very little effort into it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    One of the best

    Cussler does it again very entertaining.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    won't deal with barnes and noble again

    I had a problem with my nook and called tech services and the technician was a real pain after she kept having do different things to the nook that did not correct the problem she had me dump the last upgrade and when that didn't work she told me to go to a B&N store and upload the upgrade back on the nook at that point I told her I wasn't going to fool around with the nook and give me a refund on the book I had tried to load she said she would be right back and when she returned she again tried to have me fool with the nook and I again told her to give me a refund and she finally put me in for one which I received a couple days later I will never have a nook again all this took a little more than a hour of wasted time

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    caution you might not be able to read the complete book

    this might be a good story but at page 113 until about page 148 i could,t read they didn,t p and this happened several more time so i never finished reading it with all the big gaps missing this is the only e book i had a problem with

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Ok story line

    I miss the old days of Cussler as the only author. This was mediocre and had too much of a hopscotch mentality. There was very little mystery or wow elements. The best part of the book was the book cover.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Such a disappointment, kept waiting for the action....any action

    Such a disappointment, kept waiting for the action....any action. The Fargo's are dull.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    SAMPLE Verson

    THE SAMPLE ERSION OF THIS BOOK HAS ONLY 2pages of text!

    Y

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    A must read

    Very good, couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Highly recommend this if you are a Fargo fan

    I've enjoyed reading the Fargo series. This one was really good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    highly recommend

    Great read kept me on the edge of my seat

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Very Good

    Always a good story, quick paced, keeps you interested.
    You always learn a little something, too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Good momentum

    Don't want to put it down as it continues to move fast all the way through the book. Can always depend on Clive Cussler to keep your attention.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Can't wait for more!!!

    The Fargo series is my all time favorite by Clive Cussler & Tom Perry.always an exciting read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    If the Fargo's can't find a way to get into trouble, hang in there they will not fail you. Another good read to the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Same old same old

    Wasnt this an indiana jones movie?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7