Customer Reviews for

The Mediterranean Diet: Unlock the Mediterranean Secrets to Health and Weight Loss with Easy and Delicious Recipes

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

This really does work...

Wife's on a diet, therefore so are we all. Drives me crazy but, 2 months later I've lost 23lbs, I actually have a stomach not a beer belly anymore and I'm thinking about bball again....haven't done that in 5 years. That's Golden!

Healthy, real size portions, not bi...
Wife's on a diet, therefore so are we all. Drives me crazy but, 2 months later I've lost 23lbs, I actually have a stomach not a beer belly anymore and I'm thinking about bball again....haven't done that in 5 years. That's Golden!

Healthy, real size portions, not bird food. I'm completely sold on this Mediterranean diet. High recommend.

posted by bballwannabe on February 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Over priced

$9.99 for a 60 page book is ridiculous. You can get this basic information in a pamphlet from you doctor. DO NOT BUY!!!

posted by seafoamIL on January 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Simply Delicious Diet

    We start diets for our own greater good, yet we can rarely stick to what’s good for us because most diets tend to feel like torture rather than the therapy our bodies need. The Mediterranean Diet: Unlocking the Secrets to Health and Weight not only shows how deliciously simple food can be, but it also gives pointers on how to stay strong when adjusting to the diet. Like a coach whipping new players into shape, the book acts like a support team.

    We’re shown that dieting is not only a healthy lifestyle, but an easy and satisfying diet that alleviates the feeling of depriving oneself of delicious foods. For example, purchasing local, fresh, and seasonal foods gives people a new outlook on food by learning to enjoy produce when they are at their finest. We learn the potential of buying food when they taste best, thus enjoying fruits and vegetables more.

    A change of lifestyle may sound extreme for this diet, but learning a different outlook on food can affect more than your eating habits.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    The Mediterranean Diet focuses on great, delicious foods and is

    The Mediterranean Diet focuses on great, delicious foods and is a diet book for people who love to eat. It won't leave you hungry or deprived. Instead of focusing on calories, this book focuses on fresh foods and portion. The book talks about how Mediterranean eat locally, seasonally, and joyfully, without distractions, which is different than the American way of counting carbs and calories.

    Small meals all day long keep satisfied through the day and eating seasonally keep your meals fresh and less expensive. Their recipe ideas are great not only because they are healthy and fresh,but are still full of choices. Fruits and cheese might be a dessert and certain meats might be served on very special occasions, but everything adds up to delicious.

    The recipes are fresh and easy and can work for anybody. The book does a great job at explaining why this type of eating and why these types of food work with your body to create a healthier you.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    The diet reveals that it¿s not about what you eat, but rather ho

    The diet reveals that it’s not about what you eat, but rather how you eat that determines your health. Unlike Americans who eat on the run and in front of the T.V., the Mediterranean Population take time to savor their meals, which means they’re much less likely to eat processed food. Shockingly, this diet is ‘for people who love to eat’. One of its secrets is it cuts out unhealthful, saturated fats, while using a lot of healthful, polyunsaturated fats. This is important because its not how much fat you eat, as it is what kind of fat you eat. People in this part of the world don’t eat much meat and fast food, so their intake of saturated fat is limited. A healthy body and mind; a winning combination.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2014

    This cookbook is a good addition to any cookbook collection. The

    This cookbook is a good addition to any cookbook collection. The writer’s style is very engaging and there is a clear focus on highlight the advantages of following the Mediterranean diet as a way of improving your health and losing weight. The section on using the Mediterranean style of cooking as a weight loss program details not only food substitutions but an alternative way to view eating. There are an assortment of recipes that use a variety of ingredients.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    This sounds like a diet plan I can work with.  It's based on the

    This sounds like a diet plan I can work with.  It's based on the Mediterranean lifestyle of conscious eating - more fruits and vegetables, less meat, processed food, sweets.  Sounds really simple, like we've heard it before, but the book broke down for me exactly how you can lose weight by doing away with the thinking from the old food pyramid, watching your portions, eating several small meals, making healthy snacks readily available so you're never hungry, what kind of exercise constitutes 250 burned calories, etc. This "diet" might stick!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    This was a worthwhile and super quick read with some really nice

    This was a worthwhile and super quick read with some really nice recipe suggestions that will change up my regular routine in a good way. I wish it had more soups because having multiple courses is an important part of Mediterranean cuisine, but I'm excited to try what was included. One easy aspect of this cuisine is generous helpings of legumes, which can be very filling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2014

    The Mediterranean Diet: Unlock the Mediterranean Secrets to Heal

    The Mediterranean Diet: Unlock the Mediterranean Secrets to Health and Weight Loss with Easy and
     Delicious Recipes offers readers something most other weight loss plans haven’t...And that is to be
    able to take the time to savor and enjoy each meal. Yes, you’ll benefits from adding more fruits and
    vegetables to your diet. Yes, you’ll cut down and red meat and replace it fresh fish and seafood. But the
     Mediterranean diet reminds us to see food as more than just another calorie to count, but as an
    experience to relish and enjoy. It sure has my vote!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1