Customer Reviews for

The Mediterranean Diet: Unlock the Mediterranean Secrets to Health and Weight Loss with Easy and Delicious Recipes

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

This really does work...

Wife's on a diet, therefore so are we all. Drives me crazy but, 2 months later I've lost 23lbs, I actually have a stomach not a beer belly anymore and I'm thinking about bball again....haven't done that in 5 years. That's Golden!

Healthy, real size portions, not bi...
Wife's on a diet, therefore so are we all. Drives me crazy but, 2 months later I've lost 23lbs, I actually have a stomach not a beer belly anymore and I'm thinking about bball again....haven't done that in 5 years. That's Golden!

Healthy, real size portions, not bird food. I'm completely sold on this Mediterranean diet. High recommend.

posted by bballwannabe on February 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Over priced

$9.99 for a 60 page book is ridiculous. You can get this basic information in a pamphlet from you doctor. DO NOT BUY!!!

posted by seafoamIL on January 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    This really does work...

    Wife's on a diet, therefore so are we all. Drives me crazy but, 2 months later I've lost 23lbs, I actually have a stomach not a beer belly anymore and I'm thinking about bball again....haven't done that in 5 years. That's Golden!

    Healthy, real size portions, not bird food. I'm completely sold on this Mediterranean diet. High recommend.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    The Mediterranean Diet is a proven system that works time after

    The Mediterranean Diet is a proven system that works time after time again. I tend to put the weight back on after diets but now ive noticed after going on the Mediterranean diet it has stayed off. I wouldn't really consider it a diet but more of a lifestyle change. I enjoy the foods that is teaches you to eat and so does the family. For me thats what makes it or breaks it for a diet is the food they make you eat and this one incorporates some of my foods. I would for sure recommend this book for anyone that is ready to make a lifestyle change for the better!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2012

    Here's the long and the short: Mediterranean food is delicious.

    This is a diet that will help you lose weight, improve your heart and skin health and decrease your risk of type 2 diabetes by showing you how to live and love food the way the people of the Mediterranean do. What's not to like about that? Written in Chatham's friendly, easily understood style, The Mediterranean Diet is a must for anyone who is worried about their health, or anyone who's tired of eating just to eat and wants to really look forward to meals again.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    As a recently retired long distance runner, I was constantly bar

    As a recently retired long distance runner, I was constantly barraged by the (insert annoying regional accent here) “What’s your secret?” question. The question of course referenced my slim waste and was invariably asked by someone without a slim waste. This bothered me because people expect there to be a secret, a shortcut to weight maintenance. Somehow, hard work, moderation and smart choices had nothing to do with weight. THEY were just unlucky to be heavy. But now, as I find myself on the wrong side of forty and running much less, I was looking for solutions to stay fit without dramatically altering my life or force me to subsist on soy milk and rice. The Mediterranean Diet was exactly the book I was looking for. Not only does it NOT restrict your food intake, but it offers you endless new recipes that are affordable, delicious and easy to prepare. Instead of the clichéd, strict, regimented approach, John Chatham creates a fun, guilt free solution to dieting. In addition to the invaluable food science packing the pages, Chatham acts as a lifestyle guru, encouraging you to not only eat well, but to eat in a mindful, slow paced and enjoyable way. The book helped me loose 12 lbs, AND turned me into a fantastic chef. As a bonus, I finally got the answer to the “What’s your secret?” question. I’m just not going to share it.  They’ll just have to find the book themselves.Veerjay Stone PHD

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    This is my kind of diet!

    I've been trying to switch to healthier eating since my wife is doing the same, but I don't like lots of veggies. This diet works for me because it includes many meat options. It stills has the veggies, but I'm not losing beef or burgers. It has simple plan to follow; the author teaches you all you need to know and he doesn't have to take a long time to do it. I really appreciate that he gets straight to the point and gives practical and balanced ideas in this plan. I believe that if I can stick to this anyone can. You should really give this a try!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    More then just a Diet

    The Mediterranean diet book is an enjoyable read and will leave you with a new outlook on how you look. The books talks about what foods one should eat, but also how one should eat. Methods of cooking, amounts of food and even timing of meals are just a few of the things mentioned in this book. The author John Chatham has numerous books, a few of which I have already read, and just as in this book he always stresses healthy eating through moderation not starvation. One of the cool things mentioned in this book is eating local and seasonal foods, not only will you be eating the freshest food possible, and helping your local economy, but eating local food significantly reduces your carbon footprint, which is always great. For someone looking to start a new healthy lifestyle, or even someone interested in health and fitness this is a great read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Amazing!!!

    My best ,best, best, best, best friend lent this to me, she was showing me the diet she and her husband were doing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    The Mediterranean diet is an alternative food diet method that c

    The Mediterranean diet is an alternative food diet method that combines the areas of Greece, Italy, and Spain into our everyday lifestyle. The diet book gives excellent methods that provide an easier way to lose weight and not have the hassle of counting calories per day. The Mediterranean culture doesn't eat prepackaged or processed food so there's little saturated fat in their meals. The Mediterranean diet focuses on fruits, vegetables, and grains that give you an excellent source of nutrients in every meal. I love that the diet allows you to enjoy food while maintaining a healthy lifestyle. The stress of losing weight is lifted with the help of the book because it's giving you healthy resourceful direction on how to prepare delicious meals and unlocking secrets to losing weight. The diet book has details on the foods that are rich in vitamins, healthy fats, fiber and antioxidants with an excellent taste. The recipes show you how to make fresh meals and using herbs rather than fatty oils. I think the book is an excellent diet source because it focuses on the value of the ingredients and giving you options on where to get the freshest foods possible. The Mediterranean diet not only focuses on fresh and healthy food, it's a great book for people who love to eat and enjoy the culture and flavor of a delicious meal. I love that the book has a natural way to lose the weight and lowers health risks such as type two diabetes and bad cholesterol. The book explains the health benefits of the diet that improve your heart and artery health, increase your energy and even improves your mental functions. These benefits of the book help incorporate the changes in your lifestyle. I believe this book and an excellent excerise regime will sustain a healthy lifestyle with any person at any age.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Good diet book

    The best way to eat, a change in how we think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2014

    Some of the best recipes I¿ve ever had. I¿ve always loved Medite

    Some of the best recipes I’ve ever had. I’ve always loved Mediterranean food but this book helped to expand my knowledge of the culture and new ways to incorporate Mediterranean food into my diet. Only con to the book is the recipes don’t nutritional information but it makes up for it with how awesome the recipes are. Highly recommend. Especially the avocado-honey smoothie and eggplant parmesan sandwich.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    The Mediterranean Diet by John Chatham is definitely ¿top cream¿

    The Mediterranean Diet by John Chatham is definitely “top cream” among diet and cookbooks. It is written in clear, engaging voice that presents information in both a sensible and sensitive way. The recipes are delightful and easy to put together, even for those who have a difficult time slowing down enough to truly savor their food. Of course, as part of the Mediterranean way of eating, the book does highly encourage making meal times very special occasions where every mouthful becomes an experience. I encourage anyone who is loves food to add the Mediterranean Diet to their cookbook library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    If you want to lose weight and love eating fruits and vegetables

    If you want to lose weight and love eating fruits and vegetables, the Mediterranean diet is a perfect option for you! This diet puts an emphasis on fresh fruits and vegetables while focusing less on dairy and meat. While losing weight, you will also enjoy several benefits including improved heart health and skin. I definitely recommend this book to anyone! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    AWESOME

    Best ever!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    The Mediterranean Diet is an easy way to stay fit and eat health

    The Mediterranean Diet is an easy way to stay fit and eat healthy delicious food.  The Mediterranean people, (the people of Spain, Italy and Greece) have been eating this way for ages.  Its no new fad over there.  Its just a sensible way to eat.  They don't gorge themselves on greasy processed foods.  They what's in season locally.  They eat mostly fruits and veggies.  And they eat to enjoy their food.  They eat slowly and savor every bite.  Its as much about how they eat as what they eat.  The Mediterranean menu is hugely expansive and is more about what you can eat than what you need to avoid.   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Well Worth Reading~ The Mediterranean Diet seems so simple and

    Well Worth Reading~

    The Mediterranean Diet seems so simple and its ages old. There is no guessing to be done here. If you have seen the people of that side of the world you can see the vitality in their eyes. They eat good too, they aren’t wasting their time counting calories which I never had the time for either. I dig the tried and true way of eating so since I love to eat for the taste of food I will continue to add recommendations from this book into my lifestyle so that I may enjoy the balanced weight so many Mediterranean cultures do currently. Awesome read. Glad it came in an ebook version. You will enjoy this book, just as I have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Why spend time and money on diet pills and bland food, when an e

    Why spend time and money on diet pills and bland food, when an easy to follow and delicious diet is available? The Mediterranean Diet provides natural ways to lose weight and live a healthy life by recommending the consumption of locally grown fruits and veggies, replacing red meat with fish, and eating smaller portions at meals. Daily activity paired with this simple diet will also enhance one’s ability to lose weight and gain more energy. It is a good book for those seeking to better their health and ultimately their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    When in Rome¿. So this is why those lucky residents of the Medit

    When in Rome….
    So this is why those lucky residents of the Mediterranean region seem to eat better and live longer,
    healthier lives!  This book clearly and definitively explains how everyone—no matter where you
    call home—can enjoy affordable, simple and delicious foods and experience better health and
    reduced incidence of heart disease.  In an easy-to-read and interesting format this book lays out a
    common sense approach to better living and food enjoyment. A terrific read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    The Mediterranean Diet provides the perfect formula for healthy

    The Mediterranean Diet provides the perfect formula for healthy living and an overall positive lifestyle. It is filled with helpful tips and delicious recipes that lead to fast and long-lasting results in weight loss. There is not a complex, calorie-counting equation that will solve your dieting problems, this book makes it clear that there are far less complicated methods to achieving the body and life you want. Providing clear guidelines, and an encouraging outlook, you will be itching to start the Mediterranean Diet. A fast read, packed with useful information, this is your ideal book of tools and methods that will help you to achieve all your health goals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    The Mediterranean Diet: Unlocking the Secrets to Health and Weig

    The Mediterranean Diet: Unlocking the Secrets to Health and Weight Loss the Mediterranean Way by John Chatham has been substantiated by a recent scientific study. That study showed that 30 perfect of heart attacks can be prevented simply through a change in diet! What makes this diet different? It’s encouraging. There is guidance about what to add, how to cook, and how to keep it simple. This isn’t a diet that asks you to cut out everything, and can be stuck to easily even if you are someone with a busy lifestyle.

    B. Cohen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Creative, colorful, and practical

    Discovering why you choose the foods you eat is the question The Mediterranean Diet will help you answer. You’ll learn to make healthy decisions and select foods that make sense based on who you are and where you live. If you love food and hate counting calories, learn how to celebrate your meals and make colorful choices to help change why and how you eat. The Mediterranean Diet contains appetizing ideas for meals throughout your day that won’t demand drastic lifestyle changes or empty your wallet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2