Customer Reviews for

The Mediterranean Diet for Beginners: The Complete Guide - 40 Delicious Recipes, 7-Day Diet Meal Plan, and 10 Tips for Success

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

It¿s no longer a secret that the Mediterranean diet is a vastly

It’s no longer a secret that the Mediterranean diet is a vastly superior choice to the Western one. It’s heart healthy, filled with fresh foods and healthy, seasonal options, and it allows for plenty of red wine. The great thing about the Mediterranean Diet for Beginner...
It’s no longer a secret that the Mediterranean diet is a vastly superior choice to the Western one. It’s heart healthy, filled with fresh foods and healthy, seasonal options, and it allows for plenty of red wine. The great thing about the Mediterranean Diet for Beginners booklet is that it really shows individuals how to make the smart everyday choices, without sacrificing, without irrational demands, without a convoluted program. There are lots of easy and delicious recipes and meal plans, but the real beauty of this manual is how well it defines the types of foods and preparations one should be using, so the lifestyle lasts long after the book is finished.

posted by AshleyMay on April 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I have been reading the sample selections from this book in prep

I have been reading the sample selections from this book in preparation for purchasing it here but the information I see causes me to question that plan. I see that these authors recommend low-fat dairy and specifically low-fat yogurt! That is NOT part of the Mediterr...
I have been reading the sample selections from this book in preparation for purchasing it here but the information I see causes me to question that plan. I see that these authors recommend low-fat dairy and specifically low-fat yogurt! That is NOT part of the Mediterranean diet at all, nor is it even considered the wisest way to consume dairy, if one is going to consume dairy. Real Mediterranean eating of yogurt is of the full-fat, whole milk variety and it is not only delicious - in fact, there is no comparison between it and the low/no-fat stuff, but it is also a better nutritional choice for absorption of the key nutrients in dairy products, e.g. Vitamin D.

posted by 1576499 on August 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Great Start

    This book lives up to its name. It is really basic, but gave me enough information to actually start thinking differently about the way I eat. If you love fruits, veggies, and want to add more seafood into your diet, this maybe a pretty good diet to think about. I gave it a five because for such a small book, there was some really good information.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    I have been reading the sample selections from this book in prep

    I have been reading the sample selections from this book in preparation for purchasing it here but the information I see causes me to question that plan. I see that these authors recommend low-fat dairy and specifically low-fat yogurt! That is NOT part of the Mediterranean diet at all, nor is it even considered the wisest way to consume dairy, if one is going to consume dairy. Real Mediterranean eating of yogurt is of the full-fat, whole milk variety and it is not only delicious - in fact, there is no comparison between it and the low/no-fat stuff, but it is also a better nutritional choice for absorption of the key nutrients in dairy products, e.g. Vitamin D.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Like many people, I am a yo-yo dieter. I have tried almost ev

    Like many people, I am a yo-yo dieter. I have tried almost every fad diet that’s ever come out. But this book is not actually about a diet, it’s a way of life for many people across the world. The Mediterranean diet has been practiced for a long, long time and has numerous health benefits. The book also provides 10 steps to help people be successful. Most of us have some pretty self-defeating behaviors in which this book addresses.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    The Mediterranean Diet for Beginners: The Complete Guide made di

    The Mediterranean Diet for Beginners: The Complete Guide made dieting and getting great health benefits sound like a fun, and enjoyable life-style journey, not a diet! Health benefits range from weight loss to improved bone health, to improved cardiovascular health and preventing some types of cancer. There are many delicious recipes at the end of the book that make my mouth water and plenty of choices to replace less healthy foods. This is a great guide to get started on this really simple way of eating.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    The Mediterranean Diet for Beginners is considered to be one of

    The Mediterranean Diet for Beginners is considered to be one of the most nutritious diets around. It is a cooking tradition that focuses on fresh ingredients such as fruits and vegetables, seafood, nuts, whole grains, and olive oil. It also lets you have an occasional glass of red wine. It will help you look and feel better. It is easy to follow and the information is very useful. There are recipes which are delicious and even a sample week of meal plans. All the ingredients are easy to find in your local area. Just remember fresh is best!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    It¿s no longer a secret that the Mediterranean diet is a vastly

    It’s no longer a secret that the Mediterranean diet is a vastly superior choice to the Western one. It’s heart healthy, filled with fresh foods and healthy, seasonal options, and it allows for plenty of red wine. The great thing about the Mediterranean Diet for Beginners booklet is that it really shows individuals how to make the smart everyday choices, without sacrificing, without irrational demands, without a convoluted program. There are lots of easy and delicious recipes and meal plans, but the real beauty of this manual is how well it defines the types of foods and preparations one should be using, so the lifestyle lasts long after the book is finished.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Healthy and Joyful way of eating!

    I am truly looking forward to starting thhis new way of life. This book has many recipes that look easy and not alot of ingredients

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Chances are you¿ve experienced this diet before when eating with

    Chances are you’ve experienced this diet before when eating with your grandparents. That’s right, this is a return to the roots of food style diet by focusing on fresh whole foods and a wide variety of food groups. The best part about this beginners guide is that it allows you to keep foods from all traditional food groups and doesn’t require sacrifice. The Mediterranean Diet is a great introduction to improved eating habits and it won’t leave you famished like traditional diets. Complete with meal plans, snacks and deserts you’ll find yourself pleasantly surprised at the value that is found inside.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    The Mediterranean Diet for Beginners is all about healthy living

    The Mediterranean Diet for Beginners is all about healthy living. The Mediterranean diet does not involve restricted foods. Instead it offers a new way of eating, exercising, and living healthier. Through its easy to follow recipes, readers can purchase ingredients at stores, markets, and prepare these delicious, healthy meals as they embark on their quest to be healthy individuals. The Mediterranean Diet provides evidence that its way of eating and living reduces the risk of heart disease and cancer. The best part about it is that people can still eat good food as opposed to eating bland meals and having to starve in order to lose weight. Everything one needs to make the switch is included in this phenomenal book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Adopting a new meal plan just became easier with The Mediterran

    Adopting a new meal plan just became easier with The Mediterranean Guide for Beginners. Within, you’ll not only discover the preventative benefits of meals largely composed of fresh fruits and vegetables, whole grains, nuts, seafood, olive oil and red wine, but you’ll also find that these meals can be inexpensive, quick to prepare and assist in weight loss. Additionally, medical and scientific studies provide convincing proof of the health benefits of the Mediterranean diet. Start with the 40 included recipes and vary them with only a few limitations to your heart’s desire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    This unpretentious book could save your life.  Those who buy ¿Th

    This unpretentious book could save your life.  Those who buy “The Mediterranean Diet for Beginners” in order to plunge into the recipe sections and emerge with a few choice meals to show off to their friends are missing the point.  Those who buy it primarily to lose weight are also missing most of the point.  The Mediterranean Diet is based on the lifestyle of those on the coasts of Italy, France, Morocco, Spain and Greece who lived long and healthy lives.  Yes, it involves eating certain fresh and healthy things, and the book has sample meal plans and an assortment of recipes for each meal.  But in being the antithesis of the American fast food experience, the diet or lifestyle not only prohibits processed and “bad” fat foods, but also the tendency to eat quickly and alone.  Thus, the book opens a door to a world where you pick your food carefully from local vendors providing the freshest produce, and where you enjoy planning and preparing a meal that will be shared leisurely over a glass or two of red wine with your inner circle of friends.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Great Intro

    Book is ideal for introducing the Mediterranean Diet...offers ample info without overwhelming the reader. Have tried and enjoyed several of the recipes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2013

    It would be nice to be able to move to Greece or Italy and learn

    It would be nice to be able to move to Greece or Italy and learn to cook with fresh local vegetables, lean meats and lots of healthy fats by being there (not to mention the occasional glass of red wine and the sun!) but the “The Mediterranean Diet for Beginners” is certainly a more economical alternative. This book provides a very nice, simple to follow overview of the Mediterranean way of eating (better term here than “diet” I think) emphasizing lean meats, lots of fresh fruits and vegetables and little to no processed food - along with just enough scientific data to support what they say and not overwhelm you with statistics. Naturally there are a couple points I don’t agree with (I have spent a lot of time traveling and living in the various countries that make up the Mediterranean region and I have NEVER seen anyone eat any low-fat dairy product!) but overall the book provides a some good, easy recipes and enough information to get you started!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    The Mediterranean diet encourages people to embrace not only fre

    The Mediterranean diet encourages people to embrace not only fresher foods, but the sunny attitude and joyful way of living espoused by the regions of France, Italy, Morocco, Spain and Greece. This diet has been shown to better heart health and reduce the risk of certain types of cancers. What makes this book amazing is that it is a complete guide to living and eating healthy-with a complete shopping guide and an extensive recipe list. Plus, all the foods required can easily be purchased at any neighborhood grocery store. This is a book that everyone can benefit from and enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2013

    An All Natural Diet The Mediterranean Diet has become a very po

    An All Natural Diet

    The Mediterranean Diet has become a very popular book in my every day life.  It is a diet, yes
    I know-the dreaded word, that includes using healthy and natural foods in your every day servings.  Foods
    such as fruit, olive oil, nuts, and veggies can help you lose weight and improve your body's health.  This book
    includes research on why the diet works, and also includes serving sizes for your week with user friendly recipes
     on how to make the diet easily fit into your busy schedule.  A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1