Customer Reviews for

The Mediterranean Slow Cooker Cookbook: A Mediterranean Cookbook with 101 Easy Slow Cooker Recipes

Average Rating 4.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This cookbook is exceptionally great for those that love to use

This cookbook is exceptionally great for those that love to use a slow cooker and want to learn the basics of Mediterranean cuisine. Each recipe seems to be healthier than the next, and the ingredients are all things you can find at local stores. I found the cooking tip...
This cookbook is exceptionally great for those that love to use a slow cooker and want to learn the basics of Mediterranean cuisine. Each recipe seems to be healthier than the next, and the ingredients are all things you can find at local stores. I found the cooking tips/guidance of Mediterranean style cooking to be very informative. This is a great buy.

posted by Breanna_Lee on March 14, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

No recipes in sample

I don't know who decides the samples contents but a sample of a cookbook without even one recipe is worthless! If its the authors choice then stop being ridiculous. Giving away one recipe won't break you. To the contrary where I'm concerned. You lost a possible sale.

posted by 18488673 on April 21, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    I just got through my first read of this book and I actually lea

    I just got through my first read of this book and I actually learned more than I thought I was going to. I honestly think the best part of the entire book was in the first couple of chapters where it discussed the health benefits of slow cooking. I have always liked cooking but don't know much about doing it properly and I was using it to expand that knowledge base. This is an easy read and very very helpful.

    Also, the book doesn't get bogged down with a bunch of needless jargon, nor does it seem pointlessly flared. It is just good information that is easy to read and understand. Anything that is said typically has some good information to back it up. As someone who has done some journalism based work, this is nice to see even though it is a cook book.

    That being said, I have only tried one of the recipes in the book, but it was great. There are a lot more in here and they all look really good. The instructions are easy to follow and help you get outside your usual routine for a meal.

    I recommend it highly.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    There is really something for everyone in this book. Whether you

    There is really something for everyone in this book. Whether you are looking to eat healthier, cut costs, save time, or try something new, this book has it all. The author does an excellent job of giving clear, concise tips not only for preparing the recipes, but also for using the slow cooker. Anyone can successfully prepare these recipes with the help of this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2014

    Dream of travel to the Mediterranean? Look no further than your

    Dream of travel to the Mediterranean? Look no further than your own kitchen. This book is enticing and simple to follow. You learn how to cook flavorful meals for the entire family while reading about recipe origins. Plus you get handy tips on stocking your pantry, flavor profiles, and substitutions. This book was a gift. I am thrilled to share with all my food loving friends.
    Godere!
    Απολαμβ¿νω!
    Jouir!
    Enjoy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    My family and I live by cooking in my slow cooker because it sav

    My family and I live by cooking in my slow cooker because it saves us so much time. I bought this cookbook because my family and I wanted to try something different. I was pleasantly surprised with how easy the recipes were, and I really likes the informational chapters in the beginning. The food was great too, my family likes the “Bananas Foster” recipe the best.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    The Mediterranean Slow Cooker Cookbook is a must-have for any co

    The Mediterranean Slow Cooker Cookbook is a must-have for any cookbook collection. Not only does it include reasons behind slow cooking, safety with slow cooking, and techniques for using a slow cooker, but it also provides 101 wonderfully simple slow cooking recipes to be tried at home. The chapters are conveniently divided into groups by meal and by what kind of meat used, making it easy to reference back to any pointer or recipe. This cookbook is great to use as a guide to start learning to slow cook as well as an additional tool to those who already know how!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    This cook book is perfect for those on the go who want to make a

    This cook book is perfect for those on the go who want to make a healthful delicious dinner-in-a-dash. This book provides easy and mouth-watering recipes for all occasions. Brief introductions give information on the history of the recipe, flavors, and serving suggestions. This book was given to me and already I can’t wait to try some of these recipes!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    This cookbook is just what the title says, including ¿flavor pro

    This cookbook is just what the title says, including “flavor profiles” of West Mediterranean and North Africa, much more than the typical Greek recipes. I use my slow cooker often enough for savory and sweet to recognize terrific recipes, and became so inspired after going through this eBook, that I wanted to share my enthusiasm. To be expected are Chicken Cacciatore and Lentil Soup recipes, but also Turkish Stuffed Eggplant, Tuscan Beef Stew, Braised Basque Chicken. The entire seafood section is an education, including using your slow cooker as a poacher. And did I mention dessert? How does Natillas de Avellanas (Spanish Hazelnut Brandy Custard), Tiramisu Bread Pudding, or Moroccan Golden Saffron Cake sound? I’m thinking my slow cooker didn’t see this coming.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    This book is really good on the subject of Mediterranean Slow Co

    This book is really good on the subject of Mediterranean Slow Cooker Cuisine. It is very easy to read and it has many easy to follow recipes about slow cooking Mediterranean style. I do recommend this book to anyone wanting to learn more about the subject. Check it out... it is only about 175 pages and it has many juicy recipes to easily follow. This is a great place to start for beginners on the subject.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Informative on slow-cooker cooking styles and methods as well as

    Informative on slow-cooker cooking styles and methods as well as Mediterranean cuisine. Organization of the book promotes quick finding of recipes and layout encourages ease for quick review during mid-preparation glances. Only Con: No pictures. Received book for free and I am excited to dive into these yummy recipes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    In addition to being clear and informative, this cookbook was re

    In addition to being clear and informative, this cookbook was really fun to read! Many cookbooks tend to read clinically, but not this one. Each recipe shared a fun fact about its origin, its ingredients, or its serving style(s), which added depth and personality. The book also took the time to introduce and explain the use of a slow cooker and the different kinds of Mediterranean foods there are, which was helpful. I received a free copy of this book, and I look forward to trying out some of its recipes soon. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    I skimmed through the recipe book and look forward to trying som

    I skimmed through the recipe book and look forward to trying some things out. Unfortunately, some of the ingredients are ones I don’t usually have around or am familiar with using. A lot of the recipes especially use certain olives or wines, which is to be expected Mediterranean food. They also suggest that you brown all meats before cooking—this means more dirty dishes, but hopefully improved taste!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    This is an excellent cookbook for adventurous chefs or health co

    This is an excellent cookbook for adventurous chefs or health conscious people seeking to adopt a healthier, plant based diet.
    Home cooks will enjoy recipes from every Mediterranean region, and will find the flavor profiles described in chapter two very helpful.
     Dieters will be thrilled at all the healthy recipes focused on fresh vegetables and lean meat.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    I absolutely love this book, it not only breaks down the basics

    I absolutely love this book, it not only breaks down the basics of cooking with a slow cooker but it gives great advice and tips that I've been able to apply to every meal Ive cooked since I started using my new slow cooker. The recipes are amazing and my husband enjoys all the new exotic food, and I love being the wife who can cook for him. ^_^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    The Mediterranean Slow Cooker Cookbook proposes a diet that revo

    The Mediterranean Slow Cooker Cookbook proposes a diet that revolves around the slow cooker and fresh Mediterranean ingredients. If one shops and prepares properly, they can make dinner before they leave for work, then come home to healthful dish filled with tender meats and intermingled flavors. Sounds like a winner.

    Disclosure: I received this book at no charge.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    This cookbook enabled me to cook healthy delicious Mediterranean

    This cookbook enabled me to cook healthy delicious Mediterranean-style meals for me and my family. All of the recipes use simple ingredients and you only need a minimal amount of time to prepare the meals. The food is so good and easy to make that I've significantly cut down on the amount of fast food I used to eat. I've recommended this book to my friends and family members. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Easy directions for slow cooking.  Good pantry listings that tel

    Easy directions for slow cooking.  Good pantry listings that tell you exactly what  supplies  you’ll need to start. Makes the whole process easy.

    The recipes are simple and cover a wide variety of foods.  I’m not a cook, so I found the  process and the recipes easy to follow. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    You¿ll love having some new ideas for your slow cooker ¿ the rec

    You’ll love having some new ideas for your slow cooker – the recipes are great!  Mediterranean cuisine has so many delicious and diverse flavor profiles. Take advantage of the health benefits and time saving techniques offered in this cookbook.  All you need is a crock-pot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    I really liked this idea of slow cooking with spices and wine to

    I really liked this idea of slow cooking with spices and wine to create savory foods that are healthy for you to eat. recipes include
    different
    dishes from Spain, France, Morocco, Italy and Greece, each with it's own uniqueness. Fruited desserts that are divine. It's organized into sections of information of the value of this style of cooking, along with a list of spices to keep stalked so your always prepared. An overall very nice cookbook to try .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    If you're not familiar with Mediterranean cooking, this cookbook

    If you're not familiar with Mediterranean cooking, this cookbook offers lots of great recipes made easy with a slow cooker. There were no pictures, but the recipes emphasized the hallmarks of this kind of cuisine - meats, veggies, sauces and soups - that transitioned well to a slow cooker and sounded delicious. Over 100 recipes with tips on using and caring for your Crockpot, plus the kinds of pantry items to have on hand for a stress-free meal you just start in the morning really came in handy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    The Mediterranean Slow Cooker Cookbook has lots of helpful tips

    The Mediterranean Slow Cooker Cookbook has lots of helpful tips to guide someone who is new to slow cooking. It is also full of useful facts for the chef who has been using the slow cooker for years. I found the nine chapters to be well organized and filled with a wide variety of eye-catching recipes for any occasion. This cookbook helped me to see how slow cooking is a healthy way to minimize the stress of cooking while still getting robust flavor out of your meats and vegetables. I recommend it to anyone who has a slow cooker just gathering dust.  – Shertina M.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1