BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Medium (An Emily Chambers Spirit Medium Novel)

Average Rating 4.5
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING!!! A MUST READ

I was left speechless. At first I was skeptical, but once I read the first few pages I was obsessed. I took an instant liking to emily; shes just an outcast in society and it isnt her fault. I fell in love with jacob as soon as he was introduced. My heart was breaking f...
I was left speechless. At first I was skeptical, but once I read the first few pages I was obsessed. I took an instant liking to emily; shes just an outcast in society and it isnt her fault. I fell in love with jacob as soon as he was introduced. My heart was breaking for their forbidden love. This book will have you smiling, crying, or even angry because it draws you in! I highly recommend this bookto anyone looking for a paranormal book NOT about vampires or werewolves. Definitely buying #2!! (I apologize for any spelling or grammar errors in my review- its late and Im super tired)

posted by Anonymous on November 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good for Teens

I think I would have really liked this as a young teenager. As an adult, it is a little too simplistic and not, well, adult enough. Sometimes "young adult" novels span the age ranges (like Harry Potter) but this one doesn't quite reach that level. Admittedly, I read ...
I think I would have really liked this as a young teenager. As an adult, it is a little too simplistic and not, well, adult enough. Sometimes "young adult" novels span the age ranges (like Harry Potter) but this one doesn't quite reach that level. Admittedly, I read A LOT of books and may be harder to please. It is actually OK but just doesn't have enough going on to keep my attention very well. I have made it half way thru but cannot guarantee I will make it to the end. Also, in all honesty, the characters do not have the 'feel' of the correct period in history. The main character talks like a modern girl and doesn't seem to be aware of the social mores of the times.

posted by BookishKoals on April 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    AMAZING!!! A MUST READ

    I was left speechless. At first I was skeptical, but once I read the first few pages I was obsessed. I took an instant liking to emily; shes just an outcast in society and it isnt her fault. I fell in love with jacob as soon as he was introduced. My heart was breaking for their forbidden love. This book will have you smiling, crying, or even angry because it draws you in! I highly recommend this bookto anyone looking for a paranormal book NOT about vampires or werewolves. Definitely buying #2!! (I apologize for any spelling or grammar errors in my review- its late and Im super tired)

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Didn't see just ghosts, but my future in how I would enjoy this book so!

    I really liked this book! It was a refreshing change from the now typical forbidden love between a "dangerous" vampire and a whiny heroine. Emily held her own, but still allowed room for the romance, mystery, and adventure. It intrigued me how Emily was portrayed as an outcast, with her gift and physical appearance, yet she found her true love in the most unlikely situation. Jacob loved her against all odds, which was quite a tear-jerker.
    I really liked the twist on the classic nineteenth century setting as well. It added to the overall charm and enchantment of this novel. I could've done more with the development of the love between the two main characters, but the "forbidden-ness" was spot on. There were many times that I shrieked, "OH MY GOSH!" and gasped and breathed sighs of relief.
    It's a definite page turner and I highly recommend it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Excellent and Engaging!

    I was pleasantly surprised at the intrigue and suspense created in both the events and characters. There was depth in the relationships and the explanations of the paranormal events. I loved the history without being bogged down by it. This book combines my three favorites: history, romance, and the paranormal! I cant wait to read #2 and #3!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Great book

    Was so good that I had trouble putting down and can't wait to read the next book in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Awesome! I rarely write reviews but I just have to say I can't b

    Awesome!
    I rarely write reviews but I just have to say I can't believe this book is free. The writing is great, the story is interesting and the characters make you want to come back for more. If you like historical paranormal, this is for you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Well Written

    Great story. The sequels are equally entertaining. Between the three books, the story has great continuity and surprises. Very well written and enjoyable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    This is a well written book and an interesting read - It was a r

    This is a well written book and an interesting read - It was a refreshing change from the now typical supernatural books. This writer successfully combines suspense, supernatural, and romantic elements. I enjoyed the plot and the characters and I can’t wait to read 2 and 3.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Intriguing

    Very interesting read. It successfully combines suspense, supernatural, and romantic elements. It was a bit of a let down to end so suddenly with so many questions unanswered. However, it succeeded in striking my interest enough to continue on with the next book. Bravo!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Great

    Great book i enjoyed the plot and the characters cant wait to read 2 and 3

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    I've read this and book 2. Both were very good and kept my inte

    I've read this and book 2. Both were very good and kept my interest. I can't wait for the third book of the trilogy to see how this ends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Good love story

    This was a great love story but had a ton of mystery also. It wasnt nasty and it dont recal bad or foul language. Great tead:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Loved it

    Great book, especially towards the end. I can't wait for thr next one to come out on the nook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2014

    Loved it

    Couldnt put it down want to resd even more now!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    Loved this story

    I really enjoyed this story. A new twist in paranormal stories. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Excellent read

    A very enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2014

    Very entertaining!

    The relationship between the sisters kept me wanting to know more of their personal story.
    I also wanted to know more of the ghost's personal story.
    I will be reading more of C JArcher's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    Loved it

    Good read. Brave girls keeping themselves alive in difficult times. Good adventures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Fun easy reading

    Light easy reading. Good early teen book. Clean and fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Loved it

    I do not usually go for ghost stories but this one grabbed me from the start and never let go,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Very well done!

    Could not put it down! Not a bodice buster thank gods!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4