BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Memory Jar (Seven Brides for Seven Bachelors Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    I was enamored with this book from the start. Can you just imagi

    I was enamored with this book from the start. Can you just imagine the commotion that these bachelors raise every spring when they arrive in this tiny community? I can just picture all those sweet young girls whispering and giggling together as they check out this year’s new crop of eligible men. It just makes me smile thinking about it.


    Since this is a Tricia Goyer book there are a couple of different things going on that she has masterfully woven together to create a satisfying story. Both of our main characters have back stories that affect the budding relationship between the two of them. Sarah can’t seem to move past the loss of her best friend and Jathan has family obligations that he just can’t find peace about.
    One of my favorite aspects of this story is when the two of them have conflict they actually talk about what is bothering them. Many authors use misunderstandings to push the story along. I prefer Tricia’s approach to deepening the storyline and the characters themselves. By the end of the novel both Jathan and Sarah have matured in their walk of faith and in their relationships with others.


    Let me give you a little warning . . . this book is going to make you hungry! Hungry for the delicious sounding cupcakes that Sarah is famous for and hungry for the next book in the series. The Promise Box is the title of book two and is scheduled to come out in May 2013. I will definitely be looking forward to it.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Memory Jar is more than a sweet romance. Sarah and Jathan ju

    The Memory Jar is more than a sweet romance. Sarah and Jathan juggle the desires of family and community, their personal dreams, and following God's will. And Sarah also has important lessons to live about treasuring the past instead of dwelling in the past. Tricia Goyer's writing, as always, is engaging. I thoroughly enjoyed this novel.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2012

    This story begins with a sad accident. At first, I though

    This story begins with a sad accident. At first, I thought the friendship between Sarah Shelter and Patty was too sweet; Sarah is trying to remember the color of Patty’s eyes. But then – as I read further, their friendship becomes encouraging, fun, insightful, and loyal. Reading the flashbacks of their experiences together since Sarah was ten - really made the two friends especially likeable for me. I like to read about the Amish, but I also like that Sarah and Patty express unconventional hopes and talents that make them seem more than they are…more than the Amish community would expect them to be. I loved that Sarah’s way to a man’s heart is through his stomach with her delicious baking. Baking is so popular now; who doesn’t love a great cupcake? Jathan’s letters home helped me to understand his character better.
    The idea of keeping a memory jar is so appealing. Today, we have hundreds of pictures saved, hundreds of emails, texts, songs, etc… Having a memory jar with a physical object that invokes a memory would be so much more special. The night that Sarah and Jathan spend together is chastely romantic. I love Patty’s advice that the one thing that doesn’t belong in our memory jars is regret.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    My review:
    We join the Amish community in Minnesota, again, there are familiar friends and faces here. Annie's store is a big part of this story, as it was in Tricia's other books. Sarah Shelter is not living her life to the fullest, as her friend Patty would want, instead she hides herself away in the kitchen at Annie's cooking and baking. Dreaming her dreams of owning a bakery, but not doing anything to fulfill those dreams, when a hike up Robinson Mountain changes that, separated from her friends, due to spraining her ankle, Sarah begins to fear they have left her, and she starts down the mountain taking a different trail, however soon she is lost, but Jathan, one of the many bachelors who come to Minnesota to hunt, finds her and stays with her. Realizing that she is attracted to him, they spend much of the night talking waiting for daylight to begin their trip down the mountain. What started on the mountain, blossoms fast, but a sudden illness calls Jathan back home to Berlin Ohio. Will Sarah, follow him and fulfill both of their dreams, or will the past keep her frozen in time?
    I enjoyed this book greatly, it was different from most Amish books, where the Ordnung is the main topic of the book. This book was about two people finding happiness and themselves. It was a good book, with a good story! 4 stars 342 pages US $14.99
    This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2013

    I do believe this to be the first Amish book I have read and I l

    I do believe this to be the first Amish book I have read and I loved it!




    This is the story of Sarah Shelter. Having lost her best friend, Patty, Sarah struggles to allow herself to move on. Having suffered loss of a close loved one, I completely understand. Sarah lives in West Kootenai, Montana where young Amish men come in the spring to live for at least 6 months so they can gain resident status for the hunting season. Each year these "bachelors" often leave with a bride.




    For five years, Sarah has allowed love to pass her by, but this year is different. She has some stirrings for Amos not even paying attention to Jathan Schrock. Then, one day a group of friends goes on a hike and life will never be the same!




    Sarah keeps a jar with little trinkets she has gathered throughout her life. These serve to remind her of the many memories of life. I love how this habit helps her through her life's decisions and helps her as her life progresses to new adventures. Sarah's dream is to own her own bakery. This dream is a struggle as she likes the 'fancy' things, like decorated cupcakes. So different from the 'simple' things of the Amish life.




    Jathan comes from a place where his life has been planned out for him. He is to return to work in the local factory to help take care of his parents. We come to find out that he, too, has an interest in helping with his mom's bakery! Given this hard choice, what would you do? Follow your heart and passion? Or take the job for its security?




    You will have to read this great book to find out how it works out in the end. But, suffice to say, that Lord does work in mysterious ways and what we think we want may not be exactly how it works out. Sometimes exciting and new things seem like a good idea and seems like it is the perfect solution to please everyone may or may not work out that way! Change is good, but is it for everyone?




    Also, note that you just never know how the people you meet along the way will affect your life's outcome. The great lesson is to trust in the Lord and follow his guidance. Which brings me to the quote I'd like to share: "...the more Sarah thought about the word faith, the more she realized it was all about looking ahead." (pg 240) "...we jest need to keep walking in the direction God pointed us last, and if we keep looking fer him and waiting on him, God will let us know when to make a change of direction." (pg 136)




    Do you trust in the Lord to guide you? Enough to follow him? How do you remember your memories? Do you have a jar with a collection of all kinds of things?






    Disclosure: As part of the Tricia Goyer 2013Fiction Launch Team, I did receive a free copy of this book; however I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed here are completely my own!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    A great book of all ages - This is a wholesome book showing hope

    A great book of all ages - This is a wholesome book showing hope, courage and faith. It has a lot of subtle message without "preaching" to the reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1