Customer Reviews for

The Meryl Streep Movie Club

Average Rating 3.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great summer read!

Similar to Friday Night Knitting Club with the character development of a Kristin Hannah novel - if you like Kate Jacobs' and Kristin Hannah, you will enjoy Mia March.

posted by 14701510 on July 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

3.5 stars Two women return to an inn on the coast of Maine, su

3.5 stars Two women return to an inn on the coast of Maine, summoned by the aunt who raised them after the tragic deaths of the sister's parents and their uncle. Their cousin, Kat, still lives at the inn. The four relatives were never close when they inhabited the h...
3.5 stars Two women return to an inn on the coast of Maine, summoned by the aunt who raised them after the tragic deaths of the sister's parents and their uncle. Their cousin, Kat, still lives at the inn. The four relatives were never close when they inhabited the house 15 years prior and an uncomfortable time is ahead for them now. Isabel is hurt and angry after finding her husband half-naked in another woman's house; June is trying to track down the father of her son (at the boy’s request), and Kat wonders if a life in Maine is all that she can hope for. The weekly Movie Night features Meryl Streep films, and each of the women come to find comfort in the theme of at least one movie. Viewing the movies is not mandatory for readers, as the story tells of each movie and the women’s discussion will give the reader a good idea about movie content. Another good summer read with romance, loss, anger, and sorry. I see a movie coming from this book.

posted by Heidi_G on June 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Great summer read!

    Similar to Friday Night Knitting Club with the character development of a Kristin Hannah novel - if you like Kate Jacobs' and Kristin Hannah, you will enjoy Mia March.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    3.5 stars Two women return to an inn on the coast of Maine, su

    3.5 stars Two women return to an inn on the coast of Maine, summoned by the aunt who raised them after the tragic deaths of the sister's parents and their uncle. Their cousin, Kat, still lives at the inn. The four relatives were never close when they inhabited the house 15 years prior and an uncomfortable time is ahead for them now. Isabel is hurt and angry after finding her husband half-naked in another woman's house; June is trying to track down the father of her son (at the boy’s request), and Kat wonders if a life in Maine is all that she can hope for. The weekly Movie Night features Meryl Streep films, and each of the women come to find comfort in the theme of at least one movie. Viewing the movies is not mandatory for readers, as the story tells of each movie and the women’s discussion will give the reader a good idea about movie content. Another good summer read with romance, loss, anger, and sorry. I see a movie coming from this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND I really enjoyed this book. Family is so import

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND
    I really enjoyed this book. Family is so important especially during the difficult times in our lives. Loved how this book showed the importance of Femail Friendship too. Now I need to rent all the Meryl Streep movies I have not seen! I sent this book to my sister as a gift in the hopes that it lifts her spirits and lets her know how important family is in our lives. Good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Great summer read!

    Loved this book! Emotional, and heartfelt. Heartwarming story about family and sticking together in tough times. I love Meryl Streep and enjoyed it. Could really relate to the charcters. Made me laugh and cry. Will read more by this author.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    I loved this book! An interesting story, characters I cared ab

    I loved this book! An interesting story, characters I cared about-it's a great summer read! I was sad that there aren't any other books from this author yet, but I'll be checking on her in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    A beautiful, uplifting novel of family, love and hope. I loved e

    A beautiful, uplifting novel of family, love and hope. I loved every page. You won't want to put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Don't overlook this one.

    Its a good read. Interesting premise, and the characters take some unexpected turns. I would recommend this, don't let the title put you off thinking it is all about the star, she plays a very small part.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Really good

    The title, premise and of course the cover made me want to read this. Also it's like the second or third book I read that had one of the characters working at a bookstore and the mention of a beach or something like that. Anyway, this was really good, sad but good. You have stories revolving around Lolly, Kat, June and Isabel. I thought I'd like one story over the other. But no, with this I liked all their stories, especially June and Isabel. Although with Kat's I was thinking OMG will you talk with Oliver then with the whole marriage or no marriage thing. The writing style and descriptions, especially the movie nights was good. Soon as I got this, I started reading right away, wanting to know if it ends okay. A surprising, at times, frustrating but still really good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    This is such a sweet story about relationships, reconciliation, and sisters & a cousin raised together coming together with a common purpose and understanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Don't Bother - not for the serious reader

    A mindless, simpering, shallow read. I felt cheated to have paid good money to read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    highly recommended

    This is a great book about women, relationships,etc. It has no (or very little) vulgar language, believable characters, and a very satisfying ending. I loved it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Great beach read

    I loved this book! It was a nice light summer read. The characters were all likeable. Fun!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1