Customer Reviews for

The Message Bible

Average Rating 3.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The Message Bible is an excellent resource for this age

I believe The Message bible is an extrodinary tool for the lifelong convert to the new follower of our Lord Jesus. Our modern American English language contains multiple idioms and terminologies related to our current timeline and culture, as well as euphemisms that w...
I believe The Message bible is an extrodinary tool for the lifelong convert to the new follower of our Lord Jesus. Our modern American English language contains multiple idioms and terminologies related to our current timeline and culture, as well as euphemisms that would not be understood if translated word for word, phrase for phrase to another time period and culture. There would need to be an equivelent phrase for that culture. The same is true for the first century. The first century language used in the New Testament, as well as the Old Testament Hebrew enact the use of idioms which are rich, with exponentional added meaning behind each word in comparison to our modern language English. The language barrier coupled with idioms and cultural understanding can make the Word have less than intended meaning for the reader. The Message, I have found is an excellent translation, capturing the deep meaning behind the rich literature of the bible. I use NKJV/KVJ most of the time, but I find that when I read The Message, I read it as if it were a novel, flowing and comprehensive. A gripping read, that is more fluent in understanding than of other iterations. I recommend this translation, but with strong caution to have NIV/NKJV/KJV handy for clarification.

posted by Anonymous on August 12, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

This shouldn't be called a bible

This bible is a mistranslation luring christians into new age thinking and preparing them for a world religion. It mistranslates the lords prayer. It even uses new age terminology. Don't read this bible, if you own it throw it out. I urge you to please take me seriously...
This bible is a mistranslation luring christians into new age thinking and preparing them for a world religion. It mistranslates the lords prayer. It even uses new age terminology. Don't read this bible, if you own it throw it out. I urge you to please take me seriously. I'm only 15 and realize the deception in this book. If you compare the verses in this bible to other translations you will see it too. The only message this bible is teaching is the new age message.

posted by Anonymous on October 28, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2004

    This shouldn't be called a bible

    This bible is a mistranslation luring christians into new age thinking and preparing them for a world religion. It mistranslates the lords prayer. It even uses new age terminology. Don't read this bible, if you own it throw it out. I urge you to please take me seriously. I'm only 15 and realize the deception in this book. If you compare the verses in this bible to other translations you will see it too. The only message this bible is teaching is the new age message.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2005

    Dangerous to Christianity

    Just when you thought the Bible couldn't get dumbed down any further from the NIV along comes The Message. I am deeply troubled by the use of the Message in the church and even in the home. The language is deceptive and stears far clear of the true meanings of the Bible and when people exclusively use this translation there is a vast disconnect between them and other Christians. In order to be united as Christians it is essential that we stay close to what God intended for us to read and not keep coming up with poorer translations to justify our laziness. In fact I think the message is the first book that comes right out and says, 'If you're too stupid to understand the simple NIV check out the Message the first translation able to be read with your eyes closed.' My point is that God intends us as Christians to be intellectuals and dumbing down the Bible more and more only simplifies the concepts and makes lazy Christians more justified in remaining as infants in Christ.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2005

    Not a Bible. A deceptive paraphrase.

    This translation uses a phrase in the Lords prayer 'as above so below.' This is a new age power word. Do a Google search on the phrase and see the 1000's of new age web sites that have this phrase as a motto. When Rick Warren and other pastors use this translation they mislead many new Christians. Thus over 90% of the new Christians are falling away only a year latter. If you need more evidence read MATTHEW 5:1-8-- AKJV then read MATTHEW 5:1-8--TM. It is shocking how much is added and taken away. Keep in mind what is said in the last few chapters of the Bible: Rev 22:18 For I testify unto every man that heareth the words of the prophecy of this book, If any man shall add unto these things, God shall add unto him the plagues that are written in this book: Rev 22:19 And if any man shall take away from the words of the book of this prophecy, God shall take away his part out of the book of life, and out of the holy city, and [from] the things which are written in this book.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2004

    Easy yes, correct no

    This version of the Bible is easy to read and understand but I have found that many parts of this book are incorrect translations.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2015

    This is not a Bible!!!

    This is not a Bible!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2015

    This is possibly the most dangerous product available to new Chr

    This is possibly the most dangerous product available to new Christians. It waters down the truths spoken by the original authors and refuses to acknowledge both the deity of Christ and many sins which are explicitly mentioned in the original text. As a recent student of Greek and Hebrew (and knowing and speaking with many with their graduate degrees in these languages), I can safely assert that there is no possible way to call this abomination a "translation". It actually physically pains me to see so many professing Christianity saying that this "translation" is the best that they have read. To preach on it... how much more proof do we need that we are in trouble?

    I could go into many of the textual and translational problems with this work, but that would take far too much time and likely solve close to none of the problems. Because of this, I will only spend a short time on one of the major flaws: the Lord’s prayer. How the Message can so blatantly change and corrupt this into such a useless and error-ridden travesty is absolutely beyond me. The NKJV translation says in the second line, “Hallowed be Your name”, but the Message says “Reveal who you are”. Why would Jesus pray this ever (or even ask His disciples to pray this) since He told Phillip later on “Have I been with you so long, and yet you have not known Me, Philip? He who has seen Me has seen the Father; so how can you say, ‘Show us the Father’? 10 Do you not believe that I am in the Father, and the Father in Me? The words that I speak to you I do not speak on My own authority; but the Father who dwells in Me does the works. 11 Believe Me that I am in the Father and the Father in Me, or else believe Me for the sake of the works themselves.” (John 14:9-11) 3 lines later, where the NKJV says “On earth as it is in heaven”, the Message uses a NEW AGE OCCULTIC phrase, “As above, so below”! How can you possibly say that this is a translation of God’s word if it implies New Age magic terminology to explain the Lord’s prayer? The blasphemy here is of such a level that would have me worrying for this author’s soul.

    The fact that the cadences of the wisdom literature are somewhat captured by this work offers no salvation to its already reprehensible alteration of many verses which are vital to understanding the basic tenets of Christianity. I would imagine that (because of these alterations), this work would do more harm than good (much like the blasphemous Hollywood renditions of “Exodus: Gods and Kings” and “Noah”) to any new Christian. For example, removing the husband’s role as head of the marriage (as seen in 1 Peter 3:1-7, too long to quote here) is an abominable distortion of the Scriptures. The marriage covenant as originally described is a picture of the church’s relationship with Christ (Ephesians 5:21-33, Colossians 3:18-19). Because of this, how can you read that and get that Christ is the head of the church? A husband is supposed to lead his wife in marriage just like Christ is the head of the church. Otherwise, if marriage is a picture of Christ’s relationship with the church and the husband is not the head of the marriage, Christ is not the head of the church. 

    All of these are not slight alterations, but major alterations to biblical truisms which have withstood the test of time. Satan appears as an angel of light, and in this “translation” we see his work at corrupting the word of God at its prime. May God help us all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1