Customer Reviews for

The Midwife of Venice

Average Rating 4
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

The Midwife of Venice is one of the best novels I’ve read.

The Midwife of Venice is one of the best novels I’ve read. It is no wonder it became an International Bestseller. The novel is beautifully written; its simplicity makes it delightful to read and allows the reader to immerse themselves completely into the story sea...
The Midwife of Venice is one of the best novels I’ve read. It is no wonder it became an International Bestseller. The novel is beautifully written; its simplicity makes it delightful to read and allows the reader to immerse themselves completely into the story seamlessly.

There are numerous novels written with Venice as a backdrop, but author Roberta Rich sweeps us into a lesser known and darker side of the city’s majestic history – the plight of the Jews who lived there. In a city that was famous for its port and used to exotic people and trade, it caught me by surprise how racist and prejudiced the people were against the Jews at the time.

Not only did the author do a great deal of research into Venice and its historical details, she also delved into the ancient skills and beliefs of midwifery. Kidnapping, murder, superstition, birthing spoons, and the plague grace the pages of this exciting new novel. The heroine is likeable and believable, but more importantly, fascinating. There are tragic scenes along with joyous ones as the story takes you from one event to another. There is never a moment of boredom. The pace is quick, the story unencumbered with too much narrative or description.

For me, this book is a definite keeper and now sits on my shelf along with my other most cherished books. I highly recommend it, for it is sure to please!

posted by Mirella on March 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

This doesn't deserve even ONE star. This book is horrible. Most

This doesn't deserve even ONE star. This book is horrible. Most of the facts about Jewish Orthodox life are completely wrong and false. How do I know? I am an Orthodox Jew myself. For example, "shadai" is one of the many names of G-d - NOT an amulet. Jews do n...
This doesn't deserve even ONE star. This book is horrible. Most of the facts about Jewish Orthodox life are completely wrong and false. How do I know? I am an Orthodox Jew myself. For example, "shadai" is one of the many names of G-d - NOT an amulet. Jews do not put their trust in amulets - only in G-d. Also, Jews in the ghetto DID NOT speak fluent Italian. They spoke Yiddish and Hebrew. There was not even a possibility that Jews had any desire to keep contact with any non-Jews. The author did NOT do a good job on the research aspect. This story would have NEVER happened - EVER - in any kind of history (even in parallel universes). Go read a different book

posted by Anonymous on May 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    This doesn't deserve even ONE star. This book is horrible. Most

    This doesn't deserve even ONE star. This book is horrible. Most of the facts about Jewish Orthodox life are completely wrong and false. How do I know? I am an Orthodox Jew myself. For example, "shadai" is one of the many names of G-d - NOT an amulet. Jews do not put their trust in amulets - only in G-d. Also, Jews in the ghetto DID NOT speak fluent Italian. They spoke Yiddish and Hebrew. There was not even a possibility that Jews had any desire to keep contact with any non-Jews. The author did NOT do a good job on the research aspect. This story would have NEVER happened - EVER - in any kind of history (even in parallel universes). Go read a different book

    19 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Midwife of Venice is one of the best novels I’ve read.

    The Midwife of Venice is one of the best novels I’ve read. It is no wonder it became an International Bestseller. The novel is beautifully written; its simplicity makes it delightful to read and allows the reader to immerse themselves completely into the story seamlessly.

    There are numerous novels written with Venice as a backdrop, but author Roberta Rich sweeps us into a lesser known and darker side of the city’s majestic history – the plight of the Jews who lived there. In a city that was famous for its port and used to exotic people and trade, it caught me by surprise how racist and prejudiced the people were against the Jews at the time.

    Not only did the author do a great deal of research into Venice and its historical details, she also delved into the ancient skills and beliefs of midwifery. Kidnapping, murder, superstition, birthing spoons, and the plague grace the pages of this exciting new novel. The heroine is likeable and believable, but more importantly, fascinating. There are tragic scenes along with joyous ones as the story takes you from one event to another. There is never a moment of boredom. The pace is quick, the story unencumbered with too much narrative or description.

    For me, this book is a definite keeper and now sits on my shelf along with my other most cherished books. I highly recommend it, for it is sure to please!

    19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Disappointed.

    I worked in obstetrics for 25 years and generally find any fiction novel having to do with deliveries of babies entertaining. I'm over half way through with this book, trying to stick with it, but I can't waste my time anymore. It is set in such a dark, dismal time and place! Nothing is uplifting. There are countless Italian places named and phrases which are rarely explained, and do not add to the story's interest. I read to be entertained, and this is definitely not entertaining!

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Good, but not what I expected

    When I read a book with Midwife in the title, I expect a lot of birth drama, and stories of women and babies. This book had one main birth, the rest of the drama was about the midwife's husband and sister. It was still interesting, but some of the twists and turns in the book were very unrealistic. I was looking more for a realistic story of the women of the 1600's.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Very disappointing. The plot is contrived to move the story alo

    Very disappointing. The plot is contrived to move the story along. The characters are very black-and-white with no depth. The freedom of thought and movement exercised by the main character (the midwife) is not convincingly supported given that the story is set in the 16th century. Overall, I was sorry I spent the time and money to read this. If you liked the description of this book (story, time, setting), try "The Mistress of the Art of Death" by Ariana Franklin instead. Much better story.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Midwife of Venice is a historically set novel that brings us

    The Midwife of Venice is a historically set novel that brings us deep into the life of Hannah and Issac, a childless couple of the late 1500's. Hannah is a midwife, and Issac is a merchant who has been taken captive. Without a way to raise his ransom Hannah is left in their Venetian home (the ghetto where Jews are forced to live) to fend for herself.

    One fateful evening she finds herself roused from her bed, and begged to attend to the Conte's wife who has been laboring for days. While delivering babies, difficult babies, is a specialty of Hannah's, it is illegal for a Jewish woman (or man) to attend to a Christian. She will risk not only her own life, but also her husband's and those who reside in the ghetto if she accepts.

    Will Hannah break Papal law in order to save the man she loves? If the baby dies will the Conte hold her responsible? Can Issac survive the life of a slave, beaten and starved, until Hannah can raise the ransom?

    Refreshing, informative, historical, and downright touching are the words that come to mind when I think back to the words that graced the pages of this phenomenal romance novel. I enjoyed the religious history as well as the extensive descriptiveness to the point where I may never look at salt, the ocean, or even a silk worm the same way again.

    The character development was excellent, and I found myself really connecting with Hannah. I think most women will on some level. She wasn't extraordinary, but she was bright and she had drive. Even when faced with doing the right thing (and breaking the laws of the Catholic Church) Hannah chose to take a leap. These choices continue as the book progresses, but I don't want to give too much away.

    Roberta Rich is an author I plan to start following, while I love my paranormal and fantasy reads, I have always loved historical romance. There is something about stepping back in time, and walking in another person's shoes. At times I find them far more interesting than boring lessons we learned back in school. If only more books graced our desks, than perhaps more would come to love the times that have passed us by, and possibly less would be forgotten about how life used to be.
    Originally Reviewed at:Mother/Gamer/Writer
    Reviewer: Heather

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    THE MIDWIFE OF VENICE by Roberta Rich is an amazing historical f

    THE MIDWIFE OF VENICE by Roberta Rich is an amazing historical fiction set in 16th century Venice. It follows midwife Hannah Levi,and her husband Issac,a sea merchant as they journey through the struggles of this era. With religious persecution,murder,sibling rivalry,faith,intrigue,treachery,the plague,midwife dangers,love,blackmail,and the struggle of a husband and wife to re-unite. “The Midwife Of Venice” will have you captivated from the first page to the last page. The author has captured the strength of women during this era with vivid descriptions and a rich cast of characters. You will not go wrong in reading this amazing tale of a Italian-Jewish Midwife,her struggles to survive,her desires to deliver healthy babies,have healthy mothers,and her new a delivery device(the spoon) . A wonderful debut. Be prepared to be transported back to the 1500′s, in this compelling story of women from centuries ago. Received for an honest review from the publisher.Details can be found at Galley Books,a division of Simon & Schuster,Inc., the author’s website, and My Book Addiction and More.
    RATING: 4.5
    HEAT:Sweet: No sex or scenes of physical intimacy except some kissing. No graphic violence or profanity.
    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2013

    " The Midwife of Venice" was okay but it could have be

    " The Midwife of Venice" was okay but it could have been so much better seeming like an outline for a real historical novel, you know, the kind that offer history, descriptions of settings, etc., subtle explanations of unmodern behavoirs, and so on, the kind of descriptions that give a vivid sense of place and time. Italy was soooo intriguing in this time period with beautiful art and architecture and most of that was just left out.If this author researched that completely, the writing really does not show it. Even the horrifying aspects were not explained and were handled kind of lightly, which i really did not like. Also the characters were mostly undeveloped. For example, Hannahs husband reminded one of a last century Jewish immigrant and not a citizen of the 1500s. As i said, this book was an outline for what could have been a deep and enriching novel, but if you want an easy read with under developed everything, this is it. I did afterall finish it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    This book is a great gift on Mother’s Day, celebrating our

    This book is a great gift on Mother’s Day, celebrating our mutual humanity. The Midwife of Venice, A dynamic book, written from two points of view, about Hannah and her husband Issac Levi. Both characters are Jewish middle class living in the ghetto of the wandering streets and canals of Venice, Italy. Hannah is an inspirational caring Midwife. Who works diligently, to save the lives of her patients, and the children she helps bring into the world. In an attempt to find a new way that will help expectant mothers and their children through the process of Confinement she makes a new device that may cause her problems. Then Issac who attempts to elevate his family’s fortune by a perilous journey to sea is captured. He is ransomed for a large sum of money, Hannah is unable to obtain. She risks her life, and the lives of the people in the ghetto to raise the money to save her beloved husband. Only to be caught up in a crime that will endanger them more.
    Through her struggle you will find the marks of humanity. The attempt of life preservation and family inheritance is a dichotomous war of will. Can Hannah stand up for her profession, her people, her husband, and her poor patient? Will she be able to save the mother, and child? Will her gamble allow her to see her husband again?
    The story is very educational about Jewish tradition, and historical facts of the persecution of the Jewish citizens of Italy. His book teaches how tolerance would enable freedom, while persecution will only lead to problems for those oppressed and those whom oppress.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Book definitely worth reading

    Good story. Easy read. Fast read. Worth reading. Had an enjoyable time readjng this book. Not the best ending. Maybe not a literary masterpiece. While it was a good story, not that challenging of a book. Not the highest level of literary work.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Intriguing and captivating. I was unable to put down this book.

    Intriguing and captivating. I was unable to put down this book. I felt it was well researched and extremely detailed. The descriptions used were very visual. I definately will be reading the second book of the series when it is released in February.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Keeps me reading.

    I am in the field where babies are born so midwifery grabbed my attention. I like the way it is fairly accurate at how the process actually happens so bravo to our author for getting basic facts correct. The story is an easy read that keeps you wondering what will happen next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Engrossing yet frustrating

    Fascinating subject, well-researched, reasonably rendered, but the storyline got quite melodramatic - hard to not react with skepticism (such as the scene at the ghetto abbatoir). Also, (this seems to not have come up in any other reviews, so maybe it's just me) I felt manipulated by the continual cliffhanger/switch-to-other-storyline. I ended up skipping chapters to follow Hannah, then starting over with Isaac's chapters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    This is a really good book.It is a page turner

    I enjoyed this book from the first page. As there were some twists and turns it kept me on the edge of my seat. So much so that I had to finish it in one day to find out how it was going to end and would she find her husband. A few times I held my breath because I thought sure she was goint to caught and convicted because she was a Jew and was not supposed to help deliver any babies out of the Jewish section of the city.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    Although it’s against the law for a Jew to give medical tr

    Although it’s against the law for a Jew to give medical treatment to a Christian, Hannah Levi, the ghetto midwife, disobeys her rabbi to help a desperate, wealthy Conte and Contessa. Especially enticing for her is the money she gains; it could ransom her husband who had been enslaved in Malta. Rich alternates her storyline between Hannah in Venice and Isaac in Malta. Hannah and her sister Jessica, a Christian convert, attempt to keep the infant Matteo safe from his drinking, gambling uncles. While in Malta, Isaac uses his wits to remain alive, in order to return to his Hannah.

    The history of Venice, Malta, and the social/religious laws of 1575 are fascinating to read about. Rich mentions that she did her homework; she also includes a list of further reading about this time period. Hannah is a multi-faceted character with so many great qualities. She is courageous, kind, sensible, cunning, responsible, respectful, independent, etc… Her thoughts and procedures when acting as midwife put me right in the room. The dialogue between Christians and Jews highlights the somewhat comical differences between the cultural practices of the two faiths. In the end, it is a Muslim woman who helps Hannah save Matteo. The characters, both those who stand in Hannah and Isaac’s way and those who help them, are well-developed and intriguing. The scary, dirty side of Venice adds menace and suspense. Midwife of Venice is a page-turner.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    The Midwife of Venice is an excellent book, that I really enjoy


    The Midwife of Venice is an excellent book, that I really enjoyed reading. I had a hard time rationalizing how women were treated in the Sixteenth-Century – with a mindset of today. I was also surprised at how one’s religious beliefs could ostracize and segregate.
    I was grabbed from the first chapter, fascinated with the setting and the era.
    The characters are well developed, and at times I could feel myself in Hannah’s place. She had to be so careful of every move she made, especially when she went to attend Lucia.
    It was very clear to me that Isaac loves his wife very much, and even though he had opportunities for freedom – he never went against his principals nor his vows.

    In this book, you will find the depth of a mother’s love and the lengths she will go to for a child…even if the child is not flesh of her flesh.

    Totally gripping read that I had a hard time putting down.

    Please enjoy this book…and to all Mother’s, I hope you have a wonderful day relaxing, and being pampered by your loved ones.
    Happy Mother’s Day!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I enjoyed the book overall. The writer is very talented and wove

    I enjoyed the book overall. The writer is very talented and wove a wonderful story, even if it's not historically accurate as some other reviews have stated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    One of the best books I have read!  I could not put it down.

    One of the best books I have read!  I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    Good read

    Interesting history, good story line and characters
    I would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Highly recommend!

    I loved reading The Midwife of Venice. I am looking forward to reading the sequel. Hope I can get it on my nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4