Customer Reviews for

The Mighty Storm

Average Rating 4.5
( 212 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(142)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Love

Loved this book and i loved jake. I miss him now that the book is over. I loved how much he loved tru.

posted by Anonymous on November 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Really? DO NOT FALL FOR REVIEWS HORRIBLE writing

I can't be the only one who felt like this was written by a high school kid. Its way too inside the characters head & not descriptive at all... felt like i was listening to a teenagers thoughts. I dont like hearing "Ughhh" from a character when i read a novel. I bought ...
I can't be the only one who felt like this was written by a high school kid. Its way too inside the characters head & not descriptive at all... felt like i was listening to a teenagers thoughts. I dont like hearing "Ughhh" from a character when i read a novel. I bought this
book based on the awesome reviews it got,but i am starting to think they were all written by the author & her friends. Great only 1000 more pages of this god awful crappy writing.

posted by 7290564 on November 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Great Read

    Great Book, I can't wait to read book two.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    recommend

    loved this book and main characters

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Great book!

    This book was good and very emotional. If you love a good romance this book is for you. I thought it was a little drawn out in many parts and a little long. Its not quite as steamy as what Im use to but itwas overall a good book. I do love to read about those tatooed rocker bad boys.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Good

    I too thought of Effortless and Thoughtless when I read this book. Also, I appreciated the length. I hate it when love stories feel rushed because of word count. I loved Jake and Tru's story. It was a little predictable at times, but still one of the better rockstar-falls-in-love books out there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2014

    Powerful story.  Excellent writing.  The first person present te

    Powerful story.  Excellent writing.  The first person present tense threw me at first, and it took me about three chapters to get used to it, but once I did, the book flew.  I especially enjoyed that Samantha Towle provided a pivotal scene in an alternative POV as a bonus at the end.  Sweet!
    I like to read strong heroines who make solid decisions and learn from life experience.  There were a few decisions and mamby-pamby moments when I considered the heroine unfair in her dealings with the hero.  It wasn't a negative for the book but, in fact, simply brought home how lost and young this woman is given her circumstances in leaving a relatively quiet life to travel with a mega-famous rock star.  I think Samantha wrote a remarkable story, and I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys contemporary, and especially rock star, romance. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    The Mighty Storm by Samantha Towle was definitely a book that ha

    The Mighty Storm by Samantha Towle was definitely a book that had my emotions running rampant. Jake is book boyfriend material, my emotions went crazy and I was caught up in the story; yet, you’ll see from my review most of my emotions were anger. I had two pages of notes on this story, that hasn’t happened in quite a long time.

    Caution: While there aren’t any out and out spoilers (besides the sentences that are in red) some may find this review gives away more than my normal reviews. It’s true, if you really read what I’m talking about you can figure out what is going on in this story. There just wasn’t a way to discuss my emotions and the book without alluding to some of these things. Proceed at your own risk.

    The Mighty Storm is about a rock star, not what I was expecting. I have no idea why I wasn’t expecting this or what I thought it would be about, but it had been a while since I purchased the book and I forgot. This was one of those reading selections where I’m laying in bed and make Matt pick a number then read that book. If often leads to surprises.

    In the beginning I just found myself smiling continuously. It also made me decide I want to start using the word Brilliant in normal conversation like Britts do. However, as the story went on I noticed that we were skipping so much. There are so many skipped times I felt like our hero should be wooing her so we as the reader get to fall in love with Jake too. I wanted to see the times with them watching tv at night, or just hanging out. Does Jake party? Is he out sleeping with chicks or was he a good boy to try and prove himself to Tru? We just don’t know. It’s almost like the author picked scenes she felt were the important ones then just rushed through the stuff in between. It felt like a lot of telling where I wanted to see it so I could connect with the characters more.

    Trudy or Tru is our heroine that was hilarious. I loved her inner fights with herself. At first I really loved her, but as the story progressed I found I hated her with a fiery passion. I haven’t reviewed it here, but if you’ve read the book Reckless by S.C. Stephens you’ll understand when I say Tru was a Kiera through and through. She made me sick with the way that she treated both Will and Jake. Her indecision and ability to treat two people so carelessly really turned me off to her as a character. Tru made me hate her with the constant ‘not sure how she feels?’ gah. What?! Get it together, she lied to both men continuously and never seemed to feel any guilt over this.

    The Mighty Storm is Jake Wethers’ band and boy does that man have some great rock star charisma. The more I was able to read the more I felt like Jake was the worlds sweetest rocker ever. Here’s a guy who wore his heart on his sleeve and wasn’t afraid to work for what he wanted. He deserved someone who could return that love and support him.

    Like I said, when I started reading this one I was in rocker bliss, but you just knew at some point it was going to all go south. I didn’t want it to. I knew it was coming, but I just wanted them in happy bliss together forever.

    Sadly, it wasn’t meant to be and at around the 50% mark I wasn’t sure I could finish. I was actually sick to my stomach listening to Tru lie to Jake. Here’s a guy laying it out there for her and she just treats him like a piece of disposable tissue. At least have the decency to TELL him what you are feeling. If I had known in advance how much back and forth went on in this book, I would not have read it. If you like drama, this is the read for you.

    And the way that Tru behaves is just ridiculous. She was such a hypocrite that I had to mention it several times in my notes. Warning! Spoiler area! To read click here!. I couldn’t handle the way Tru acted like she had no blame in the situation, like somehow she was the hurt party. Sure this situation does not go on forever like it would have in some books, but by then the damage was done and it has colored my complete review/outlook on this book.

    And once we get past this drama and you just start to think that maybe, just maybe, they’ll grow in their relationship and work on things you fall even more. I swear this book was like a soap opera. There was so much drama, and honestly all of it drama that could have been avoided had our characters just grown up… wait they were already grown ups, they just didn’t know how to act like it.

    In truth, I don’t even know my own feelings on this book. I loved it, I hated it. I loved that it made me feel so much and get so worked into the story line, but I hated the heroine and the situations the book presented. I pretty much loved Jake, but could not stomach Tru, even in the end. The Mighty Storm definitely made me feel a range of emotions.

    I read the synopsis for book two, Whethering the Storm which is again about Tru and Jake and their ‘relationship problems’. I couldn’t believe it, you mean they have more problems? No, that can’t be right, they were such a mature couple who talked about their problems and resolved them in a grown up fashion. How could they have more issues? I never saw that coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Loved it!!

    I loved this book and about to start the next one. To fall in love so young and for that person to go away had to be the hardest thing ever but to have a second chance at it is sooo amazing. I think to have that second chance you can't let that walk away. Jake was damned to let that happen and loved how he did it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Great Read

    Really enjoyed this book. Longer than recent books I have read, but I am not complaining. I liked the progession of Jake and Tru's relationship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Good book.

    This was good a book, though there were aspects in this book that I didn't personally like (the cheating). That being said I would still read and buy this book again. I'm really looking forward to the second part to this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    LOVED this! Loved Jake and Tru, loved the storyline can't wait

    LOVED this! Loved Jake and Tru, loved the storyline can't wait for the next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Wonderful

    Wow, what an amazing treat and a true give away at only 2.99 on bn! This author is a great story teller, you will love following the characters journey. I'm hoping for a story from this author that will give our beloved Will his own HEA......it would be nice to see him get some happiness out of all this, just a suggestion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Good size

    ?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Will sequel!

    Samantha should write a follow up on Will. Good story though. But the end could have been better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Loved it!

    Loved The Mighty Storm!! There were times that I wanted to throw my nook and bunch Jake in the face, but in the end I loved it. There is an HEA, but it also sets you up for the next book. So, Jake is a musician and Tru is a writer. Tru gets an interview with Jake, but they haven't seen each other in 12 years. Although you still see a spark even though its been that long. It was two long lost friends finding comfort in each other. Jake has some minor episodes, but Tru was so strong and didn't back down! I think that's what I loved most about the book. A strong female lead...that really didnt take Jake's issues. Although he does make it up to her in the end! What an ending...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Wonderful!

    I could not put this book down. I fell in love with both Jake and Tru. You will too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3