Customer Reviews for

The Mindful Way through Depression: Freeing Yourself from Chronic Unhappiness

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Stands out in its class

This book is not a quick-fix program, and doesn't pretend to be. It outlines the way that depression works, and how it hooks us. Then it offers practical exercises on how to experience life in a new way. How to get out of the "doing mode" and into the "being mode" wh...
This book is not a quick-fix program, and doesn't pretend to be. It outlines the way that depression works, and how it hooks us. Then it offers practical exercises on how to experience life in a new way. How to get out of the "doing mode" and into the "being mode" where we open to each and every moment as it is. I've read many depression books and this is by far the best. It comes with a great CD and guided body scan, that lets the listener detach from her body and mind in a way that is truly liberating and healing.

posted by 876003 on January 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

my experience

well i started reading it and it hasnt helped me. well first of all i do not have deppression soo thats probably why i dont undrstand it. my parents took me to a psycologist because i have a phobia to needles:/ and he sent me this book:( i dont see the link to it.

posted by Anonymous on July 5, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2009

    Stands out in its class

    This book is not a quick-fix program, and doesn't pretend to be. It outlines the way that depression works, and how it hooks us. Then it offers practical exercises on how to experience life in a new way. How to get out of the "doing mode" and into the "being mode" where we open to each and every moment as it is. I've read many depression books and this is by far the best. It comes with a great CD and guided body scan, that lets the listener detach from her body and mind in a way that is truly liberating and healing.

    24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Relevant help for depression sufferers

    This is a beautifully written, accessible book for depression sufferers and those who simply wish to understand more about the nature of depression in common sense terms.
    The authors have masterfully crafted the text which is full of wisdom and represents current research on the mindfulness-based cognitive therapy approach. Highly relevant and especially useful for people who have experienced recurring or depression relapses. The accompanying CD, narrated by Jon Kabat-Zinn, is one of the best recordings I've heard from Kabat-Zinn. Both a good read and a good go to book for mindfulness-based practices and instructions on cultivating a more skillful way of relating to depression.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2009

    If you live with someone suffering from chronic depression, this provides insight on the how and why. It also provides some help - for you and your someone!

    A really good book about depression. A really good book about how mindfullness/meditation can be helpful. The CD that accompanies the book is now a favorite of mine. If you suffer, or if you are the spouse/partner of someone who suffers from chronic depression, you will like what you read here. It is useful and thought provoking.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    Helping Your Mind to Heal

    I have read through this book once, but want to go back and start working on the exercises after I've had a chance to deal with some of my chronic depression. I do believe the mind can be changed in a more healing and happier way with practice as guided by this book. I will continue to refer to this book and CD for guidance and future happiness.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2009

    A helpful book

    I did find this book helpful, especially the guided meditation CD. I must admit that my depression had other physical aspects to it, since I have already done mindfulness meditation and therapy. But even so, this is helpful material.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Depression Is Anger Turned Inward

    There is so much that you might feel. There is so much that you tend to go through. This book is a good start to working your way out of that sadness and depression. If you don't find the help here, I recommend you find it somewhere. It's okay to be sad sometimes, but not all the time.

    For anyone who feels bound by their anger, guilt, hurt or pain, I also recommend "When God Stopped Keeping Score." I thought that the book was just about forgiveness, I soon learned, it was about so much more than that. I was about how you should deal with friends, family and yourself and more importantly, how to keep these relationships strong when things go wrong.

    Having read it, I feel like a better person. Maybe because this book spoke to me and not down to me. I have read a lot of books that was written like I didn't know anything. What the author of "When God Stopped Keeping Score" does is talk to you like a friend. I needed that. You will understand why when you read it. It's on sale here on BN.com.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    Excellent explanation and intro to get you started on Mindfulness

    Explains how it works.
    Tells you how to do it.
    And, most importantly, comes with a CD that has guided meditation tracks.

    Excellent. A great first book on Mindfulness. Really helped me a lot.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    my experience

    well i started reading it and it hasnt helped me. well first of all i do not have deppression soo thats probably why i dont undrstand it. my parents took me to a psycologist because i have a phobia to needles:/ and he sent me this book:( i dont see the link to it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2014

    Clinical depression is not the same as 'chronic unhappiness'. Y

    Clinical depression is not the same as 'chronic unhappiness'. You can't meditate your way out of a chemical imbalance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2014

    I strongly recommend this book to any patient who is working wit

    I strongly recommend this book to any patient who is working with a CBT or Schema Therapist. Mindfulness adds an entire new level to the field of CBT and has greatly helped my patients. Also, mindfulness has helped my patients with Adult ADHD. This CD that comes with this book helps people get into the habit of practicing mindfulness on a daily basis. Kudos to all three authors. Scott Shapiro, MD, NY, NY, Specializing in CBT and Adult ADHD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Great book with lots of good tips!

    Definitely worth buying, very helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2