Customer Reviews for

The Minor Adjustment Beauty Salon (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Series #14)

Average Rating 4.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Lessons to live by

This series is always thoughtful, sweet, and deceptively deep. Highest recommendation.

posted by 10804811 on November 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Usual

Same setting, same characters, same tired plot. Basically a three page essay. Wait for the bargain table.

posted by 7741375 on January 3, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Lessons to live by

    This series is always thoughtful, sweet, and deceptively deep. Highest recommendation.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    The Minor Adjustment Beauty Salon

    I eagerly await the newest book from the Ladies Detective Agency series! I was not dissapointed! The series is a nicely paced one with beautiful descriptions of a different country and culture than our own. It is about a woman who has come across many difficulties in life and has the courage and belief in herself to overcome those problems.She is instrumental in helping the people around her grow as well. I think mainly of her "assistant detective " Mma Makutsi" .How the people around her have grown ! Can't wait for the next one !! Although I also read many of Alexander McCall Smiths books too and find him to be a most excellent writer!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2014

    A slow trip to another world

    Whenever I get a new No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency mystery in my hands, I can almost feel my stress level go down, down, down. Tension floats away. And I’m off to another world, the world of Precious Ramotswe in rural Botswana.

    In The Minor Adjustment Beauty Salon, she’s taken on a case brought to her by an attorney handling an estate case. The lawyer’s intuition tells her there’s something fishy about a man who claims to be the heir to a substantial farm. She wants Precious to investigate. Then there’s the case of the beauty salon owner who is the victim of nasty rumors designed to bring down her business, which has just relocated to an upscale shopping mall.

    To top it all off, Precious is concerned about her associate detective, Grace Makutsi, who is obviously pregnant, but who has not acknowledged the fact or mentioned any plans for a maternity leave.

    I collect just a handful of series in hardcover – and this is one of them. It makes me feel happy just to see them on the shelf, knowing that I can revisit Precious any time I want to.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    The Usual

    Same setting, same characters, same tired plot. Basically a three page essay. Wait for the bargain table.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2013

    The Minor Adjustment Beauty Salon is the fourteenth book in the

    The Minor Adjustment Beauty Salon is the fourteenth book in the popular Number 1 Ladies Detective Agency series by British author, Alexander McCall Smith. Botswana’s first female private detective has a few interesting cases to solve: a solicitor asks her to verify the identity of a young man who is the beneficiary of a will; and the proprietor of the Minor Adjustment Beauty Salon is subject to threats and slander from an unknown quarter. All the more challenging for Mma Ramotswe, as Mma Makutsi is off having a baby. Mma Makutsi faces childbirth with ease, although she has slightly less aplomb when dealing with a cobra in her new house. While it seems Phuti’s interfering aunt may be a problem with the baby, apprentice Charlie’s reaction to this Radiphuti baby is indeed a surprise. And has the terrible Violet Sephotho been up to more mischief? Mma Ramotswe muses on flats and hats, ants and aunts, names, wet nurses, superstitions and traditional ways, other people’s marriages, beer and beauty treatments, the effect of hot weather on business, taking the time to listen, optimistic accounting, the entire truth, protecting one’s sources and private milk. She counts her blessings, misses Grace, finds the perfect gift for the baby, gets her tiny white van comprehensively stuck in the mud, has her feet lovingly washed and receives a charming letter from Clovis Anderson, that revered author of the Principles of Private Detection. There are no prizes for guessing which of the apprentices finally qualifies as a mechanic. Mr J L B Matekoni takes steps to become a modern husband, one of which includes baked beans and sausages. As usual, this instalment is charming, uplifting and heart-warming. This unabridged audio version of the book is again narrated by the mesmerising voice of Adjoa Andoh. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Lilywolf

    Testing...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    A. M. Smith does it again

    Delightful book, delightful series! Can hardly wait to read the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Another great read from Smith.

    #1 Ladies Detective read for a lazy hot summer afternoon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    River

    The stylist walks in with her bag

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    Lily

    Hello.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Boy/ gilr advice

    Go to free four the book a ask away

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Scavenger hunt #4

    Now this is the 2nd to last clue go to roxana(btw is my name) result 1

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    To below

    Ok if it doesent look good on you try a larger ir of shorts or those shorts witb the tiny holes in them. Or if there too long tht could also be cause yoy to tjink you nt look right. Hope it helps.
    ~ Kayto

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Help

    U know that trend where u put shorts on top of tights? Well...when i try it i dont look good. What da f is going on?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Help needed and i have some tips

    Okay wht colors should i use for eyeshadow? I have green eyes. Also, hat are some easy things i can do with my hair? It is really thick and goes down to aboyt an inch above my elbow when my arms are resting by my sides.

    Some tips I have are:
    1. Always use the same brand of shampoo and conditioner. This especially goes with people who have thick hair. If you constantly switch what brand you use it can sometimes ke your hair dryer or more tangly. Also use good brands like bumble and bumble, garnier fructis, and Aussie.

    2. Do not go too wild with the eyeshadow and eyeliner. Keep to the eyelid with your makeup. It is okay to have little wings on the eyeliner but when you eye shadow goes up to you eye brows and down below your eyes it looks hideous. It is sometimes okay for stage makeup so your eyes dont look unnaturally tiny but for school it is not a good idea.

    3. Use lotion in the winter. I recommend a nice or generic brand with no scents becase sometimes the scented ones do not work well. Put som on every night or after your shower. After shving is a good time to put some on your legs. It mes them smoother.

    Hope this helped! ~D aka Emile

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    To Someone,

    What are some tips to plucking eyebrows? Also, what are some cheap things to use to keep your hair from burning up if you blow-dry then straighten your hair? Also, what are some colored eye-makeup that go well with brown eyes?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Tips

    Hair, first.
    Gather your hair as in a pony tail, except fold it in half. Wrap an elastice band over the ends of your hair a few times.
    Put your hair in a pony tail, leaving a semi small amount out. Pin your pony tail on top of your head, as high on your head as possible. If your hair is too long, fold it in half then pin it up. Braid the small section left out, then fold it across the pins you used to hold up the rest of your hair. Pin it in place.
    Note: always brush your hair before hand. Also, it's easier to style hair when it's wet.
    Hands get very dry in winter. So, as often as possible, rub in lotion (Johnson's body care 24 hour Body Lotion works great. Remember to get unscented lotion if certain scents bother you) Remember to get your fingers right below the nail. You will get hang nails, and they are nor pretty or comfortable.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    way too padded

    I've read all of this series and always liked that they were slice of life more than mystery books. But lately the slice of life has gotten to be so redundant that they've become less fun. Too much 'atmosphere' (read as descriptions of landscape - already addressed in each earlier book), too little plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Emris

    Has anybody got some quock and easy hairstyles that are also cute?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    REMEDY FOR ACNE!

    Remember, this might not work for your skin type. Mine is combination (oily in some places, dry in others). I would recommend doing this before bed. Steps: <p> Wash your face with an oil-free face soap (I recommend Neutrogena's Oil-Free Acne Wash) <p> Rinse off your face <p> Spread an even layer of your acne remover over your face or problem areas. <p> Sleep! <p> Wash your face again in the morning.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3