Customer Reviews for

The Miracle of Mindfulness

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    Important Lessons Beautifully Told.

    It's a rare and magnificent discovery when I encounter a book that changes my perspective on life. This is one of those books! This book is the perfect reprieve for us stressed out, professional city dwellers. It encourages patience, calmness and acceptance. If all of this sounds too cliche to you, you need the book more than I did. Not a book to be read just once - a book to cherish and live by.
    Read it, love it, live it. And then repeat.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Mindfulness

    Thich Nhat Hanh's Miracle of Mindfulness will always have a special place in my heart. It was the first book of his that I read, and it still seems to me the best example he has written about remaining mindful during difficult and challenging times. His writing is very personal, but easy to grasp. He offers vignettes that illustrate Bhuddhist tennants of non-attachment and mindfulness. Too often, these books about Buddhism can be esoteric or hard to follow, but Hanh's book is easy to digest and very relatable to everyday people.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Miracle of Mindfulness by Thich Nhat Hanh

    The Miracle of Mindfulness speaks with you simply, directly, and precisely. The author is
    a storyteller, a teacher, and a speaking partner at the same time. He speaks with you in an unassuming, honest manner that you are compelled to listen. In this safe, free, state of mind, the words become a part of you. The words and the teaching dance with your thoughts: it becomes beautiful within you. The wisdom finds its way to your soothed heart. The teaching comes about easily and naturally. It is an excellent book, not to learn about mindfulness, but to become mindful.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    I love Thich Nhat Hanh's work and this is one of the best. Take the time and become mindful today. It will change your life. Read this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2000

    peaceful tranquility abounds all around

    thich nhat hanh's gentle teachings are so clearly illustrated in this volume. he teaches that peace is not something that is illusive, but rather a constant state of being that can be attained by all who are willing to look at the present moment.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Very good

    This is an awesome book. You can find a very good guide to start living on different way.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2001

    A Path Through The Forest

    The writings of Thich Nhat Hahn were recommended to me by a Soto Buddhist Monk. After reading this book, I add my own recommendation. An excellent introduction to Meditation and Buddhism. The path through everyday life is a varied one. Each moment on that path can be experienced only if we are paying attention. That is what Thich Nhat Hahn calls 'Mindfulness'. If only for the moment that you are reading the book, you are mindfuly aware, then Thich Nhat Hahn has done his job.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    This book changed my life. I learned to be in the present momen

    This book changed my life. I learned to be in the present moment through the beautiful and inspiring prose of Thich Nhat Hahn.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    The Book

    The book I would want if I were ever stranded on a desert island.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A classic by a master teacher

    Thich Nhat Hanh is perhaps one of the best known teachers on mindfulness, introducing us to this remarkable transformative form of awareness.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Highlt recommended

    Thicht Nhat Hanh is an important voice for our World. Living in the present moment and mindfulness of our connectedness with all matter and energy in the Cosmos puts us in our proper place in time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Love this

    The author s in my country he s very humble

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2011

    Awesome!

    All of Thich Naht Hanhs books have helped me in my daily life tremendously. Anyone who wants to live a better, happier and overall more peaceful life should read any of his books and apply these principles to their life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2