Customer Reviews for

The Missing Piece

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I really needed this now

Nicely done Carol!!! Your writing gift coupled with the Lord's inspiration really gave me the shot in the arm I needed at this time in my life. Please pray for me. I want to be a better man for my wife and family. Al

posted by 17017647 on February 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

I stopped reading half way through this book. It became so ridiculous. Dylan constantly begging god to solve his problems. Woe is me. I saw Dylan as an extremely weak person who couldn't function unless he uttered god's name. Then there was his wife Lorriane, so re...
I stopped reading half way through this book. It became so ridiculous. Dylan constantly begging god to solve his problems. Woe is me. I saw Dylan as an extremely weak person who couldn't function unless he uttered god's name. Then there was his wife Lorriane, so ready willing and able to take him back into her life, another sign of weakness on her part. If you are an extremely religious person then this book is for you. Dylan's out of body expierence and how beautiful heaven was. I couldn't continue reading, because I already knew how the book would end.

posted by 8429876 on November 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    I really needed this now

    Nicely done Carol!!! Your writing gift coupled with the Lord's inspiration really gave me the shot in the arm I needed at this time in my life. Please pray for me. I want to be a better man for my wife and family.

    Al

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A real treat

    In Fredonia, New York, Dylan Clark desperately needs to get his wife Lorraine back, but to do so he must change. However, before he can accomplish his life's quest, he knows he needs employment, but depressingly has no prospects having to count pennies to buy cigarettes. When he sees the note on a convenience store bulletin board that the Green Valley Christian Church seeks a custodian, he expects rejection, but instead Pastor Jacobson hires him.<P> The church congregation reaches out to Dylan inviting him to dinners, events, and Sunday services. Their outreach begins to provide solace to Dylan who begins to embrace Jesus though he still trips up like any human does. Though he still wants Lorraine at his side, Dylan has found comfort in the Lord. However, perhaps it is the mysterious ways, but an unconscious Dylan finally meets up with Lorraine in the hospital where she works at.<P> The key to this inspirational second chance at redemption novel is Dylan, who over the course of the plot learns what is really THE MISSING PIECE in his life. He starts off the tale with no hope tenuously clinging to one pathetic goal. Starting with the kindness of the Pastor, over time he begins to change and modifies his goals to something much loftier though he still wants Lorraine with him and he also takes backward steps on his journey. Readers who delight in tales that focus on second chance relationships with the Lord and beloved humans will relish Carol McCormick's heartening novel.<P> Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I just had to keep reading...and when I couldn't I was thinking

    I just had to keep reading...and when I couldn't I was thinking about Dylan and Lorraine and their life/faith journeys. What a great story, full of redemption and hope. Real, honest and faith-filled characters that were easy to relate to and learn from. Great writing from Carol McCormick! Looking forward to her next book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Exceptional christian story

    Really touched me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    The Missing Piece

    Good read; inspirational; makes you think about the concepts discussed in the book; Yes, it a love story but it is not your usual boy meets girl, fall in love, with problems; It is much more than that. I have recently began reading 'Christian' fiction/romance; this book is better than several I have read thus far.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Alice D. for Readers Favorite Dylan Clark has just

    Reviewed by Alice D. for Readers Favorite

    Dylan Clark has just been released after 18 months in jail for public intoxication, destruction of property and beating up the sheriff's brother. Destitute, with only his bus fare given by his loving mother, Dylan comes back to his home town of Fredonia, New York. He has loved Lorraine Crawford since she was a teenager. Dylan and Lorraine marry despite her family's disapproval, but Dylan's out of control drinking and the death of their baby girl, Amanda, cause Lorraine to leave him and go back to college for her nurses' training. Now as soon as their divorce is final, Lorraine will marry Dr. Randy Mitchell from Mercy Hospital where she works. Dylan gets a job as custodian at a local church where the pastor and the congregation welcome him with genuine warmth. Dylan keeps slipping back to drink and finally uses a church check illicitly. Pastor Jacobson invites Dylan to attend church services. Dylan goes, feels his life might turn around and he asks God for forgiveness and to guide his life. But can Dylan stay on the straight and narrow and maybe win Lorraine back into his life even though her wedding to Dr. Mitchell is on the horizon?

    &quot;The Missing Piece&quot; is a well-written story of Christian life and love. Dylan, Lorraine, and the other characters in this story are totally believable and suit the story nicely. Dylan has his backslidings until he really accepts God into his life and works at his faith. The plot line moves smoothly to the book's concluding pages as Dylan and Lorraine's reunion does not come too quickly or easily. &quot;The Missing Piece&quot; is a love story that readers everywhere will enjoy. It is not preachy, it is for real!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Loved it

    Loved every word of this story of how God can take the worst sinner, the worst situation, and turn all around. Clean romance, one couple's journey to find each other again and find God along the way. It wasn't the best book I've read, not the best written, but something about it made me shut everything out while I crawled into it. Review by CherishD

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Book That Touches Your Sole

    I am going to read this book again and again. I wish I had bought the hard copy so I could pass it around for others to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2014

    I am so glad that I read this book. Dylan is a man that realized

    I am so glad that I read this book. Dylan is a man that realized that he took many things in his life for granted. Once this set in ,he began to make changes in the right direction. This story definitely fits in the christian romance genre. You will not be sorry that you read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    the best lobe story i have evee Best love story i ever read

    This book was hard to put down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    This is a beautiful, spiritual love story.  It is inspirational

    This is a beautiful, spiritual love story.  It is inspirational and reinforces that forgiveness and faith can overcome seemingly impossible obstacles.   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    I could not put it down. Christian romance at its finest. Love i

    I could not put it down. Christian romance at its finest. Love it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    I loved this book . 

    I loved this book . 


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Sweet

    Good story showing that having God at the center of your relationship can help you rise above any problems. Good love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    I love it so much but you get what i am saying right.

    U love it so much you should adit

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    I like it

    Me another chapter!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Redwing's story

    Redkit woke up.Her best friend Swiftkit was prodding her with his paw."what?,"Redkit complained."Lets go get Wintereyes,"Swiftkit whispered."Okay."Both kits snuck as quietly as they could out of the nursery.Wintereyes was sitting by her mate,Vinepelt.Redkit snuck up behind her on the left,while Swiftkit went on the right."I can't wait for our kits to come!Redkit will have some cousins!,"Wintereyes purred.Vinepelt nodded."Raaaarrrr!,"Redkit and Swiftkit leap onto Wintereyes.Wintereyes falls over dramaticly."Oh no!The besties are here!"Vinepelt widened his eyes and started slowly running away."Hey!,"Swiftkit caught up to Vindepelt and jumped on his back."Aaa!"Redkit looked at Swiftkit wrestling with Vinepelt and giggled."Hey,looks like we both jahve found our mates,"Wintereyes teased.Redkit blushed."He is not my mate!,"she protested."I wouldn't be surprised."
    End of first chapter.Plz comment if u like it asap!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2