Customer Reviews for

The Mistress

Average Rating 5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Well Done. Tiffany Reisz above the rest

    Unlike other writers Tiffany's series are well thought out and complete. Tiffany Reisz does not trick her readers...she finishes the story in the series as promised. I thought 50 Shades of Grey was good.....until I read this series. Now 50 shades is a 3 star while 5 stars is not enough for the Siren series. I will look forward to new books from this writer.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    WELL, WELL, WELL That was ....different. I utterly love Tiff

    WELL, WELL, WELL That was ....different.




    I utterly love Tiffany Reisz and this series is a unique, fun, and intense read.  The story starts off with the most fantastic one liners and the flow of the story is easy to follow especially if you did not re re read the series prior to reading.




    The series begins by telling us Nora's story and shows us what a sexy (yep I said it), quick, witty, and tough character she is.  Though vulnerable , Nora is the queen of bad ass even when tied up!




    The Mistress pretty much starts where the last book ends and is told from several points of view with the most appropriate nicknames.  The book is more about the story than the lifestyle; the lifestyle which created this story.  I was so happy to see Zach via his wife Grace in this book but that said I was disappointed there was no Michael and minimal Griffin.  All my other favs were included even Daniel.  Kingsley's attempt and the surrender were written so perfectly and true to their characters, I actually teared up. There is a couple twists and turns along the way with a couple of SHOCKERS.  You see some of them coming and the others not so much.  If you ever had doubt in the primal and eternal love this couple shares it will be put to rest by the end of the story.  Their love goes beyond the physical and is a spiritual connection, I see that now.  




    This final installment summed up and finished the story exactly as it needed to, without any or maybe just a couple of loose ends.  If you read this series for the steam and or lifestyle then you may be shocked.  There are a couple steamy scenes but not like in the other installments.  Its not a different story but it is the final story so keep that in mind as you read and review. OH and as you read the surprise ending!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Doesn't disappoint.

    This book is a great addition to The Siren series. Even in this fourth book of the series, the characters keep getting better and better.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Delicious read!

    This series is not for the faint of heart. I was a bit taken back after reading the first book but was hooked with Nora and wanting to learn more. I have enjoyed each book equally and this one just told more of the things a reader like myself was dying to learn. I can't help but to want to read more of Soren and Nora and hope one day they can find their happily ever after without all the drama to keeping the relationship hidden at all costs. Love what Tiffany Reisz does to draw you into this secret world and keeps you there. The characters are well developed and the story is well written!!! Highly recommend!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    4.5 Stars ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Boo

    4.5 Stars
    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    THE MISTRESS is the final book in the Red Years Quartet and what a journey it has been! Over the course of these four books (and the novellas) I have fallen in love with every single one of the characters in this series. One of the many talents of Tiffany Reisz is that she is able to breathe life to each of her characters. Beneath all the character kinks and their troubled pasts, there is a soul there and I feel it every time I read their POVs. However, I can say that I felt it even more in this latest book.

    There are so many moving threads in this book that I thought I’d do something different and talk about each character as I did in my THE SIREN review and bring it back to basics.

    First off, I have to discuss The Queen herself, Nora. Like caulk around a tile, like binding in a book, Nora Sutherlin keeps everything together. Reisz further explores the Soren and Kingsley dynamic in a way that puts Nora right in the center of it. In a series of stories, Nora recounts her memories of her time with the two. As I said, this time you get a far more deeper understanding of Nora’s feelings for Soren and also Kingsley. I like the way Reisz told these stories because it not only solidified their bond to one another, but it brought to the surface emotions that we haven’t seen from Nora before this. As a Dominant, we see her strong and powerful. As a sub, we see her willing and ready. But now, we see her as a woman head over heels in love, fighting for the people she cares about the most.

    Which leads me to Soren. I have always been intrigued by the Priest. He is intimidating, but with this character, I think Reisz may have created one of the most enigmatic personalities I will ever read. Though he inflicts pain for pleasure, he really is a selfless creature. He forgives those who have shunned him, he cares for those who has hurt him and he won’t allow anyone else to deal with the problem that arise because of him. I realized he really is a softy at the core.

    Grace, whom we know as Zachary’s wife in the series comes back into the picture and while I could guess what was going to happen, I found it very interesting to watch it all unfold. Grace is very content in her marriage and she and Zach are very open with one another, telling each other secrets that most married couples wouldn’t share with each other. When Grace finds herself in the folds of this mess, she is drawn to the lifestyle that Soren, Nora and Kingsley all share. I find it quite fascinating how Reisz can create so much chemistry between one couple and then later on, create just as much combustible energy between another, when you switch and split them up. I don’t know how she does it, but I’m floored each time she does!

    Since the book does start off where the last leaves off, you know that Wesley is going to have a big part in the story. I’ve been a fan of him, but in this book, I think I really began to understand him. He has never understood the need for pain to get off. And he never will. But after the events of this book, I think he’s come to accept that having a kink doesn’t make you deranged. It just makes it different from him. I think the books ends in a good place for Wesley but I wonder if we will ever see him again?

    A new character is introduced. She is Soren’s niece, Laila. At first I wondered what was the purpose of her involvement in this book, but it all works out in the end. I liked her presence and her POV gave further insight into Nora and Soren’s relationship from a more personal, familial standpoint. I liked what her presence brought to the series and one character in particular.

    And last but not least, my favorite character of them all – Kingsley. There is just something about this guy that does it for me. He’s so strong and so in control of himself on the outside, but when you add pain into the mix, he is a completely different person. The fascination between him and Soren lives on. If there was one thing I could have, I would want Soren and Kingsley together again. I get the feeling that he is genuinely happy with Juliette, but there’s still that ember burning for Soren that will never, ever burn out.

    I’m excited for what the White Years will bring. These characters and their stories continue to enchant me. Even though this is the end of one quartet, it definitely doesn’t feel like it’s over for these characters yet.

    *ARC provided by publisher

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Anonymous

    This book was so good. You really get to understand Soren's feelings for Nora. TR's stories are so well written. All of te characters are so well rounded, that it pulls you into the story. This story was a non-stop roller coaster and you don't want to get off. I'm sorry to see the end of this series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    The Mistress Tiffany Reisz ARC supplied by Netgalley. I'd read

    The Mistress Tiffany Reisz
    ARC supplied by Netgalley.
    I'd read the prequel (little red riding hood?) and the first book The Siren. Love, love, loved them both, but with so many unfinished trilogies/quartets on my kindle I’d made a new years resolution not to read any more of those until all parts are out – then I can indulge in a mammoth back to back reading session. Then this popped up on Netgalley...and I couldn't resist. I did wonder how it would read with my not having yet read the two middle books but I needn’t have been concerned, it was all very easy to follow – in as much as anything about Nora's life makes sense anyway! The best bit for me was that all the characters from earlier books are brought together. The magic in Tiffanys' writing is that she has the talent to take what seems an unshakable belief in the readers thoughts about the rightness of an action or person and transform it. I really didn't like Soren, a priest having a long time affair that started when Nora was just fifteen? And a man that’s a self admitted hard core Sadist? And has a sexual relationship with a long time male friend Kingsley? (not that I'm against m/m relationships but he's a Catholic priest and all this seems so hypocritical) – but I ended the novel under his seductive spell like the rest of the cast. Soren has a way of weaving his love for God and the way its part of his life, together neatly with his actions and explains it all in such a believable way. Wesley – so very protective of Nora and a fellow Soren hater found the same happened to him. I love Wesley, one of life’s wonders, a sensitive and moral man who's a deep thinker and loves with his whole being. He's a fab man – but so very much younger than Nora, a real “vanilla” lover with none of her penchant for the BDSM lifestyle – and it is an essential part of Nora's life so can they make it work? Kingsley, I can't help liking what I know of him and yet – he's not called The King for nothing, he too has a very dark side that's the greater part of his life and a love/hate relationship with Nora. Then there’s Nora’s friend Grace, wife to Zachary who we met in The Siren, and Sorens teenage niece. They also play a strong part in this book.
    It's erotica – but as with the rest of the series its a very, very dark erotica. Its BDSM at its extreme with some very graphic moments though reading reviews for other books not as graphic as they seem to have been. Its not a gentle spanking novel but one with strong whippings that leave marks, and other actions that leave bruises and welts.
    I love novels that have a proper story to carry the sex scenes, and Tiffany has done that here and so much, much more. I simply have to buy the two middle novels now even knowing how the series ends, as I want to read the rest and how the characters ended up as they did. I'll probably start from beginning again and have a Norafest day...All these people seem so real I feel like I know them. This book turns what I thought about many of them upside down, and made me really think about why they were as they were – and made me realise that though much of the BDSM elements are very dark, in fact so long as the participants are all happy and consenting what’s the harm? I don't understand how giving or receiving a beating can be sexually stimulating, but clearly to some it is. I do understand how self inflicted pain can be used as a control of oneself so I suppose its just one step (or a few more ) further on. Like Wesley I found the interaction between Soren and Nora shocking at times, and yet by the end I felt much more understanding of their relationship crept in.
    Noras' tales she tells to her captor to keep her alive were the perfect vehicle for showing some of what happened in earlier books in a different light – after all each person sees actions and motivations differently, and I loved the way this gave us her insight into what happened, and answered many questions the earlier books will have raised. Nora herself is an amazing person with a huge heart full of love. That’s not to say she doesn't make mistakes, we're all human, but she embraces everything Soren does and asks for more. The dead stick being watered for six months will stay with me – its a perfect example of Sorens' control – he needs it and Nora needs him to exert it.
    I can't say more – well I could go on for ages :) but don't want to give anything away. What I will say is this is the perfect ending to the series, brings everything up to speed and ties up all ends. I'll miss Nora and friends but am very much looking forward to my Norafest day when I have a free one. Its a fantastic book, one that will stay with you for ages. I love the psychology of the story, why each person was as they were and had the need to do what they did. Very satisfying and thought provoking. A book to engage the brain and not just a switch off brain fluff type but one you need to really concentrate on, never the less it's also a real escape from the tribulations of everyday life. My favourite sort of book.
    Its £5.03 for a massive 560 pages on kindle, and with the re reading factored in its great value on my VFM scale. With so many novels now being only 120-150 pages its a real treat to get one so long and that length allows the reader to get fully immersed into the story. Huge thanks to Tiffany from a reader who loves these long books :)
    Stars: Five – five all the way, in fact I wish I could give it five plus :) its that good.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Hoooly crap. I am in shock. The Mistress is┬┐ amazing, as all of

    Hoooly crap. I am in shock.

    The Mistress is… amazing, as all of Tiffany Reisz’s books are. The way Ms. Reisz has with words is beyond hypnotic. It’s captivating; it draws you in and takes you for a wild ride. (And by wild, I mean wild.)

    With Ms. Reisz’s books, I can safely say that I never know what is going to happen. She the only author who never fails in that aspect for me. I never know how her books are going to end, and The Mistress is no exception.

    Nora is, as always, brilliant. I know I couldn’t have been as brave as she was in her situation. She was so brave, so loyal, so utterly fantastic. Marie-Laure may not know why Søren loves her, but I definitely do. And Søren… dear, dear Søren… he breaks my heart every time I hear his stories. To go through so much and still be as forgiving, loving, and caring as he is… it’s a miracle.

    Kingsley. Oh, Kingsley. The situations he’s put in would make a grown man cry. And yet, he doesn’t, because he’s so strong and huggable. Okay, not huggable, that may be just me and my wishful thinking. But you know what I mean.

    Dear, sweet Kingsley. Can I just put him, Søren, and Nora in a happy bubble of love? No? *sigh*

    I loved learning more about Nora, Søren, and Kingsley. I loved being able to peek into their background and see how things were. Flashbacks are the best, because we get to see how these people came to be who they are. (Which is one of the reasons I loved The Prince.)

    There were so many freaking twists in this book. Nicolas was a huge surprise. I want to know when Nora’s going to tell people about him! (Tiffany is a big fat meanie for keeping us in the dark about that!) What’s going to happen about that?!

    And then Fionn. What? What? WHAT? I can’t—just—I’m not even coherent right now. SO. MANY. FREAKING. TWISTS.

    And then Tiffany Reisz leaves us hanging. I shouldn’t even be surprised. The ending—this is so hard to say—fits. It really does. BUT SHE CAN’T JUST—Of course she can. She’s the writer. We’re just the measly pawns she gets to play with. And we let her because we love it.

    Honestly, if you haven’t read this series, what are you waiting for? Why are you reading this? Go read them! They’re much more eloquent than I could ever hope to be. (Especially right now. I have no words to describe the immensity of emotions coursing through me right now. Though I can tell you frustration is a huge one.)

    As always, a big huge thank you to the amazing Tiffany for writing this series. It was a privilege to let us be in the passenger seat while you took us on this wild ride. I wouldn’t have it any other way. (Except for maybe that ending. I JUST CAN’T—)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    I utterly love Tiffany Reisz and she is one of two authors that

    I utterly love Tiffany Reisz and she is one of two authors that I recommend when people ask about BDSM authors. Every book keeps getting better and drawing me in further. I absolutely adore this crazy little family of Nora, Soren, Kingsley, Wes, Griffin, Michael, Zack, and Grace.
    The Mistress made me run through every emotion, I laughed, I cried, I got angry, and I sighed with relief and joy. I loved having all the juicy bits of history given to us..makes you understand the characters so much more. Sometimes I literally feel as if Nora, Soren, and Kingsley are sitting next to me actually telling me the story instead of me reading it.
    And the ending..way to go Tiffany for the little cliff hanger..looking forward to the next one :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    Every time I think Tiffany Reisz couldn't possibly get better, s

    Every time I think Tiffany Reisz couldn't possibly get better, she goes and proves me wrong. The Mistress was tragic and beautiful and made me cry like a baby. I found myself flipping past the last page, reluctant to leave the world of the Original Sinners behind. Suffice to say these books will be re-read time and time again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Five stars!!

    Another brilliant masterpiece by Tiffany Reisz! I laughed, I cried & fell even more in love with The Original Sinners family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    Fantastic follow up to her other books. I do believe that she i

    Fantastic follow up to her other books. I do believe that she is a sadist in how the ending goes. I loved it and I fall more and more in love with her characters every time!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Im going out on a limb here, after only having read the first bo

    Im going out on a limb here, after only having read the first books in this series. Ms. Reisz is an amazing writer, I have never read "erotica" like this, She wil make you question everything you held as a moral value, and give you the greatest insight into how different we all truly are. These books should not be missed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    This is even better than the first three books, and Ioved them.

    This is even better than the first three books, and Ioved them. Tiffany Reisz is an excellent writer, her books are funny, intense with great characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Anonymous

    Loved it. Best series ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2014

    The Mistress made me wish I had read other Tiffany Reisz books f

    The Mistress made me wish I had read other Tiffany Reisz books first, but regardless this was an amazing book. I would recommend
    reading her others first so that it makes better sense, but it was awesome without the other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    One of the Best Series, Best Author

    This whole series, along with the short stories, as well as Tiffany's free shorts from her website, are hands down one of the best I have ever read. I CANNOT wait for the continuation of this awesome series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    I totally loved the series but I must say that the last book lef

    I totally loved the series but I must say that the last book left me scratching my head. Now from my understanding since meeting Nora Soren has been with no other woman sexually (intercourse) so why was Grace blessed with being the one to break that cycle after all this time. I am also a little disappointed - Kingsley gets two kids, Soren gets one and Nora gets none that I have a problem with. I don't believe Grace should have been the one to carry nor have Sorens kid. I'm sorry but that part just sucks for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Love

    I love these books sexy sexy sexy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Beautiful

    Tiffany has created a world that makes readers long to be invited in.
    In starting this series I never expected the range of emotions I would feel. One moment I can laugh out loud the next I find I'm wiping tears. It is all painfully beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2