Customer Reviews for

The Mitten Board Book Edition

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A very enjoyable story to read over and over again

    Beautifully illustrated Ukrainian story about a little boy who loses
    one of the mittens that his grandmother knitted for him. With time
    one by one animals find their way into the mitten to keep warm.
    The ending is delightful. The illustrations are colorful and
    will delight children with the progression of animals "moving in."

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    The Mitten is an awesome book.

    Young children love this story and it holds their attention. I enjoy this book too.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    It's a Keeper!

    Keep this as a 'classic' for every one of your children and grandchildren. Perfect as a quick read, bedtime or at grandparents home.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2006

    We Love the Mitten by Jan Brett!

    We like this book because it has lots of interesting forest animals in it. Since we are from Texas we don't get to see snow very much, but Jan Brett puts so much detail into her pictures that we feel like we are in the snow too! In this story a boy asks for snow white mittens. He loses one in the snow. The animals begin to go into the mitten and it gets crowded. Read this great story to find out what happens inside!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautiful book and story!

    I love Jan Brett's illustrations and this is one of my favorites! My 3 year old and 1 year old both love me to read this book out loud and always laugh when the little mouse gets on the bear's nose and makes him sneeze. This is a great book for anytime, even though it is set during the winter, and in fact I picked up an extra one to give to my nieces. One of the best books we own - definitely worth the money!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    My grandson loves it!

    Purchased this book for our grandson and he loves it ~ I do too. Fun to read and fun to talk about the animals and the story. He alread had The Hat and this was a great addition to his book collection. Recommend!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2005

    Ukrainian students love it!

    The bilingual children from Ukraine, Russia and Moldava loved this book when I read it to them. I told them that it was based on an Ukrainian folktale and they were so happy to hear this! Although they could not understand all the words in English, they did comprehend the detailed pictures and they laughed very hard. Laughter is a universal language !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2014

    An Adorable Fun Book

    I am using this for my Holiday Season collection. It is a perfect addition and the pictures are great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Children are delighted

    My two grandchildren love this book!! Jan Brett's illustrations are always marvelous. This book is no exception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Jan Brett is in a league of her own

    I absolutely love Jan Brett's books. The detail is just fantastic. Often along the edge of the page there is a hint what will be coming up on the next page. Sometimes her books are rewrites of old tales and sometimes she tells her own stories. Either way, they are special books. Children who cannot handle busy pictures may not tolerate her books, however.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2002

    The Mitten by Jan Brett

    The mitten is a wonderfully cute animal story. This book is fun to have in a classroom for the early grades (k-2) and is a great one to keep in your personal library at home. It is fun and easy to read for children and the illustrations are phenomenal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2001

    Every baby needs this book!!!

    This is my 14-month old's favorite book and has been since 11 months. She sits in my lap, entranced, each and every time I read it and never squirms. The pictures just captivate her and she loves all the animals. I will treasure this book forever because it has brought her so much joy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1