Customer Reviews for

The Mockingbird Next Door: Life with Harper Lee

Average Rating 3.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The Mockingbird New Door is a remarkably well written book about

The Mockingbird New Door is a remarkably well written book about the life of famed author Harper Lee. To Kill a Mockingbird remains a standard of the American classroom. It is by all definitions a classic. Yet, little is known about its author Harper Lee – that is, unti...
The Mockingbird New Door is a remarkably well written book about the life of famed author Harper Lee. To Kill a Mockingbird remains a standard of the American classroom. It is by all definitions a classic. Yet, little is known about its author Harper Lee – that is, until now. Marja Mills presents a detailed view of the celebrated author and her sisters. The writing is excellent. The research is excellent. The book is (you guessed it) excellent.

posted by Anonymous on July 24, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

From all I have read about this author and how she really did n

From all I have read about this author and how she really did not do this book honestly don't bother

posted by jc65 on July 16, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 14 of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    The Mockingbird New Door is a remarkably well written book about

    The Mockingbird New Door is a remarkably well written book about the life of famed author Harper Lee. To Kill a Mockingbird remains a standard of the American classroom. It is by all definitions a classic. Yet, little is known about its author Harper Lee – that is, until now. Marja Mills presents a detailed view of the celebrated author and her sisters. The writing is excellent. The research is excellent. The book is (you guessed it) excellent.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2014

    If you recognize the name Harper Lee, you will love this.

    It must have been a real joy to live next door to and share the life of the Lee sisters for so many months. Marja must be a special person to have them share so many great stories, and their close personal friends and family.

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading and learning about a true American treasure and the people she obviously cared about.

    Truly makes me want to reread "To Kill A Mockingbird" again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    AVA

    I Like thisbook

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    Jack

    Ava who

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent book about the life of Harper Lee, most well known for

    Excellent book about the life of Harper Lee, most well known for her book To Kill a Mockingbird. Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    This is a good sequel-well, I guess I would call it...

    Book 2 of the How To Kill a Mockingbird and there should be another one called Book 3- The Mockingbird Miracle

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    Why so negative people........

    I bet this is an SPONTANEOUS BOOK but you just cant see it If anybody wants to know I AM HARPER HILL

    1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    A Great Book that reminds you of a Great Book

    My favorite book as a teen was To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee, so I devoured the new non-fiction The Mockingbird Next Door: Life with Harper Lee by Marja Mills. It is a reflection of living next door to the Lee sisters for a year and half while the sisters are in their 70s and 90s. The Pulitzer Prize winning reporter does an excellent job of describing their day to day ordinary lives in a small town in Alabama while at the same time sharing their extraordinary lives of accomplishments. The lesser known sister, Alice, was still practicing law and was part of the inspiration for Atticus. If you read the book then you will understand the controversy found in so many reviews of this book. The book was filled with authenticity and kindness towards the Lee sisters and made me want to write to the author to tell her how much I enjoyed the book and how much better I understood why I still loved To Kill a Mockingbird.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    Get a pink ipad

    Kiss ur jand3times then post thos on 3 other books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Very compelling! A must for fans of To Kill A Mockingbird!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book! It gives many insights into the personality of Harper Lee as well as the things that shaped her as a person and as an author. I enjoyed the connection between Ms Lee and the author of this book, Ms Mills. If you love To Kill A Mockingbird, you'll enjoy this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2014

    NEW CHAT ROOM!!!!!!

    New chat room at: you choose books, on the book huricane katrina. HURRY!!!!! It should be about four or five pages down. Enjoy! ;)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    The book was well written by Marja Mills, who had an amazing exp

    The book was well written by Marja Mills, who had an amazing experience when Harper Lee and her sister Alice opened their door to her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    Pink ipad

    Kiss your hand three times post this on three books then look under your pillow

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    Qqqqqqqqqqqqaszdxx

    Zjdjdjxhfyxhr

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 14 of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1