Customer Reviews for

The Money Book for the Young, Fabulous & Broke

Average Rating 4
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 13, 2009

    Suze Really Helps In These Troubled Times

    Suze Orman has already helped me stay on track financially and I haven't even finished reading the whole book. Her straight to the point approach gets to the heart of your financial questions and helps you get where you need to be.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2007

    A reviewer

    Before I picked up this book I was a recent grad who was broke and had no idea how to arrage my debt and where to start investing for the future. I've now read this book twice and bought copies for my brother and cousin. Suze does an amazing job laying out all the options and explaining in English about money. I recommend this book to anyone who needs a new outlook on their financial situation.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2005

    A must read for all ages

    Suze Orman's latest book gives detailed expert advice regarding all financial situations; from broke with no money to pay bills to people with 5 IRAs. If you don't know what an IRA is, Suze Orman will explain it to you, along with 401(k)s, Certificates of Deposits, in simple, easy to understand terms. Orman gives advice starting with the basics of digging yourself out of debt to the harder financial moves of buying a house. If you're unsure where to invest your money, Orman will give you several options and will include the pros and cons of each. If you're currently leasing your vehicle, you should read why Orman thinks this is such a huge mistake. The Money book for the Young, Fabulous & Broke is a casual financial book. That seems like an oxymoron, but Orman's advice is simple and easy to understand.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2005

    Best Money Book EVER!

    My husband and I are both 23 and have been married for almost 3 years. This book seems like it was written for us! We have student loan debt, credit card debt, and just can't seem to get ahead. This book addresses common mistakes made by people like us. Stop buying budgeting books and buy this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Very Helpful

    Easy to read and easy to follow guidelines to help today's twentysomethings achieve financial freedom and financial literacy. I DEFINITELY recommend this book to anyone who wants to learn to navigate personal finance after graduating from high school or college.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Changed my LIFE

    I have never been good with money but this book spoke to me.. I am a 23 yr old single female who is defintely YF&B!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2005

    I was almost in debt up the ying yang

    My husband and I were considering buying a house we 'thought' we could afford but after reading this book we realized we were way over budget and were in jeopardy of getting into serious credit card debt. We stopped in time and now we are on our way to becoming financially fit.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best financial advising books for 20 somethings

    I've always tuned in to whatever Suze Orman was saying on TV or the radio, so I decided to get one of her books. After flip-flopping back and forth between two I chose this one. It is such an easy and fun read and it touches every question you could possibly have about your finances, especially when you're just out of college. I love how it even goes into jobs, salaries, and negotiations!! I'm 28, six years out of college, working on building a solid financial foundation. However, I've made A LOT of mistakes, gotten in over my head, and I wanted to clean things up before they got any worse, and this book was my ticket. I highly recommend this book for the prevention and treatment of any/all financial disasters you (can) make. Honestly, it should be a required read and study of all college seniors before they graduate, better yet, high school seniors : )

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2008

    Wish I Read this in College

    I wish this book was around a few years ago when I entered college. I definately would have made some better financial decisions. Suze really breaks it down for you and doesn't sugar coat a thing. I'm 26 and although I'm not all the way up to my eye balls in debt make a decent income, I still struggle every month to make ends meet. This book, coupled with the web site, has really helped me learn how prioritize my debt. It has definately relieved me of a lot of anxiety I had about my financial future.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2005

    No-Frills Advice

    This book is an investment in itself. Tightly-written chapters are structured in a way that make it easy to browse the book for the information you need and to find the answer to your specific question quickly. Orman doesn't assume a lot of knowledge on the part of the reader and explains the basics well before moving on to more complicated ideas. She also avoids giving the same standard -- and unhelpful -- advice frequently found in other personal finance books. When she writes, 'Screw budgets,' I almost cheered. Most importantly, Orman gives you directions on which tasks to prioritize when you have multiple goals to achieve. For example: You want to save, pay off your credit card debt, and buy a house. Which do you do first? Read this book and find out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    I thought this was a decent book but I was a little disappointed

    I thought this was a decent book but I was a little disappointed with it to be honest. I was telling a friend about it and she recommended another book geared to people in my situation called Go Simple: The Playbook to Financial Security which I bought and found to be an excellent, easy to read personal finance book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    hmmm..

    After reading this book I thought it was decently constructed. However I feel like she doesn't talk about our housing crisis that we are currently in that well. I read a book the other day called "Life After Foreclosure" by Dean Wegner and I feel that if these two books were put together it would cover everything we need to know about finances.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I also recommend Sugar's "The Silent Crisis Destroying America's Brightest Minds"

    One day these two crusaders will meet and sparks will fly. The SMARTGRADES School Planners include budgeting, so that kids learn how to manage their money. Suze would be proud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2009

    A Good Intro for Young Adults dealing with a young or young and ugly portfolio.

    I was anticipating this book would focus more on young adults who are
    in decent financial shape and what long term methods to imploy early on
    in their young portfolio for long term growth. It does cover some basics,
    but overall it is for young people (Y, F & B'rs) who have already made or
    are in the process of considering poor financial decisions. The most useful
    section of the book in my mind was when Suzie lays out several financial
    decisions NOT to make, regardless of age and finances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    Not what I was expecting

    I was dissapointed in this book. A lot of it is common sense and didn't give me as much advice as I was hoping for. I wouldn't recommend this book to anyone searching for financial advice or ideas.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    This book is a most have for all young adults

    I wish i had this book before I went off to college. This book is great! It breaks down the basics from investing, to different types of savings, and how to fix credit. I think its done in a that is not too intimidating. Great book, I would recommend it to anyone under 30.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2007

    This book is the cure all for solving financial challenges.

    This book provides suggestions for all who desire to get their finaces together. Whether you need to make minor or major changes, Ms Orman provides great advice on what to do. Because of this book, my insurance premimums are lower now. Adra Young Author of: The Everyday Living of Children & Teens Monologues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2006

    perfect book for the YFB generation!

    i only earn 25,000 gross a year, but after saving 5,000 in 8 months, i am now confident to start my retirement fund. next goal: a home. i just turned 26 and life is starting to look bright, thanks to the guidance of this book. READ and FOLLOW!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2006

    22 year old

    I am actually a prospective CPA with about the median level of student loan debt. I have saved $4,000 this year as a result of my mother being helpful with the car insurance and car payment. That is about 52% of gross receipts. I am a library shelver and make about $4,600 per year. I also get grants of $1,200 per semester. I think the greatest impediments to young people saving are the virtious nature of baby-boomers, rising health insurance costs and mandatory health insurance, and the continuation of lavish lifestyle of our parents. At the same time, we struggle with having to pay a social security tax that we ourselves will not benefit from. I think following the mandatory saving rule is far more effective than following the mandatory health insurance rule. Such monies would be safe-guarded from bankruptcy in the event of a health-care crisis. The odds of a young person getting ill is very small, but their odds of getting in an auto accident are high.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2005

    Whatever you do, READ THIS BOOK

    I wish Suze had written this 10 years ago - I probably would have been better off than I am now. From understanding your FICO score to planning for retirement, this book has it all. Get this book, it is worth every penny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4