BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Monk

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    Best Book Ever!

    This is, by far, the best book I've ever read. I read it about 7 years ago in college and loved it. I just re-read it and absolutely loved it again! Everyone that I've recommended it to has loved it as well. It is a book to read and keep forever.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Definitely Need To Read!!

    This is one of my favorite books. It's a Gothic Romance written by Lewis, who at the time was an 18 yr old member of Parliament. He wrote the book in about 10 weeks.

    If you like books by Ann Radcliffe and/or Christopher Marlowe's Dr Faustus. You NEED to read this!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2008

    Monk Bakes the Cake

    This novel predates everything I have read. I am a sucker for ancient text, or anything written in the 17th century. Lewis' language topples over shakespeare and leaves anne rice in the gutter. I recommend this book for anyone interested in dark subjects, whitchcraft, evil religion, devil incarnate, and all the fervid details that make you quiver.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Wonderfully dark

    After adjusting to the writing style, this twisted tale takes off and doesn't seem to slow down even after you've finished reading. A few twists and turns, a level of depravity that can shock even the jaded readers of today, it is a tragedy that such creativity and warped imagination is in such short supply these days. No doubt, The Monk is a prized title in nearly every horror fan's library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Simply Amazing

    This is by far the best book I have ever read. The novel has a very gothic theme and is super creepy at times. I highly recommend this book if you can enjoy a haunting tale.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2005

    A GREAT GOTHIC TALE

    It is a very good book and one of the best ive ever read. It is diffenently a must for anyone who likes horror. I admire Matthew G. Lewis for coming up with the entire tale at such a young age.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Okay read.

    I appreciate this book's historical value, but I really did not enjoy reading it. It was interesting in some parts, but was on the whole overly dramatic and exaggerated. I'm sure that an English professor would appreciate this book more than I, as a casual reader.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    A deliciously salacious and fast paced bit of gothic literature. Not the genre defining stuff of Walpole and Radcliffe, but a bit of late eighteenth century trashy reading. Well worth the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome

    It's not a book for the faint of heart. It hits all the elements of a good hardcore Goth: dungeons, torture chambers, demons, incest, murder, The Wondering Jew, evil priests and nuns, you name it. The book is wrapped in mystery until the very end where all is revealed. You must divorce yourself from reality to read this. It's that fantastical, it deals with archetypes rather than real people which adds to its appeal.<BR/><BR/>I can't believe that the writer was 19 at the time he penned this and finished it in 10 weeks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2004

    must read if you like gothic

    Better than Anne Rice Monk is pretty scary and entertaining. I'm surprise a movie of this book has not been made.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2004

    A great gothic romance

    This was a fantastic novel! The plot was a bit convoluted at times, and somewhat hard to follow, but Lewis ties things up rather nicely with a climax that is rather shocking, considering the time period in which the book was written. Definately recomended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2004

    El Monk

    Es muy exellente. This novel kept my attention all of the way through. It is a classic battle of good and evil.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2