Customer Reviews for

The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari: A Fable about Fulfilling Your Dreams and Reaching Your Destiny

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

It changed my life!

My mother stumbled across this book and urged me to read it. I was skeptical at first but I have read the book 4 times from to back and every day I go back to my markings. The book is so uplifting. It has changed my life. It has changed the way I think and brou...
My mother stumbled across this book and urged me to read it. I was skeptical at first but I have read the book 4 times from to back and every day I go back to my markings. The book is so uplifting. It has changed my life. It has changed the way I think and brought me to a happier place in life. I would highly recommend this book.

posted by Anonymous on January 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Boring and Predictable

The author unsuccessfully tried turning a self-help book into a novel. I kept waiting to either learn something new or become intrigued and neither happened throughout the whole book.

posted by Dee-Pit on August 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    Boring and Predictable

    The author unsuccessfully tried turning a self-help book into a novel. I kept waiting to either learn something new or become intrigued and neither happened throughout the whole book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2008

    It changed my life!

    My mother stumbled across this book and urged me to read it. I was skeptical at first but I have read the book 4 times from to back and every day I go back to my markings. The book is so uplifting. It has changed my life. It has changed the way I think and brought me to a happier place in life. I would highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    This book was worth reading especially if you are looking for so

    This book was worth reading especially if you are looking for something in your life, it really helps you evaluate your life and makes you think about what you really want to do in life. The only reason why I gave it 4 stars is because it had very similar beliefs as many Buddhists books and some of it seemed a little redundant, but the story and overall meaning was very helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2014

    A delightful, easy-to-read book, packed with life-giving wisdom.

    A delightful, easy-to-read book, packed with life-giving wisdom. As it was published in 1997, and because I am in the second half of my life, I feel I am already living much of the wisdom shared. But, as wisdom is timeless, it still worth the read, and the reminder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Leadership

    A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Awesome

    Just an all around good msg about life and how we should open our hearts and really begin to live it!!! If your in a spiritual, or creative funk its a MUST read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Cv

    Rt

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    Highly recommend!

    If you need something to inspire you to get going and improve your life, this is definitely the book. I finished the book last night and woke up feeling happy and motivated to make the day a positive one. The author gives easy to follow suggestions for improving your outlook and overall life. Must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    wonderfully inspiring novel that will keep you turning the pages

    Robin Sharma's The monk who sold his Ferrari has a unique title but is worth the read. The story tells of a worn out, over weight attorney who after suffering a heart attack disappears in order to find himself. when he reappears he is the picture of excellent health and has discovered truth to his own happiness. He recounts his journey in a way that takes you back to your child like self. He outlines several age old and spiritual truths along with a wealth of wisdom (physical, emotional) in order to discover how to put passion back into a busy hectic life that can often be filled with discontentment and stress. The best part is how the story unfolds like an onion as he builds your excitement one truth at a time. I definitely recommend this to anyone who is in search of a more fulfilled life and wants to know what their purpose on earth should be. Sharma has a wonderful way with words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    Good story - Great message

    The story is the awakening of a somewhat egotistical, stressed-out attorney who chooses to change and live a full life, mentally, physically and emotionally rather than a life of stress and selfish pursuits. Powerful but simple ideas on always improving yourself and making today better than yesterday. I recommend this book followed up by Sharma's new book, "A Leader Who has No Title."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Letting Go

    The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari was a major inspiration. I recommend keeping a notebook and pen by your side everytime you pick up the book. I took pages and pages of notes, quotes, and concepts from the wisdom given here. I gave my book to a friends and will definitely purchase more as gifts to give to others, and hopefully they can pass those on as well.
    The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari will open your eyes to the opportunities we already have that may be over-looked or neglected. We have much more time than we believe if one is able to develop an awareness of it. Buy the book, cultivate it wisdom, and pass on the knowledge!

    - Howard Cramptom, Jr.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2007

    Powerful in its Simplicity!

    'The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari' starts off dramatically with a powerful scene where the protagonist experiences a heart attack in a court battle. He soon realizes that his pace as a lawyer is creating stress that may contribute to his early death if he doesn't change his direction in life. This wake up call takes him on a spiritual journey to India where he meets three teachers who each impart an important lesson to him. He soon realizes the meaning of life outside his materialistic goals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2007

    the best of the best

    I love this book, it is so true .... I dont get how someone would call it a dreadful book it is the most facinating book ever, and those who dont like it oviously cant stand to hear the true and want no change or success in their lives.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2006

    One of the best books I've ever read...

    I picked this book up on a whim and couldn't put it down...it is so inspiring! Everyone should read this book, it's message is outstanding. It is one that I will read over and over again truly one of my favorite books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2007

    A must for everyone who lacks essence in his/her actions

    Simplicity, glamour and deep thought is shining from this book. Biggest +

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2006

    Monk Who Sold His Ferrari: A Fable About Fulfilling Your Dreams & Reaching Your Destiny

    This book changed my life. I have made it a point to write a review just so that I can urge you as a fellow human being that if you want to do something for yourself for once, if you truly desire inner peace and you want it to be everlasting, this book is most definately for you. If you are a curious on inquisitive person and you have found yourself pondering the meaning of life or how to maximize your potential and find that there is too much information out there, this is the simple guide you have been looking for. In my opinion, you need nothing else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2006

    Monk Who Sold His Ferrari: A Fable About Fulfilling Your Dreams & Reaching Your Destiny

    This book will stimulate your mind and awaken your spirit as it unveils the mysteries of the universe. Some of these 'eternal truths' of happiness may be familiar to you, but the practical method in which they are displayed by Mr. Sharma I'm sure you have never seen before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2005

    A dreadful book

    There are no stars for this book. I am in a book club (10 of us) we reviewed this book last week and we were at one with our impressions. It is an insult to any form of intelligence and was loathed by us all (female, middle-class, eductated, mothers, wives). The tips on living could be picked up in any Womens' Own type of magazine and ... of God I can't go on. The book does not deserve any more of my time.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2003

    Read this Book to change your life!!!!!!!!!!

    Can¿t get enough of visionary fiction? Neither can I! These are just a few titles that will inspire you: The Celestine Prophecy (James Redfield) ; The Butterfly (Jay Singh); The Monk who sold his Ferrari (Robin Sharma) ; The Alchemist (Paulo Coehlo); Chasing Rumi (Roger Housden). My favorite is by far and away THE ALCHEMIST! Go ahead¿be inspired. Happy reading. Donald S. Buckland.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2001

    exelent book

    the monk who sold his ferrari is an inspiring and fasinating novel wich teaches as it delights.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2