Customer Reviews for

The Monster of Florence

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Insight into Italian culture

    I thought the contrast with the romanticized Italian countryside, Tuscany, wine culture, art, and so on that we associate with Italy was marked in the true story of Italian murder and mystery. I was hooked and involved immediately and finished the book swiftly. The afterword about the Amanda Knox case is fascinating and timely. I hope international attention forces a look at the Italian version of justice. Power corrupts...

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Incredible!

    Preston and Spezi take the reader deep into the case of an old Italian murder mystery. An incredible first hand account of Spezi's involvement in the case, draws the reader to be more and more interested with each and every page. Through the detailed crime scenes, to the intriguing investigations, Spezi is able to draw a beautiful picture in your head. This book is filled with shocking suspects and unbelievable verdicts.The Monster of Florence is guaranteed to keep you wanting more.
    10 out of 10.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    The Title captured my interest as did the photograph on the cover

    I purchased this book for my husband, an retired policeman, who enjoys good literature. I read it before giving it and truly enjoyed the mystery. I especially enjoyed the setting since I lived in that very area of Tuscany on a painting trip. The inefficacies of the justice system brought memories of my brief encounter with the law when my wallet was stolen...archaic and inefficient! The novel is very well written and I will seek out more books by the same author. Really enjoyed the investigative and personal relationships of Mario Spezi and Douglas Preston.

    Since the names in this novel are so similar to the unfamiliar reader, a listing of the characters and their connection to each other would be helpful.

    My friend also read the book before my giving it to my husband. She agrees with my comments. My husband enjoyed the book, especially the well-written text but found all the similar names difficult to keep in check. All in all, it was a very good book which many of us enjoyed. It is already on my friends' "borrowing list".

    Lorraine Boucher

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Required Reading!

    Wonderfully researched, captivating, and enlightening. The authors are not only experts on the case, [the twisted] Italian judiciary practice, and the human psyche in general, but they are also fantastic writers. It will be interesting to see how the Monster of Florence story, the Sardinian Trial, and the Meredith Kercher case will all be played out once this book becomes read world-wide. This book she be a required reading!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    Great Book!

    Picked this up on the clearance table at B & N cuz I am going to Tuscany and Umbria in June and also enjoy reading non-fiction books written by journalists. This is a fascinating crime story and an even more interesting look at the criminal justice system in Italy. Moreover, it truly highlights certain cultural and national traits of Italy and Italians. After reading it, I realized why Amanda Knox was locked up for four years: the Public Prosecutor is a power-hungry loony-toons! I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    enlightening and disturbing

    A good read; who would have thought a "modern" country could have such a dysfunctional judicial system. Very disturbing, especially in light of yet another terribly unfair trial conducted against a young American woman. Sadly, this discourages travel to this beautiful country.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Monster Was Okay

    This book was just okay. It was a bit gross and it gave me some nightmares. It was disarming to know that "saving face" meant framing people for crimes that they didn't commit. I loved the pharse "picnicking friends."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2009

    A real life crime story ... truth stranger than fiction.

    If you like crime stories with lots of twists and turns, good guys and bad guys not always easy to determine, good cops and bad cops, and lots of human nature, this is a good read. A real life story that is much better than your average crime story. If you like to mine the depths of good and evil, this is also a good reason to read the book. Well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    The Monster of Florence

    This is non-fiction, written by the two journalist whose interest was captured by a series of murders near Florence, Italy--one an American who chose to move to Italy, and one an Italian journalist. The picture painted of the Italian justice system, the inefficiencies and corruption are pretty sad. Both journalists ended up with legal problems themselves as a result of their efforts to find the real murderer, but the pertpetrator was never found, although suspicions linger who that might be. It is a well written, interesting true crime novel that will send chills up your spine. A very interesting snapshot, too, of how life is in another country. Makes me very glad to be an American citizen--our system has problems, but miniscule compared to many other places.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2