BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Moon and More

Average Rating 4
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Diving into another summer read, I found myself taken away by th

Diving into another summer read, I found myself taken away by this story.
1. Realism. This best thing this author does is great such realistic stories with great family dimensions.  The stories are always more than what they seem with the characters learning so much mor...
Diving into another summer read, I found myself taken away by this story.
1. Realism. This best thing this author does is great such realistic stories with great family dimensions.  The stories are always more than what they seem with the characters learning so much more about themselves and others around them.
2. I don’t need to be fixed. I love this storyline. Not everyone wants to be fixed. They are happy right where they are. They don’t need more cause what they have is enough. They are content with that and I love that Emaline is a content teenager. She has seen the mistakes her mother made and saw them for what they were.
3. Love. The love interest in quite difficult in this book. First you have Luke is great. And then he makes some mistakes that make me question everything. And Theo. A great fast-paced guy who is always on the go looking for the next big thing. Personally, I think Emaline, needs to find some other guy. That’s all I’m saying.
4. Parents. I really love that this book show some great family dimensions. Growing up with stepbrothers/sisters and half-brothers, I totally understood the family. They aren’t perfect but I adored the way Emaline’s family was always there for her.
5. Realization. The best part of the book is the realization of life and situations. You see, you can have the moon and more without having it all. Emaline saw that. She was happy and knew exactly what she wanted.  Watching her grow up, learning hard lessons made Emaline stronger and more aware of who she is.
The Moon and More is a story of life and love.  A coming of age tale, that touches elements that any reader can get into, The Moon and More is great.

posted by BooksWithBite on June 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Severly dissapointed

I have read everyone of sarah dessens books, multiple times. And i loved every single one of them. Thats why i have to give this book one star- because i know she is capable of so much more. I hated theo's character, and felt like there was absolutely no connection bet...
I have read everyone of sarah dessens books, multiple times. And i loved every single one of them. Thats why i have to give this book one star- because i know she is capable of so much more. I hated theo's character, and felt like there was absolutely no connection between him and emaline. In fact i didnt feel a very close connection with emaline and anyone. all in all if this book was written by someone else it would have been a ok book but given my love for sarah dessen books its sad that this book didnt deliver the amazingness i waited so long for.

posted by 5846611 on August 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Books

    Sarah Dessen is by far one of my favorite authors. As a teen girl, I feel that I can relate to her books, especially growing up in a small beach town like Colby. I love that all of her books can connect- even if its for a few seconds via characters and I love that her romances are for the most part realistic.
    This book however, I found to be a disapointment. Theo was an obnxious, pompous jerk who, I feel had no connection to Emaline. Emaline, I found to be somewhat relatable, yet not quite, especially when she was feeling not so great about Theo, yet continued to date him. I guess my favorite characters in the book were Morris and Luke, becasue there was a constant between the two of them to always be there for Emaline. I thought that Emalines FATHER was an older version of Theo, obnoxious, a workaholic and self centered.
    I guess my favorite part of the book was the ending, and not because it was the end, but becasue it ended with Emaline not ending up with Theo (sorry for the spoiler) . I actually hope that if Sarah Dessen writes another book, she connects it back to Emaline so we can see if she and Luke ever get back together.
    All in all this book was not Sarah Dessens finest. I recomend Along for the Ride- which I believe is my all time favorite book- or Lock and Key, or any other Sarah Dessen book for that matter, because I guarentee it would change your perspective of her writing, becase I know that she is capable of so much more and as proven in this book- everyone deserves a second chance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    My actual rating of this book is probably around a 2.8. I didn¿t

    My actual rating of this book is probably around a 2.8. I didn’t hate it, but I also didn’t particularly like it. I tried desperately to love this book as much as I’ve loved all of Dessen’s previous works, but it just wasn’t in the cards.  A lack of plot, one-dimensional characters, and no resolution made me glad I waited to get it from the library rather than buying it.

    Dessen’s writing is always solidly good, but this time around it felt a little lazy in places. For example, the title is mentioned at least three times in the first couple of chapters. I stopped counting after that, but I’m sure it popped up more times. I also felt like the book was completely lacking a plot. Emaline is a HS graduate, working at the family business, totally unsure of what she wants to do with her life. Her world is basically turned inside out by the arrival of her bio-dad and half-brother, when her father comes to town to put his recently deceased aunt’s house on the market, as well as her relationship problems with long-term boyfriend Luke that conveniently start with the arrival of the more sophisticated Theo.  It had all the necessary ingredients, but the execution was shoddy. The book mostly centered on Emaline hanging out with Theo and waxing poetic about how she wants more out of life, with no real resolution to any of these things. If Dessen had focused the plot on Emaline’s relationship with her family and resolving her issues with her father, the story would have worked a lot better.

    The character development also left much to be developed, with most of the characters being one-dimensional clichés.  I simply couldn’t connect with any of them. If I’m being honest, Benji and Emaline’s best friends Daisy and Morris were the only characters in the book that I actually enjoyed. Those were the scenes that really shined for me and kept me reading the book.

    Emaline was too passive, frustratingly naive and at times annoyingly self-absorbed. The only moments when I enjoyed her character was during her interactions with her half-brother, Benji. It also didn’t help that I pretty much instantly disliked her family. Her mom and sisters were invasive and pushy, and nobody seemed to give much consideration to her or her feelings which drove me crazy throughout the book. Now, it is entirely possible that this is one of those “It’s not you, it’s me” situations. I always struggle to connect with characters who have big, invasive families like Emaline’s because my family was not like that at all. For the most part, especially in my teen years, I did what I want with little to no parental input or supervision. So I tend to get easily frustrated when I come across families where the parents are actually involved in the MCs lives, and irritated with the MC for letting their families push them around.

    One thing I really did enjoy was that the plot did not involve a love triangle like I feared. Both romances fell flat for me, and I didn’t particularly like either Luke or Theo, so if the book had been centered on Emaline trying to decide between the two I would have definitely DNFed it. While Luke was definitely much more likable than Theo, I wasn’t sold on Emaline being a good fit with either of them and found myself bored and frustrated during scenes that featured Emaline with either of her love interests. I did enjoy the first day or so of Emaline and Theo’s romance but that was it. After the second kissing scene it was just a mess that I usually skimmed through.

    I will give the book points for being realistic. As much as I disliked them, Emaline’s dysfunctional family was 100% believable as were her romantic interests. And while I disliked the fact that there was nothing resembling a resolution regarding her relationship with her bio dad, that is probably more realistic then them suddenly understanding each other and developing a close, loving relationship.

    The Moon and More was solidly written, but it just didn’t work for me. However I’m sure other Dessen fans will love it and so I would recommend it if you enjoy her previous works and other contemporary YA novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Okay But Not That Great

    I was really excited to buy this book. The summary sounded really good, and I've read Sarah Dessen books before. 'Just Listen' was one of my favorites.. But this book was kind of boring. It was boring in the beginning then got more exciting towards the middle and then just started to get boring again.. In the book, Dessen never really explained well on what the characters looked like. & that's important to me when I read books and secondly, there were times where I got confused on what was happening, & thirdly, Emaline would go on about boring topics.. There wasn't much excitement going on. I literally want to stop reading but I'm almost done and I don't like starting books and not finishing them. That's the only reason why I'm continuing.. The book could have been better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Good But Not Great

    It was a pretty slow read for me because the characters in this book, weren't really that interesting. Theo? Oh my goodness, that boy is just completely obnoxious after they started dating. But I guess that was how Sarah wanted to portray him.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Page turner

    I've read every Dessen novel and this one comes i in at second! Great summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    This one was really different. To be honest, I didn't really lik

    This one was really different. To be honest, I didn't really like it that much. It was slow at times and I didn't like the whole idea of a summer fling that didn't work out (whoops, spoiler). The ending was nice, though. I like Morris's character, and how we find out more about Gerts and the rest of the town, but other than that...? I don't know. I mostly read Sarah Dessen for the romance, and I barely got any this time. 

    I wish the last chapter was about how she met some guy at college or in NY who was from a small town like her, so they can both keep in touch with their roots but still expose themselves to something different. 

    ************************************SPOILERS***********************************
    I hate how things with Theo didn't work out. I was SO READY for a romance with a dorky guy from out-of-town.
    At first I expected something like a This Lullaby Remy and Dexter romance, with the slightly strange but funny guy and the smart, tough ass girl. But no. He just had to be too ambitious.
    I loved Luke! Not because he cheated, but because he was so sweet and nice (I suspect the fact that he's cousins with Wes and Bert make him seem better, too). I'm glad she didn't get back together with him, though.

    I guess this was alright. I kept expecting something CRAZY happening, like Margo having an affair with Emaline's father (her real dad), or Emaline getting pregnant, or Theo actually being in love with his boss (which would explain why Theo was trying to get close to Emaline, to impress his boss [which, I guess, ended up being true, but imagine if he was actually in love with the boss and the boss was in love with him too! That would've been crazy]). I kept expecting Emaline to throw something at her father or have a bigger outburst than she did. This book was good, but after The Truth about Forever, This Lullaby, Along for the Ride, and Dreamland, my expectation of juiciness is just way too high. We need the realization of the main girl from The Truth About Forever, the fighting from This Lullaby, the buildup of the relationship from Along for the Ride, and the overall OMG WHAAAAAT factor from Dreamland. If you're thinking of reading this, give it a shot, but I hope this isn't the first Sarah Dessen book you'll read. It's not the first impression you should have of her writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3.5 Stars 'The Moon and More' is a young adult contemporary nov

    3.5 Stars

    'The Moon and More' is a young adult contemporary novel that follows lead character Emaline as she makes her way through the summer before starting college in the fall. Emaline lives in the small coastal town of Colby, where all of her family is, where the family business is located, and where the college she'll be attending is as well. Emaline also has the perfect boyfriend - Luke - who is gorgeous, kind, and who loves her. Emaline seems to have a great life, but something inside of her is begging to see what lies beyond the town of Colby. Enter Theo, a vacationer from New York, who also thinks that Emaline is destined for bigger things than Colby can offer. Emaline wants to get all she can out of life, but does that mean staying in Colby or seeing what else is out there?

    This was a light and quick contemporary read that was perfect for the summer. Emaline is a good main character and I could easily identify with her early on in the book. She's smart, driven, a devoted girlfriend, friend and daughter, but she's always felt like there's more to life than Colby. There's a bit of a love triangle in the book, which I hated. I always seem to go for the sweetheart guy in books, and Luke - Emaline's boyfriend - definitely fits the bill. I was rooting for their relationship from early on and I hated when they threw Theo into the mix. The plot was realistic and definitely deals with topics that most teens and young adults can identify with - especially those who are going to be graduating. It talks a lot about expectations - your own and others - as well as friendship, love, family, and being true to yourself. There were great underlying messages throughout the book, which most readers can identify with. I did feel that some of the plot was cliched and stereotypical, especially when it comes to escaping small town life and wanting more out of life than you had planned. It seemed a bit worn out and tired, which made me roll my eyes at the characters more than once. Overall, this is a great YA contemporary novel that fans of the genre will not want to miss out on - and is definitely a perfect summer read!

    Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Hey.

    Anyone wann chat?

    0 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    To: "spoiler alert"

    If it reminds you of Caitlin and Rogerson I don't think I should read it. I get that book is like reality, but I just can't help to wish for a happy ending. I know that life doesn't have a happy ending, but still. I love Sarah Dessen, I really do, but I wish that in all her books everybody would have a happy ending.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1