BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Mortal Instruments (4 books): City of Bones; City of Ashes; City of Glass; City of Fallen Angels

Average Rating 4.5
( 196 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(147)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Best. Series. Ever.

I never thought that i would find another series that i liked more than Harry Potter but this surpassed that . i have yet to find another book even get remotely close to this level. This books appeals to anybody that likes pretty much any genre. When i read a book i a...
I never thought that i would find another series that i liked more than Harry Potter but this surpassed that . i have yet to find another book even get remotely close to this level. This books appeals to anybody that likes pretty much any genre. When i read a book i always like when it has a romantic aspect in it at least in soeme way.but this book really has it all. It has action romance fantasy. Pretty much you name it its got it. I recommnd this to anyone who has time to read because trust you wont want it down. And when you do it will leave you in awe and waiting for the next one. These books willanger you, make you cry, make you laugh. And ultmately leaving you wanting to be part of the series itself. Beautifully written. The book is writen in such a way that even though it is third person you get to know the character's thoughts. Breathetaking series.

posted by 10426123 on January 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Woo-hoo

These are the best books that I have ever read, which is saying a lot because i love to read! These books are a combinaton of fantasy, romance and mystery. I love these books so much! I am reading the City of Fallen Angels right now!

posted by I_AM_A_DOWNWORLDER on September 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 196 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Best series in the Best series ever!

    I have recommended thus book to every one i know! It truely deserves to be the best.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Awesome

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Losing sleep because I can't put it down

    Great read! Am already half-way thru the 3rd book and I can't stop reading. Love them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2013

    The Movie is a Spoiler Alert!

    ARE YOU SERIOUS!?!? At least that was my reaction while reading the first book. There were often times that I had to place my bookmark and step away from the book... take a breather if you will. The next 2 books reveal more about the characters' histories, in addition the third book ends as if the main adventure is over while the 4th book brings in new trouble.

    If you don't like spoilers DO NOT watch the movie before finishing the first 3 books. The movie pulls information from books 2 and 3 in order to make the movie more comprehensible and acceptable for moviegoers who pay attention to the little details. However it also spoils the surprise, or as I like to say when a critical event happens "The Plot THICKENS". My Advise, Read the first 3 books first then go and watch the movie. That way the books won't be spoiled.

    Happy Reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Having just finished the Beautiful Creatures series, I was looki

    Having just finished the Beautiful Creatures series, I was looking for something similar for summer reads. The story previews and cover art were interesting and since the whole series (except for #6 which doesn't come out until 2014 by the way!) were on a featured table at the bookstore I thought it must be good. Big disappointment - BIG! Very poorly written. The plot moves very slowly. Don't know how it manages to drag out for 6 novels. Could have been done in 2 or 3. A lot of repetition fills up pages, which I really hate when reading a series. Just because Stephanie Meyers says she loved it on the cover of the books did not make it a good series to read. I am furious with myself for getting pulled in to reading it, but since I spent the money I felt I had to do something. Now I am even more upset that there is a cliffhanger at the end of #5 and you have to wait until 2014 for #6. Maybe by then I will be over it and won't be compelled to waste any more of my time and money on it.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    yeah.

    buying the whole series seperately is a lot cheaper than buying this, which excludes the fifth series. tf?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Thank God for Cassandra Clare!

    I'm addicted to Cassandra Clare and her amazing writing. She has a wonderful capacity for giving readers characters that we could only dream up. I'm so happy I found this book series and author can't wait to see what she does next!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    Phenomenal

    An absolute phenomenal series! Clare is a genius, and I can't wait to read them again!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    Highly recommend!

    I loved this series, I'm sad there aren't more than the 5.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    AMAZING!!!!!

    I have read all four books, and I still cannot get over how amazing they all were. Cassandra Clare is an amazing writer! And can't wait for May 8th when book five, City of Broken Dreams, comes out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Ice tee



    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Very good

    I had my face shoved in to this book the second i opened it. Anyone young or old could enjoy this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Amazing

    I read all theirs books there are the best even better then hunger games they keep u guessing i could not put it down the characterd are so intresting on this and there is action it keeps you going and u never know what will happen YOU SHOULD READ THIS BOOK!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    Amazing!!!

    This series is amazing!! I watched the movie today and now i am making my dad buy the second book for me bc i can not stop thinking about these books!! I am buying the solo book bc why would u pay that much when they r cheaper solo:( but the 5 stars r 4 the book:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    This book is absolutely amazing.

    This was an aawesome book. I love Clary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Absolutely amazing. A one of a kind book, and a page-turner. Ver

    Absolutely amazing. A one of a kind book, and a page-turner. Very well written and is so mesmerizing it's as if you're really there. Deserves much more than five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    IT is only 30 dollars to buy all 4 books separately!

    So dumb, why pay almost 8 dollars more than you spend fornth2m separate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Great

    This was amazing and it really got me and i became a book worm after i read these vooks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    i bought it for my daughter, coz that's what she requested. She

    i bought it for my daughter, coz that's what she requested. She likes reading fictionbooks during her spare time. It must be a good one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    I never know what to expect. As i was reading this book, it alwa

    I never know what to expect. As i was reading this book, it always kept me on my toes. When you think you know what it, you don't. I would re-read this whole serious again and again. We have mixed of everything humor, romance, action and a lot more. The books take place in New York City. Claire lives in a world of shadow hunter, Vampire and down welders. But she doesn’t know that. She doesn’t know anything about herself, but when her mother goes missing, she found out who she really is. As their searching for her mother she meets Jaces. She fall in love with Jace, but soon found out that their brother and sister. The author mad a huge twist in this. I didn’t except this. The author also gave me good images of everything. What the people look like and every room they went it, it gave clear view of the room.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 196 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10