Customer Reviews for

The Mortal Instruments Series (5 books): City of Bones; City of Ashes; City of Glass; City of Fallen Angels, City of Lost Souls

Average Rating 4.5
( 151 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(110)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great Series

I really enjoy this series and am currently working on the Internal Devices series by Cassandra Clare which follows the same story but in a previous time period. My only disappointment is I bought the set to have it because it is one of those I will read again but the b...
I really enjoy this series and am currently working on the Internal Devices series by Cassandra Clare which follows the same story but in a previous time period. My only disappointment is I bought the set to have it because it is one of those I will read again but the box the books are kept in was pretty damaged when it arrived so that was upsetting, in addition they released the set early in the stores but held off sending out the online order until after the 23rd when I pre-ordered in August. Those who pre-order should get their order fulfilled before you release in store to be fair. So ordering created concerns but the books are a great read.

posted by 16691485 on November 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I gave these as a gift. The reason for the low rating is for B&a

I gave these as a gift. The reason for the low rating is for B&N. The box was damaged when I received it. The back was broken out of it. Which should've been nearly impossible because of the fact that the plastic wrap wasn't damaged and the box it was sent in looked...
I gave these as a gift. The reason for the low rating is for B&N. The box was damaged when I received it. The back was broken out of it. Which should've been nearly impossible because of the fact that the plastic wrap wasn't damaged and the box it was sent in looked fine. So the boxed set quickly turned into handing someone 5 loose books.  They shipped this out on UPS SurePost. Which lead it to arriving late...they should have used UPS Ground seeing as I paid extra for expedited shipping, but i digress. The quality of the merchandise once I received it mixed with the poor customer service I received when trying to find where the package was. Oh I forgot to mention....the tracking number didn't register anything until it had been delivered to the post office. I ended up looking like an imbecile handing a bunch of books over as a gift I really wish that for all the money spent I would have gotten the quality that one expects from Barnes & Noble. I will NEVER buy anything off their website again. I will either go to their store or shop somewhere else entirely.

posted by ladeedah on August 2, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Great Series

    I really enjoy this series and am currently working on the Internal Devices series by Cassandra Clare which follows the same story but in a previous time period. My only disappointment is I bought the set to have it because it is one of those I will read again but the box the books are kept in was pretty damaged when it arrived so that was upsetting, in addition they released the set early in the stores but held off sending out the online order until after the 23rd when I pre-ordered in August. Those who pre-order should get their order fulfilled before you release in store to be fair. So ordering created concerns but the books are a great read.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    The Mortal Instruments



    The Mortal Instruments is a young adult paranormal romance/urban fantasy, set in a colorful version of our reality where humans walk unaware of not just the vampires, werewolves, fey and warlocks, but also demons and their part-human enemies - the Shadowhunters. The books are fast flowing with vivid characters, a lot of action, and interesting twists.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2013

    Thanks Ms. Clare! my eyes are now still hurts from intensive rea

    Thanks Ms. Clare! my eyes are now still hurts from intensive reading... kinda wished I get graded for this cos I would have got a AAA!!
     for finishing all of 5 books in 7 days, between going to school and some last min papers.  I say tonight I will get some sleep, but my sweet friend reminded me that there are pre-qual... LOL I needed to wait for summer... would be better! We will see if I could wait or not... LOLOL 

    I'm jealous!! I want Jace.. where can i find a guy like that !!? Bad boys always more commit when they are in love... problem is they usually are not LOL 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2013

    Very Nice Teen Urban Fantasy.

    Good characters.
    Good storyline.
    A few twists but predictable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    Okyky

    Ijnbjo bomb.nu.kin,bk...,o. ...kk,m,.,m u ijn g ,ju
    Kk ii....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    U

    If your going to write a review dont make it so dam long >: l

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    The City of Bones Series.

    I have found that this series is constantly pulling you in different directions. The only book that I really hated and found extremley boring was City of fallen angels. I didnt find the plot interesting and the whole thing with Lilth was upsetting. If you have given up on the series I beg you to keep reading it. I just finished Ciy of Lost Souls and I am eagerly awating the release of the 6th book. Happy reading fellow book worms!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Love the series. 

    Love the series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Wonderfully written

    This is a fantastic series! I caught the 5 box set on sale for $20 but didn't read it until after I seen the movie. Then I figured I would just read the first book to see how different it was from the movie. Not only was the book better I was HOOKED and couldn't stop until I read all 5. Haven't read the final installment yet but I'm looking forward to it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Highly Recommended - Spins a great tale!

    I wasn't sure what to expect when I got the series, but I have been pleasantly surprised, and quite happy, with the series. This is definitely a teen book, but those that love anything 'magical' would like this series too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Great book series

    I really like this series. I love the idea of the supernatural world present yet hidden from view. Good author, keeps you interested. If you like this you will love the Infernal Devices Trilogy. I read that series first and fell in love with the characters and the shadowhunter world. This series is great but the Infrernal Devises trilogy is Amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    So far it's good

    I started reading this book and I honestly didnt get into it like I thought I would. Although it had a lot of things towards the end that I wasnt expecting, I was very dissapointed to know the outcome of something mentioned, all because some A**hole decided to spoil it in one of the reviews. Its a good book, but like I said before, for some reason I couldnt get into it that much. I do plan on reading the rest of the series and hope to get into it more. I want to know more of whats going to happen. I recommend the series to people who like fantasy and a good "twist".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Recommended - entertaining, quick read

    Well-written for a young adult audience. It has an interesting premise and generally likeable characters, but is a bit predictable at times. That said, I have really enjoyed the series and hope there is more to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I can't believe I waited so long to read this book. I have to ad

    I can't believe I waited so long to read this book. I have to admitt, since there is a movie coming out about the books, it pushed me to purchase and read them. I am so glad that I did, because I loved it!! This book reminds me of Harry Potter in the sense of there being a lot of mythical creature and not focuing on vampires. Don't get me wrong I love vampires but this was a good change in pace. I would recommend anyone wants to see the movie read the book first! GREAT READ!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    YES this is all 5 books

    Haven't started reading yet but this is definitely all 5 books - great deal!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Question

    Whar books does this include??.... thanks----Erin Michele

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2