Customer Reviews for

The Mortal Instruments Series (5 books): City of Bones; City of Ashes; City of Glass; City of Fallen Angels, City of Lost Souls

Average Rating 4.5
( 151 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(110)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great Series

I really enjoy this series and am currently working on the Internal Devices series by Cassandra Clare which follows the same story but in a previous time period. My only disappointment is I bought the set to have it because it is one of those I will read again but the b...
I really enjoy this series and am currently working on the Internal Devices series by Cassandra Clare which follows the same story but in a previous time period. My only disappointment is I bought the set to have it because it is one of those I will read again but the box the books are kept in was pretty damaged when it arrived so that was upsetting, in addition they released the set early in the stores but held off sending out the online order until after the 23rd when I pre-ordered in August. Those who pre-order should get their order fulfilled before you release in store to be fair. So ordering created concerns but the books are a great read.

posted by 16691485 on November 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I gave these as a gift. The reason for the low rating is for B&a

I gave these as a gift. The reason for the low rating is for B&N. The box was damaged when I received it. The back was broken out of it. Which should've been nearly impossible because of the fact that the plastic wrap wasn't damaged and the box it was sent in looked...
I gave these as a gift. The reason for the low rating is for B&N. The box was damaged when I received it. The back was broken out of it. Which should've been nearly impossible because of the fact that the plastic wrap wasn't damaged and the box it was sent in looked fine. So the boxed set quickly turned into handing someone 5 loose books.  They shipped this out on UPS SurePost. Which lead it to arriving late...they should have used UPS Ground seeing as I paid extra for expedited shipping, but i digress. The quality of the merchandise once I received it mixed with the poor customer service I received when trying to find where the package was. Oh I forgot to mention....the tracking number didn't register anything until it had been delivered to the post office. I ended up looking like an imbecile handing a bunch of books over as a gift I really wish that for all the money spent I would have gotten the quality that one expects from Barnes & Noble. I will NEVER buy anything off their website again. I will either go to their store or shop somewhere else entirely.

posted by ladeedah on August 2, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 110 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    The love of my life

    I love love love LOVE it to death.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Lol

    Lol-all the time b/c of Jace.
    "My one true love remains mysel"
    "I turn myself down just to keep it intestring"
    Jace Wayland is a nutcase,but he loves Clary,so how can I complain?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    5 Stars!!!!

    These books are wonderful.... I just couldn't put them down!!!! Now I'm impaciantly waiting for The City of Heavenly Fire to come out!!!! Can't wait to see what thwy do to Sebastian.... B.T.W. I LOVE JACE!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautifully written - Deception, action, romance. Impossible to put down!

    Very creative and full of action, young romance, and surprises on nearly every page! Cassandra Clare's writing is so beautiful and descriptive that when she describes the people and places in the book you feel like you have an intimate relationship of your own with the characters and "Cities". Very hard to stop reading and put down the books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2013

    5 Star enjoyment

    I have enjoyed these book throughly
    I hope the author (Cassandra Clare) has more of this to come.
    I highly recommened these to everyone with a fanciful heart and mind
    not just the younger set. Enjoy!

    Susieq11

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    I was a little skeptical about reading these at first. I hadn't

    I was a little skeptical about reading these at first. I hadn't really heard much about them before the movie (serious fans don't shoot!). After seeing the movie, which I really enjoyed, I decided to give the books a try. They are really great books. The writing style makes these books a quick read without seeming childish or like they were expressly written for teenagers. The content constantly keeps you guessing, and it is really very easy to become emotionally invested in the characters and their lives. Overall, it was a very pleasant surprise to know that these are wonderful books. I would definitely recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Mortal Instruments

    Im ten and in three days i finished the city of bones. I have also read the harry potter series 20 or so times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    If you like the Twilight series you will love the Mortal Instruments. Cassandra Clare is a brilliant writer. I really can't wait to read more from her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Amazing

    Best

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

     

     

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    To much better than twilight

    Lily collins is 24 and so is jamie campbell bower who played clary and jace. Not sure about the others ages.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Much better than twilight

    After seeing the movie I decided to read the book. I'm surprised that the book starts in the Pandemonieum and not at her house. The movie was fantastic, exciting, and thrilling. I was at the edge of my seat wondering what was going to happen next. I thought it was strange, cute, and vastly interesting to find out the that Clary had fallen in love with her brother. All in all he was really cute. I mean he was hot. There was absolutly no doubt that I couldn't wait for the two of them to kiss, but finding out afterward that they are brother and sister. It kind of weirds you out. "If I was Clary I would be all over him. I wonder how old the guy is?" This is what my sister told me to write. I also wonder how old she is. I'm a seventeen year old so I wonder how old the girl who played Clary is?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Love it

    Great books

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Jace

    Jace is really cute and this book is awesome

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Love it!

    Best series in the world! Can't wait for the next book in the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Wow#?

    What?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Great Read!!!!!!!!!

    from book one all the way through book five you will be captivated. Read all five books in least then 3 weeks. I can't wait to see the movie, Hope it stays true the books. Praying that there will be a sixth book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    PERFECT!

    PERFECT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    New RP

    So I have decided to make an RP for this series and it is in Fire result 2 if you want you can put a bio in result 3 and anyone can join.

    -High Warlock of Fire,
    Fyre Bane

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 110 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6