Customer Reviews for

The Mother Road

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Loved this book!!! Although it dealt with some serious, tough is

Loved this book!!! Although it dealt with some serious, tough issues, the tone was light, breezy, and thoroughly enjoyable. It held my interest from start to finish. I can't say that about many books these days. The journey along route 66 was tons of fun, and I loved th...
Loved this book!!! Although it dealt with some serious, tough issues, the tone was light, breezy, and thoroughly enjoyable. It held my interest from start to finish. I can't say that about many books these days. The journey along route 66 was tons of fun, and I loved the sassy first person narrator. This one is a keeper!

posted by Danzingfool on June 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Looked fun. Was preachy.

Looked fun. Was preachy.

posted by 9369565 on August 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    Loved this book!!! Although it dealt with some serious, tough is

    Loved this book!!! Although it dealt with some serious, tough issues, the tone was light, breezy, and thoroughly enjoyable. It held my interest from start to finish. I can't say that about many books these days. The journey along route 66 was tons of fun, and I loved the sassy first person narrator. This one is a keeper!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great read

    Great book about finding a friendship you thought was lost, loving, forgiving, admitting you were wrong and standing by the ones you love.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Great

    Good read about love forgiveness

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Great Book

    I really enjoyed seeing where this adventure was going to lead. Keeps you wanting to know more all through the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    this book went very fast. Easy to read and interesting. I lik


    this book went very fast. Easy to read and interesting. I like road trip books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Looked fun. Was preachy.

    Looked fun. Was preachy.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    great read.

    this was a good book for fun. very enjoyable!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    4.5 stars

    If you've ever asked the question "How could God mean anything good to come of my bad experience?", you should enjoy this book. A real hidden gem.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Mother Road by Jennifer AlLee First thing that interested m

    The Mother Road by Jennifer AlLee
    First thing that interested me about his book was Route 66. Tom Brockaw had done a special on TV about the places on that route.
    Natalie Marino married for 18 ears had the perfect welcome home dinner ready on the table when her husband came home from his business trip. Instead he informs her he's with his assistant and she is pregant and he, Tony wants a divorce.
    She is a Christian romance writer, how to books about marriage and how will others see her now that she won't even be married?
    Jade her assistant helps pack up and move his clothes to the porch and even finds her a lawyer.
    Nat stops at her sisters apartment an hour away and finds her things packed, a bruise under her eye and 4 months pregnant. She convinces her their Dad needs them to come home to see their Mother while she may still remember who they are.
    The start out at Santa Monica Pier and travel along Rt 66 to get to their parents home in Illinois.
    Upon after an elderly couple take a video of them standing near the sign they find out their car with all of Lindsay's belongings is stolen.
    They get a nice convertible with a radio as a loaner.
    Fascinating thing is the travel agent has highlighted all the places along 66 that they just must stop at. While Nat is videotaping she reads along from the tour guide so I feel like I'm seeing/hearing about the places as if I am right there.
    As the sisters have not been in contact with one another the trip is going to be a long one especially when Lindsay is 4 months pregnant and always has to use the bathroom.
    Sleep in a Wigwam has got to be the ultimate thing to do driving cross country! Sisters are bonding and talking more as they also sightsee along their journey.
    Upon arriving home they see for themselves what the disease has done to their mother.
    They have a lot to work through but with faith anything is possible....

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2013

    I honestly had no idea what I would think of this book, but the

    I honestly had no idea what I would think of this book, but the author immediately got my attention with the terms writer and divorce. Imagine a Christian romance novelist and marriage author/speaker who is blindsided with her husband's affair and divorce. Being a Christian divorcee myself, this instantly struck a nerve with me. And although my ex never cheated on me, the whole issue of 
    Christians getting divorced struck a nerve with me.




    I absolutely loved the characters Natalie, Lindsay, and Adam. I fell in love with Adam as I wondered if men like him existed. And I could sympathize with Natalie as she tried to sort herself out. And poor Lindsay. She seemed so helpless but ended up being so strong.




    The part about Alzheimers intrigued me as well due to our family history. My heart broke every timne Meredith forgot yet another part of her life. It was sometimes hard to read, and I can only hope and pray this never happens to someone I love. But if it does, may I react as God would have me.




    I was not really too excited about traveling Route 66. I have been on parts of that road, but it did not capture my attention. I was more intrigued with how God worked on the sisters during their road trip. Infact, it was nice yet again to read a book that allowed God to break through its pages without being preachy.




    While this is not a deep book--definitely a nice, light read--I would love to see the author write a sequel so we can see how the characters go on to accomplish their individual struggles.




    I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are 100 percent mine, and I was not financially compensated.
    flag

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    I enjoyed it

    Quick read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Good read. Enjoyable

    Good read. Enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Great read

    Thoroughly enjoyed reading this one. The author addressed some very immportant issues facing us in todays' world. I would love to see a sequel to find out more about Lindsay & Ben, and to see what's in store for Natalie & Adam.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Finding a new way forward

    Families in crisis need additional help, and this is where the main character finds herself. Her personal life is in the dumper and her mom has Alzheimer's Disease. Her reaction to these events propell the action in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Anonymous

    I liked it very much, a well written, thoughtful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Highly recoommend

    Very good christian read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Good story

    Some heavy issues in this book, but the author manages to add humour and even a little romance mixed in with a difficult family dynamic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Recommend

    Family relationships --- relevant and fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Fun adventure

    I was surprised that this book was more about sisters re-connecting than mother/child, but it was a delightful book that I devoured and enjoyed thoroughly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    Great read

    This isn't generally the kind of book that I read but I couldn't put it down. It was a completely relatable story even if you haven't been through what she is going through or even have a sister. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3