Customer Reviews for

The Mourning Hours

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I recently received this book as part of the Goodreads First Rea

I recently received this book as part of the Goodreads First Reads and boy am I glad I did! I was a little wary when I saw that it was a Harlequin book because I usually try to avoid those types of books but it was not what I expected from a Harlequin at all. The Mourni...
I recently received this book as part of the Goodreads First Reads and boy am I glad I did! I was a little wary when I saw that it was a Harlequin book because I usually try to avoid those types of books but it was not what I expected from a Harlequin at all. The Mourning Hours tells the story of what happened the year Kirsten was 9 years old. The author hooks you at the very beginning when Kirsten returns home for the first time in a very long time and you just know something bad happened that has caused her to stay away. As we learn about Kirsten's past you get sucked into her world. You feel like you are this 9 year old girl who is too young to really understand what is going on. When everything begins to fall apart you understand and feel her confusion.

Once I hit about the halfway point I could not put this book down. I was wrapped up in the mystery, trying to figure out what had really happened, who was guilty and who wasn't. And then once I reached the end and found out the truth, I was shocked, just like the characters in the book. the author does a fantastic job of keeping you on the edge of your seat and wanting more while wondering exactly what happened. If you love crime shows and mysteries, this is a must read!

posted by eal617 on June 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

2 and a half stars :/

This book is not as good as i had expected it to be. It seemed to drag on for a while without getting anywhere. Stacy is one of the only characters that had any descriptive features. It is hard to visualize the other characters because they are not clearly defined. It w...
This book is not as good as i had expected it to be. It seemed to drag on for a while without getting anywhere. Stacy is one of the only characters that had any descriptive features. It is hard to visualize the other characters because they are not clearly defined. It was very hard for me to get into this book and i am disappointed that it got such great reviews. Its nothing more than average to me.

posted by Anonymous on August 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    I recently received this book as part of the Goodreads First Rea

    I recently received this book as part of the Goodreads First Reads and boy am I glad I did! I was a little wary when I saw that it was a Harlequin book because I usually try to avoid those types of books but it was not what I expected from a Harlequin at all. The Mourning Hours tells the story of what happened the year Kirsten was 9 years old. The author hooks you at the very beginning when Kirsten returns home for the first time in a very long time and you just know something bad happened that has caused her to stay away. As we learn about Kirsten's past you get sucked into her world. You feel like you are this 9 year old girl who is too young to really understand what is going on. When everything begins to fall apart you understand and feel her confusion.

    Once I hit about the halfway point I could not put this book down. I was wrapped up in the mystery, trying to figure out what had really happened, who was guilty and who wasn't. And then once I reached the end and found out the truth, I was shocked, just like the characters in the book. the author does a fantastic job of keeping you on the edge of your seat and wanting more while wondering exactly what happened. If you love crime shows and mysteries, this is a must read!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    2 and a half stars :/

    This book is not as good as i had expected it to be. It seemed to drag on for a while without getting anywhere. Stacy is one of the only characters that had any descriptive features. It is hard to visualize the other characters because they are not clearly defined. It was very hard for me to get into this book and i am disappointed that it got such great reviews. Its nothing more than average to me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Recommend this book.

    I'm from the area where this story takes place. The author was featured in an article in our local newspaper, so I was curious about this book.
    I was not disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Excellant read

    A book you cant stop reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Excellent read!

    This book grips your interest right from the start. One of the best books I have read so far this summer!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    I can't wait for her future books. Loved this one.

    I can't wait for her future books. Loved this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    My daughter recommended this book to me. She was right, I really

    My daughter recommended this book to me. She was right, I really enjoyed reading it. Once I got started it was hard to put down. The story is told from the view point of nine year old Kirsten. She feels responsible in some ways for the tragedy that strikes their family when her brother's girlfriend disappears and suspicion falls on him. Kirsten thinks she is the one who helped them get together. She also feels guilty about incidents she witnesses but does not understand. The story resolves years later when the family reunites and returns to the small town where it all happened.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2014

    I loved this book! It was a very well written novel about a fam

    I loved this book! It was a very well written novel about a family who were very close and after one accident, changed their lives forever and a young man's future torn. I started this book and after the first 20 pages, was hooked and couldn't put down. It wound thru your heart thru the very end. Fantastic author, can't wait for her next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    This author wrote an excellent book and i had such a hard time

    putting this book down. I have already checked o see what else she has written and its on a pre order and can't wait to read it!! buy this book and u won't be sorry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Outt

    Forget it. Result five.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Great Read! Captivating and great storyline

    Enjoyed this book. Characters were realistic and storyline moved quickly. Enjoyed plot and details. Would recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Fox 嫗

    Sup.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Nightlock

    Waits

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    DeepThorn

    He laid beside his ma<_>te, his tail on her shoulder

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    OutCast

    Hmm...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Silv

    Kk

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Great book!

    Very emotional and thought-provoking. Couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Song to Mourn

    Theres freedom in the shelter of lord, I have seen the healing hand of god! Hnd mending broken hearts an hold on to whats being held out, the healing hand of god. Ive touched touched the stars apon his hands to see if they were real, when it feels like no one understands your pain just remember all the suffering god has felt for you,because i have seen the healing hand of god being held out. He mends the broken and heals the blind, oh i have seen! the healing hand of god! re-aching out, and mending broken hearts! ticks and see, the fullness of his peace. hold on to whats being held out... the healing hand of goooooood....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    I really like this story!

    I really like this story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Great Story

    This book kept me guessing at all times. Who was the killer. The characters and circumstances were very realistic. I can usually figure out the killer but not with this one and I love that! Surprise ending. Well worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2