Customer Reviews for

The Mummy, or Ramses the Damned

Average Rating 4.5
( 118 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Do not overlook.

Anne Rice maybe known for the Vampire Lestat, but this was beautifully written and well worth the read. You will find yourself imagining the main character as Antonio Banderas with piercing blue eyes. I found myself drawn into the story and feeling empathy for the reani...
Anne Rice maybe known for the Vampire Lestat, but this was beautifully written and well worth the read. You will find yourself imagining the main character as Antonio Banderas with piercing blue eyes. I found myself drawn into the story and feeling empathy for the reanimated / non dead. I don't recommend books converted to film as they are usually butchered by screen writers/ directors/producers or bad acting- this is one I would like to see come to the screen.

posted by muktownmomma on July 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good, but not her best.

I wouldn't suggest this as a person's first Anne Rice book--my recommendations would be Servant of the Bones, Cry to Heaven, or Interview with the Vampire. The Mummy is a very light book. Yes, the themes of immortality and its consequences are still there, but this st...
I wouldn't suggest this as a person's first Anne Rice book--my recommendations would be Servant of the Bones, Cry to Heaven, or Interview with the Vampire. The Mummy is a very light book. Yes, the themes of immortality and its consequences are still there, but this story is nowhere near as dark as her other books. The other books are more Gothic in nature, while this could almost be called a romance novel. Having said that, the characters are good, and I enjoyed the plot. What made this go from four stars to three was the cliffhanger ending. Note to authors: you do not need a cliffhanger ending to ensure that people will keep buying your books. If your writing is good enough and the story is compelling, people will read it.

posted by 8120506 on July 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Do not overlook.

    Anne Rice maybe known for the Vampire Lestat, but this was beautifully written and well worth the read. You will find yourself imagining the main character as Antonio Banderas with piercing blue eyes. I found myself drawn into the story and feeling empathy for the reanimated / non dead. I don't recommend books converted to film as they are usually butchered by screen writers/ directors/producers or bad acting- this is one I would like to see come to the screen.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2001

    A new rendering of the Mummy

    The Mummy. We all watched it growing up. The book begins in Egypt in the 1920's with an archeologist on a dig south of Cario where they come across a great tomb and written upon it in three different languages dating thousands of years apart is a warning/curse that to disturb this tomb will wake it's occupents whose wrath cannot be contained. This is the resting places of 'Ramses the Damned'. We learn that Ramses ingested an immortality elixir which he took from the Hittites. Having grown tired, he sleeps for 1000 years when Cleopatra awakes him. He, of course, is in love with her, as were all the great men of the time. He offers her immortality, but instead she opts for sucide instead of being taken as a prisoner to Rome. He awakes in London almost 2000 years later. Ramses exhibits human natures and qualities and falls in love. Though he is enjoying his lofe, Ramses feels that he must avenge the death of the man that found his tomb and he must say to Egypt before he can start a new life. But while in Egypt he finds the body of his one true love. Read the book to find out what happens. This book is not your normal mummy story. I would have rated it 5 stars; but the ending is a bit open, suggesting a sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2013

    Very Enjoyable Read

    Being accustomed to Mummy movies I found this book to be a totally pleasant surprise!

    Picture a hot looking Mummy (Ramses the Great) that returns to life and instantly captures the attention of women (in particular Julie Stratford). Now add to the plot a love story, really nasty characters, a growing body count, corporate scheming to get control of a shipping company by marrying into the family and you have <i> The Mummy </i>.

    I wouldn't call it a fast read but I found it to be very enjoyable and nearly impossible to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2009

    anne rice is compelling

    loved this book like the rest of her writing on witches and vampires

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2005

    Underrated

    While it may not be as well written as other of Rice's works, The Mummy still plays to the intrigue of ancient Egypt and combines that with a modern romance. What person doesn't want to be Ramsey in some way? And what person doesn't want to be swept off their feet by love and by a world of adventure? It's one of my favorite books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2004

    Another Anne Rice Hit

    After Queen of the Damned broke sales records and put Anne Rice on the top 10 sales chart for seemingly endless months, she followed it with a new book, The Mummy, or Ramses the Damned. This was another top 10 visit, despite not selling the way its predecessor did. This book is worth giving a look however. I won't give anything away though. It gives a new look at Cleopatra, at Ancient Egypt, and Anne Rice tackles her favorite people: the immortal. A good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2003

    Mesmerizing!

    Mummy is truly GREAT!!! The characters (esp. Ramses) are seductive.... Unfortunately, the ending does not give us any closure. I cold only wish for a sequel or something like that...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2003

    Great Mummy

    This book gives readers a new vision on mummy stories and does a good job at it. This was the first book i read from anne rice and it really captivate me, great story wonderfull characters and a mix of horror and romance. I reccomend this book if you are looking for different mummy story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2002

    Charming

    Though I felt the characters in this book had little depth to them, they were all incredibly charming. The story line was slightly predictable, but all in all it still remains one of my favorite novels, whether for a rainy-day distraction or merely for a need to escape the real world for a bit. I also enjoyed Ramses childlike enthusiasm for the 'modern' world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2000

    Fascinating but a dry story line

    I just started reading Anne Rice's books under the influence of my 7th grade Art teacher and a couple of friends. I read Violin and that was captivating, but The Mummy disappointed me a little. The charactures were a tad boring and had no real depth to them but I loved the Egyptian setting maybe the sequel will be better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2000

    Awesome, thrlling, romantic

    This has to be my favorite of Anne Rice's books. A bit slow in the begining getting to know the chaacters, but as soon as Ramses 'awakens' I could hardly put the book down. Anne, when do we see the sequel! Im looking forward to what Ramses, Julie, her Uncle and Cleopatra have in store for us!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2