Customer Reviews for

The Mummy, or Ramses the Damned

Average Rating 4.5
( 115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Do not overlook.

Anne Rice maybe known for the Vampire Lestat, but this was beautifully written and well worth the read. You will find yourself imagining the main character as Antonio Banderas with piercing blue eyes. I found myself drawn into the story and feeling empathy for the reani...
Anne Rice maybe known for the Vampire Lestat, but this was beautifully written and well worth the read. You will find yourself imagining the main character as Antonio Banderas with piercing blue eyes. I found myself drawn into the story and feeling empathy for the reanimated / non dead. I don't recommend books converted to film as they are usually butchered by screen writers/ directors/producers or bad acting- this is one I would like to see come to the screen.

posted by muktownmomma on July 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good, but not her best.

I wouldn't suggest this as a person's first Anne Rice book--my recommendations would be Servant of the Bones, Cry to Heaven, or Interview with the Vampire. The Mummy is a very light book. Yes, the themes of immortality and its consequences are still there, but this st...
I wouldn't suggest this as a person's first Anne Rice book--my recommendations would be Servant of the Bones, Cry to Heaven, or Interview with the Vampire. The Mummy is a very light book. Yes, the themes of immortality and its consequences are still there, but this story is nowhere near as dark as her other books. The other books are more Gothic in nature, while this could almost be called a romance novel. Having said that, the characters are good, and I enjoyed the plot. What made this go from four stars to three was the cliffhanger ending. Note to authors: you do not need a cliffhanger ending to ensure that people will keep buying your books. If your writing is good enough and the story is compelling, people will read it.

posted by 8120506 on July 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2000

    Ramses

    I enjoy all of Anne Rice books, but this book is at the top of my list. You fall in love with this man. I can wait for the sequel. I have given this book to so many people and they all love it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    THE.BEST.BOOK.EVER.

    Omg, where do I begin. I own two copies of this book; have read them at least 5 times. I.LOVE.THIS.BOOK.

    I absolutely love ancient Egyptian history and was very excited to discover this book years ago. I hadn't seen anyone use the subject in fiction writing before, and this book was everything I could dream this kind of work should be.

    Exciting, mysterious, electrifying, sexy, captivating, smart, hypnotizing, alluring, all around FANTASTIC!

    I believe this is one of the best books ever written. I recommend this book to EVERYONE.

    Thank you Anne Rice for a phenominal peace of brilliance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Highly Recommended

    Anne Rice really hit one out of the park with this story! "The Mummy" is totally captivating from page one right through to "THE END." It is heartwarming, it is thrilling, it is exciting, and it will keep you on the edge of your seat throughout. Extremely hard to put down; you just want to keep reading. One of the most amazing stories I have ever read and the lady has a totally beautiful writing style, too. If you like thrillers, if you like mysteries, if you like romances, if you like a little bit of history and travel, this is THE book to read next. Hopefully, there will be a sequel to this marvelous story one day!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Loved it.

    The best ann rice book...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Great read

    This book was the first book i read by Anne Rice and still my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    I have always loved Anne Rice's work from her Sleeping Beauty to

    I have always loved Anne Rice's work from her Sleeping Beauty to The Witching Hour but the Mummy holds a special place in my heart. It is one book that I always hope she would write more books on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Great book

    My favorite Ann Rice book. Wish she had written
    more with this story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Fantastic read!!

    Done as only Anne Rice can do it. This book is suspenseful, romantic, and just plain Interesting, from start to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    awesome

    love this book and could not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    THIS BOOK IS SO WONDERFUL. THE WAY ANNE RICE WRITES IS JUST PURE

    THIS BOOK IS SO WONDERFUL. THE WAY ANNE RICE WRITES IS JUST PURE MAGICAL GENIUS!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    This is a keeper

    My daughter and I got this when it first came out. I've read it several times but she took the book. Found it again in paperback and have that stored away, now I am downloading it to my nook.
    I love reading this, I think it is a must for any body

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    Mummys Rule

    Read this when it first came out. This is the book that got me hooked on the author.MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    Excellent Book!

    This is one of my all-time favorites. I've read it at least four times, not only because it is a good story, but the whole premise of the book is so thought provoking. Excellent read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2006

    great story

    I am a huge Anne Rice fan and I loved this book. It's not as in depth as some of her other books, but was originally written as a movie plot, but she changed it to a novel when they wanted too many changes. A great book with great characters, places, and storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2005

    Love this book

    I loved this book! I just got finished reading it today and i want more. I've been obsessed with ancient Egypt since I was 7 years old and this book just adds some more fantasy to my creative little mind. Critics just don't know what they're saying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2005

    Waiting for the sequel

    Absolutely loved this book. Read it a few years ago and if I recall she promised more.Anne if you're out there, please write a follow up. This book keeps your attention all the way through. A must read if you're an Anne Rice fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2004

    Anne Rice has done it again!!..

    WoW!..This was an incredible story. One of her best novels. It was so thrilling, suspensful & seductive. I truely loved it. This was the first time that anyone ever made a mummy really sexy. So hats off for Mrs. Anne Rice! For her lovely outstanding new view of Ancient Egypt and the Mummy. This is definately a must read. Trust me you wont regret it. After I finished reading this book, I feel inlove with Ramses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2003

    This is my all time favorite Anne Rice book

    One of the best books I have ever read. There is not too much of a horror twist on it. What I like most is the fact unlike the vampires of her other novels who, even though it is difficult, can be killed or take their own lives if they truly wanted to, here is a charater that wanted to die but couldn't no matter what. In reality, can you imagine what that would be like to always watch others die around you and never be able to follow. The whole time I read this I had a perfect image in my head of everything. She did so well with descriptions and the plot to keep you interested. I was thinking, the entire time I was reading, that this would make a great movie. This book will not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2003

    Great Book!

    I truely enjoyed this read. Heart pumping and engaging I was very disappointed when the end came. I was also heart broken to the reality that there was not a sequel or anything that could compare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2003

    The Mummy is Back

    This book puts a new spin on mummies. It is seducing and entrancing. The only downfall to this book is the ending(There must be a sequel). If only it was longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4