Customer Reviews for

The Murder of Bindy Mackenzie

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting

    I really enjoyed this book. It is written in a very unusual format, made completely out of letters, transcripts, e-mails ect. I thought about giving it up in the beg. because it was kind of boring but I swear to you it does pick up. I would recomend it. It's about this girl Bindy's FAD group(Friends and Development) and a secret plot to put an end to Bindy once and for all. Or is it? It definitly keeps you guessing till the end and I really liked it. :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Iffy on this one

    I liked it overall, it was just waaaaayyy too long. Plus, I didn't really like Bindy half the time. If you've read her other books, I would say give this one a try too. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    A good book that will make you gasp and laugh at the same time

    Bindy Mackenzie is the smartest girl in Year 11 and because of that and her over confidence level she doesn't that many friends and explains why someone would want to kill Bindy. As she becomes involve with her school group FAD (Friendship and Development) she slowly loses her high grades and her health but at the same time gains some new friends who believe that Bindy is getting poisoined and now everyones asking the same question, "Who's Bindy's Murderer?" Moriarty gives great detail on all of the characters, vivid description but sometimes elaborated for way to long but the wait is worth it. I would recommend this book for the patient hearted people who love a mysterious suspense story. This is my first Jaclyn Moriarty book and now I want to read more of her books :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    this book is made of awesome

    This book was great. The things that really made me like this novel as much as I did was Bindy herself. I mean, come on. Have you ever seen anyone like Bindy in a book before? ... Okay, maybe you have, but that's not the point, you know what I mean. Plus, i liked, just, the plot and everything, and how ms. moriarty can blend it all together. so anyways, this book is made of awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Murder of Bindy Mackenzie Review.

    I just finished reading Jaclyn Moriarty's book, The Murder of Bindy Mackenzie. The Murder of Bindy Mackenzie is a Teen Fiction, Mystery novel. The main character of the novel is Bindy Mackenzie. She is an Australian girl, who attends Ashbury High School in Sydney, Australia. Bindy Mackenzie is a junior in high school. She is ranked number one in the junior class at Ashbury. Jaclyn Moriarty introduces Bindy Mackenzie through a series of diary entries, transcripts, and reports that she makes up that Bindy Mackenzie has written. Bindy Mackenzie is a unique type of girl. She has her hair in these funky kinds of hair styles, and yet is super smart. You may think she is weird and does not really belong, but really she is the same person that you are. The story of Bindy Mackenzie mainly takes place at Ashbury High School or in Bindys room at her Aunt Valerie's and Uncle Jacks house. You never really know where the setting is unless you read it one of the many diary entries or the transcripts, but everything in on Bindy Mackenzie's laptop.
    The Murder of Bindy Mackenzie has a lot of twist and turns in the story. Bindy is this academic girl who works hard for her grades and always gets in the 99.9 percentile in every single class she has. She has the most perfect life someone like Bindy could have then all of a sudden when she in enrolled in this class call Friendship and Development (aka FAD) everything goes downhill. She has these hallucinogens, starts getting sick, missing school, and not turning her homework. No one knows what is wrong with Bindy Mackenzie, not even herself.
    Jaclyn Moriarty used lots of diary entries and transcripts to tell this story. She also used some foreshadowing to tell about some of the events that happen in the middle of the book and that reappear in the end of the book. In the book, The Murder of Bindy Mackenzie, Jaclyn Moriarty uses some Suspense to keep us in the book, about how Bindy Mackenzie ends up listening to something that she should not have heard of. Jaclyn Moriarty also uses Figurative Language throughout the book. She has Bindy Mackenzie use words that are not fitting in to her age and more of the age of an adult.
    The point of view of the Murder of Bindy Mackenzie is in first person. I think that this point of view is important. If it were to be in a different point of view it would be totally different story and not make much sense. The story relies on Bindy Mackenzie to tell the story. There is one point in the story were that changes because Bindy Mackenzie has a very big issue that occurs.
    I recommend this book to anyone who has read any of Jaclyn Moriarty's books and enjoys them; I know I enjoy her books. Also, if you read teen fiction or even like a little mystery about teenagers you should try this book and I think you will enjoy it. I give this book thumbs up. I enjoyed reading it, keep me wanting to keep reading it and I never wanted to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by The Compulsive Reader for TeensReadToo.com

    Bindy Mackenzie--student extraordinaire and perfectionist--is the heroine in this follow-up novel to Moriarty's FEELING SORRY FOR CELIA and THE YEAR OF SECRET ASSIGNMENTS. <BR/><BR/>Bindy is thrown when she is placed in FAD--Friendship and Development class. It doesn't make any sense! Who would rip away her study period so thoughtlessly? And what could she possibly learn from the other students in her class? <BR/><BR/>But could Bindy actually be so perfect that someone wants to kill her? And if so, the only people who can figure out who the perp is in time are the classmates that Bindy underestimated and alienated. <BR/><BR/>Laugh-out-loud funny, Moriarty doesn't disappoint. Full of her trademark intricate plot twists, quick wit, and told entirely in transcripts, journal entries, and letters, this novel gives a perfectly honest portrayal of teen life that is appropriate for even younger readers. Bindy Mackenzie will keep you guessing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2008

    Good Book

    This book was good, its about this girl, Bindy Mackenzie, and her friendship and development (FAD) class. its all about that class and an evil plot that involoves people who should be innocent people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2008

    This book is Wonderful for Teens!

    When I read this book in 2007 I couldn't keep my eyes off of it. I read it until my sister screamed and told me to turn off the light and if I got up early I would read until breakfast. This book had suspense,danger,love,trust, and downright wonderful moments. I love the little times when the kids wrote anonymous notes to eachother. I knew who was trying to murder Bindy several chapters before the end. I loved it! The end suprised me even though! LOVED IT!I recommend it deeply.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2008

    A reviewer

    This is the WORST book i have EVER read. I know that sounds harsh, but it is true. The whole book you read about her life, second by horrible second. Which you know, that doesn't sound that bad, but her life is, frankly, boring! I did not enjoy this book AT ALL! I would not reccomend it to anybody, it's a waste of money, in my opinion. I regret buying it completely!!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    DO NOT STOP READING THIS!

    This book is amazing! Dont let the reletivly slow start fool you, if you keep reading you will be pleasantly surprised!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    Murder shouldn't be this fun. . .

    Bindy Mackenzie does NOT understand how she was placed into the FAD (Friendship and Development) class that she was. When Ashbury High School in Sydney, Australia goes to a new curriculum designed to help students with their interpersonal lives, Bindy protests¿and loudly. It just isn¿t academic, and she loathes her other seven classmates. Source documents from the life of Bindy Mackenzie paint the picture of a student who is annoyingly perfect and particularly judgmental of her cohorts. This is ultimately a mystery, but provides a self-portrait of personal growth and awareness that is actually fun to read. One of the greatest lessons of the book is that there can be more than one way to interpret the behavior of the people who surround us. This would be a great book for discussing interpersonal relations as well as psychological concepts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2007

    Attention All Readers!!!! READ THIS BOOK!!!!

    OMG!!!! This book was SOOOOOOOOOOO good. All teenagers who love a great mystery and a high school life will love tbis book. Yall have no idea how great it is until you read it. Seriously, it's worth it because you never expect most of the things that happen in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2007

    SOO GOOD!! FINISH THE BOOK!!

    The first 3/4 or so of the book go pretty slow but the very end is SO good and exciting. When you finish it you realize why it is so long: EVERY detail is important to the plot!! i DEFINITELY recommend this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2007

    Wow!

    This book is the greatest!! It should totally be made into a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2007

    LOVED it!

    I loved this book! Its now one of my favs. Its a story about a girl Bindy Mackenzie her life, family, and school, told through letters and dairys. It really is a lovely book. If you love teen fic CHECK OUT THIS BOOK. Trust me. I'm not one to go on and rave about a book like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2007

    It was slow

    This was a good book, the plot was well thought out and very complex. It was witty and i liked the main character... she did develop and grow as a person throughout the book. However, isn't there always one of those, I did think the book was too long for the mystery. I really didn't get enthralled in it until the last 150 pages or so. If the author would have made you a little more aware of what was happening it would've been an easier read. I do have this to say... If you have already read half of this book and gave up pick it up again and finish it! The end makes up for all the boring stuff and plus the las page makes you feel warm and fuzzy...haha.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2006

    good book

    this was a very good book with an interesting ending. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who would like a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2007

    NOT SO GOOD... BORING

    I found this book very boring, and not just because of the length. Halfway through I put it down, and still have not picked it back up. I am dreading finishing this book. I would not recomend this book to anyone interested in being excited. This book is the slowest read ever. Not an exciting book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2006

    Page Turner.

    This book is amazing. Really, I couldn't stop reading. The only girl from the pervious books who is [really, really] in it is Emily, but it's still really good. Worth reading, I think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2006

    Okay.

    this book was okay but it wasnt what i thought it would be.it had a really good ending though,it will totally take u by surprise!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2