Customer Reviews for

The Murmurings

Average Rating 4
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    The dialogue isn't the best, but everything else is perfect. Thi

    The dialogue isn't the best, but everything else is perfect. This story makes you feel crazy because you don't know if you should believe it's schizophrenia or something else. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    I like this book. Like a lot. I was looking for Young Adult book

    I like this book. Like a lot. I was looking for Young Adult book that wasn't just paranormal romance. I found this book and though it has romance, this book is based in about the bond between sisters. It has horror elements. It is very good :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    I have been venturing into Young Adult supernatural literature r

    I have been venturing into Young Adult supernatural literature recently just to expand my horizons. I decided to read The Murmurings for a few reasons. First of all, I know the author. Secondly, the story is realistic in a supernatural way – making it much more of a thriller. Lastly, the typeface and layout of the book is easy on the eyes (I’m an “older” reader) and it came with a bookmark that matched the book. The last reason enhanced my reading experience beyond the words and story line.

    The main character in The Murmurings is Sophie. Her world is in turmoil. Her sister, Nell, had been committed to a mental hospital because she was hearing voices, A few months ago, Nell died while under a doctor’s care at the hospital. They said she committed suicide, but Sophie doesn’t believe it and she is determined to find out the truth. Her mother dealt with Nell’s death by drinking. Recently, Sophie also started hearing voices and seeing frightening images in the mirror. Was she going crazy, too? Was she going to be committed? What happened to Nell and what really went on in that hospital?

    It can be more frightening to be out of touch with reality than being chased by vampires or mythical creatures. All the scary parts of the story came from the imagination of some of the characters. The Murmurings succeeded in keeping my heart thumping as I stayed up half the night reading the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Absolutely fantastic ¿ I couldn't put it down!

    Absolutely fantastic ¿ I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ever since I first looked at the cover of The Murmurings by Carl

    Ever since I first looked at the cover of The Murmurings by Carly Anne West I’ve been so interested in getting to read the novel. The brief description I got off the internet had me so intrigued and what I got from the novel itself was nothing like what I expected. I got scared. I got caught up in the romance. I got pulled into a novel that pulled me in deep and never let go.

    The Murmurings focuses on the life of main character Sophie David whose sister Nell once heard voices in her head that she claimed weren’t her own. These voices lead her to a mental institution and after running away with a member of the staff Nell is found dead. Sophie has been a target of bullying ever since her sister went crazy and is used to being alone, after her sister’s death her mother became an alcoholic and left Sophie to care for herself. When Sophie begins to hear the same whispering voices that drove her sister insane, she finds herself in the same position her sister was in: Stuck inside of a mental institution and discovering something dark… the murmuring in her head is definitely the work of an outside force. Of the Taker. The head of the mental hospital has gone insane himself with an obsession that involves Sophie’s uncanny ability to hear the Taker’s murmuring and a woman who wants to run the hospital in her own way all have it out for Sophie. It will take everything in her to end the Taker’s reign of terror or else she’ll succumb to its dark promises like those before her.

    The Murmurings is a lot of things, it’s the story of; Obsession, insanity and creatures outside the realm of normal. I have never read a novel that has frightened me so much as The Murmurings has. I’m used to the psychological thriller scene and I’m loving that it’s entered the YA universe. The Murmurings is a novel that deserves its own film adaptation, it’s intense and the way that West writes her more heart-pounding scenes leave you on the edge of your seat. I for one, adored the scenes when the Taker is present and visible. The monster that is the Taker should frighten every reader and should leave you afraid to look into a mirror and constantly wondering if the voice in your head (especially the one helping you read all of this) is really your own.

    The protagonist in The Murmurings is one that is worth your time to fall in love with. Sophie David is the type of character that every reader (either male or female) can relate to in some way or form. A big thing with Sophie is the boy she ends up romantically involved with. The romance in the novel is the type that leaves you going “Awww” and also has a sense of realism and mystery. There’s still the question of Evan possibly only involving himself with Sophie to find his long lost cousin Deb, but he’s too loveable for his motives to have ever been in the wrong place, right?

    I’m the type of person who is easily frightened by some of the smallest things, that being said I’ve always had the one nightmare where I look up into a mirror and somebody is in the reflection behind me (possibly holding a knife or smiling). The Murmurings takes that one vulnerable fear of mine and has the Taker appear in mirrors to haunt its’ victims.  Those scenes are the types that leave you a bit disturbed and flat out terrified. Will I be looking at any mirrors anytime soon? Probably not. I would recommend The Murmurings to readers that are looking for a novel that is perfect to read during the night with only dim lighting and those of us who are looking for a novel that will knock you off your feet (and then drag you kick and screaming into Sophie’s world).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I remember when I first saw the cover of The Murmurings, and I j

    I remember when I first saw the cover of The Murmurings, and I just knew that I had to get the book. The cover just caught my eye in a way, no book ever did. After reading the synopsis, I just HAD to get this one as soon as possible! The story is about Sophie, a girl who just lost her sister a while ago. Sophie's sister, Nell, was admitted to Oakside to get treated for what they called, schizophrenia. Sophie knew that that wasn't the case, because Nell could hear murmurings, and see things that other people couldn't. At first, I found it to be a bit creepy. The weird things that Nell used to hear, and then her death, and how all of it was just a tad weird to be true.  
    Later, we meet Evan. Evan is a guy who goes to Sophie's school, who suddenly searches her house number and gives her a call, asking to "hang out". It struck me a bit weird at first, but he's just a shy guy wanting to hang out with a girl he has a crush on! I actually found it cute later on.. lol. Anyways, as we get to know more about Evan, they both share their secrets together. It seems that Evan's cousin, Deb, also had the same problem as Nell. Evan found some sites and blogs that talk about the same problems, and then bother Evan and Sophie try to figure out the truth, or the secret behind those murmurs and sights. The story is really good, but I guess it was a bit slow paced for me. It would usually take a long while for some shocking event to happen, and that's why I ended up being a bit bored in between some chapters. 
    Towards the end, the secrets unfolded, and we got to know the truth behind all that happened! I think the ending was really great, because it was happy! (yay for happy endings!!) I think I would have enjoyed this book much more if there wasn't so much unnecessary details included, and little dialogue to read. If you enjoy mystery/thriller books, and don't mind them being a tad slow-paced, I totally recommend you reading The Murmurings!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    Sophie¿s sister Nell was committed to a mental institution becau

    Sophie’s sister Nell was committed to a mental institution because she kept hearing voices in her head. She later escaped and was found dead. Now Sophie is determined to find out what the voices were saying to Nell and why she ended up dead. If of course the voices do not get to Sophie first and drive her crazy. 


    What I did not like:
    I was not completely into the romance in the book. It felt kind of so-so to me. Like there could have been more to it or left out of the story completely. 


    My Thoughts:
    I have to admit that by solely looking at the cover, I thought I was in for a creepy story that would keep me up at night.

    The story got off to a good start, but the further I ventured into the story the more I began to realize that it was not as scary as I had hoped that it would be.
    But, it was a good story and there were some definite creepy moments that had me clued to my seat. The writer did a good job of making the reader guess what was going on while adding a bit of spookiness to the story. 



    ** I received this book from Simon and Schuster / Simon Pulse in exchange for nothing, but my honest review. Thank you!** 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1