Customer Reviews for

The Mystery of the Crystal Portal

Average Rating 4
( 528 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(285)

4 Star

(141)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

153 out of 184 people found this review helpful.

Great game

This is soooooo addicting i took the day off to mow grass and I cant stop playing this game. I hope there are many more games like this.keep them coming. Ill just have to hire a grass cutting service.

posted by 8416586 on April 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

44 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

Good game but to short

I enjoyed playing the game but I finished the game in a few days. I didn't spend hours on it either. The story line was good but the endind left you hanging.

posted by Ginster28 on May 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 528 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 27
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Annoying

    So far this is just boring and annoying

    7 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    The ending

    There was no ending and where is the next chapter?

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Awesome!

    So much fun. Maybe a little bit more money, but worth it!!!! BUY IT!!!!!!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Fun!

    Very addicting love it, but i need more of a challenge.

    <3

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Waste of money

    Upset that i wasted my money on this. So many of the objects were hidden behind the hint and menu button. And screen does not allow you to scroll. I was bored within minutes

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Great game so far

    Good story and I am enjoying searching for the clues. It was a little confusing at first b/c I haven't played anything like it before, but I would definitely play another like it!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Fun game

    I am enjoying the game even though most of the items are obscure; and if it weren't for the help button I would never get anywhere. It is also a little difficult getting the objects in the recepticle.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    CAN NOT FIND IT!

    I can not find vase and the phone when the room is ransacked!

    5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Fun!

    This game is so fun! It is a more complicated version of the usual "hidden objects" game. The player must find the 3-6+ key objects. Then, you need the 5+ hidden objects for each of the key objects, in order to unlock a surprise piece or clue.

    Tapping or dragging everything everywhere is one strategy that I employ. Or, you could follow the dialogue. Whatever.

    I recommend it for older children or adults who like pretty backgrounds and games with a lot of steps. Its really fun to play.

    -AvidReader

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Not that appealing on my Nook

    I found the game frustrating. You were unable to see items due to either the menu sign, or any other obstruction in the corners. The items did not appear to be something you were looking for due to darkness and size. It was hard to play with ease on my Nook. Again. Very frustrating, not much of a game for an adult. Very disappointed!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Help!

    On the puzzle with the prisms, how do you match them? I jusy dont understand it. Please help

    4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Annoying

    I've played many hidden objects games and usually love them but this one is awful. Some objects are hidden behind action buttons so you can not find them without using hints. You have to randomly tap all over the screen to even find the list of objects to be found. Another annoyance is how each level changes during the turn. You click the barrel and there is nothing there. Click the barrel a few minutes later and now there is a list of things you need to find. I like games that challenge my brain - not my screen tapping ability and my patience.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    No escape from impossible puzzles

    I am color blind and was unable, of course, to match the stupid crystal prisms by color and since this worthless game gives you no skip option, i am unable to move forward and have wasted my money, which i deeply resent. I have bought g5 games in the past, bot after this ripoff, never again!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    I change my mind

    In my first review, I gave his game 5 stars. They kind of force you to give a review after just a few minutes with the game. I said I felt it was worth almost five dolllars. Well, if you are not having any financial problems whatsoever and/ or you are completely desperate to have this kind of game and have played all the equally good .99 cent ones or perhaps even all the 1.99 ones, which again are equally as good graphically. This was NOT as long or as challenging as some of the less expensive ones once I came to the end so, I am giving it one star to balance out my five stars and make it a more accurate three stars for me.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Waste of $$$!

    I don't know how this game got rated so high. I am VERY disappointed by it. For $5 I got a game that took only two hours to complete, had much fewer puzzles than they let on (it was mostly hidden object), had a weak story line, and poor controls. It was my first and last G5 game. I'm sticking with Alawar/Big Fish games. I also just bought Weird Park: Broken Tune which was far superior with ten times the playing time, more puzzles, great graphics and story, and just way better value overall. Don't waste your money on Crystal Portal!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Anonymous

    Wish the hidden objects were easier locate because youfind what goes in them before you find the main object. Very addicative. I like hidden object puzzles.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2014

    Fun game

    I love this game.awesome graphics

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    Anonymous

    Just finished the game. I enjoyed it but saw posts from 2012 and I finished it in 2014 and you still haven't made made a game to continue the story. Let's go people!! By the time the game 2 comes out, I'll forget what original story line was about!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Pretty

    No clear instructions.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Crappy, crappy game and support .

    There are absolutely no stars to be given to this game. I thought that if I bought a more expensive game it would be better. I was wrong. This game, has no support to go with it and you can't move from location to location, and there is no way to find out what I'm doing wrong.

    Please don't waste your money on this game. I'm very, very upset.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 528 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 27