Customer Reviews for

The Mystery Woman

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Another historical mystery/romance with a bit of a paranormal be

Another historical mystery/romance with a bit of a paranormal bent by Jayne Anne Krentz’s alter ego Amanda Quick .
The Ladies of Lantern Street are private investigators with a little extra.  They each have a paranormal talent.  Beatrice Lockwood came to work for the La...
Another historical mystery/romance with a bit of a paranormal bent by Jayne Anne Krentz’s alter ego Amanda Quick .
The Ladies of Lantern Street are private investigators with a little extra.  They each have a paranormal talent.  Beatrice Lockwood came to work for the Ladies after her previous employer was murdered and now his murderer is looking for her.   Joshua North doesn't believe in the paranormal but has the reputation of being able to find anyone.  He has found Beatrice and now so has the man who killed her former employer.  Joshua needs to keep Beatrice safe but can he keep his heart safe too?
I love these stories.  The mix of mystery, romance and humor are a fantastic way to while away a rainy afternoon.  Literary escapism at its best.

posted by In_My_Humble_OpinionDA on April 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I have read all of Amanda Quicks books and most of Jayne Ann kre

I have read all of Amanda Quicks books and most of Jayne Ann krentz and she never disappoint. This book was good 
But I felt that it was a bit rushed. I didn't feel the humor she usually has in her books and I also felt the romance was a bit lacking.
Even the sex scenes...
I have read all of Amanda Quicks books and most of Jayne Ann krentz and she never disappoint. This book was good 
But I felt that it was a bit rushed. I didn't feel the humor she usually has in her books and I also felt the romance was a bit lacking.
Even the sex scenes were rushed. I didn't feel all warm and fuzzy. The plot was good, and interesting but that was it. I don't feel it was Amanda's best, just good.

posted by luv2ReadLR on April 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Another historical mystery/romance with a bit of a paranormal be

    Another historical mystery/romance with a bit of a paranormal bent by Jayne Anne Krentz’s alter ego Amanda Quick .
    The Ladies of Lantern Street are private investigators with a little extra.  They each have a paranormal talent.  Beatrice Lockwood came to work for the Ladies after her previous employer was murdered and now his murderer is looking for her.   Joshua North doesn't believe in the paranormal but has the reputation of being able to find anyone.  He has found Beatrice and now so has the man who killed her former employer.  Joshua needs to keep Beatrice safe but can he keep his heart safe too?
    I love these stories.  The mix of mystery, romance and humor are a fantastic way to while away a rainy afternoon.  Literary escapism at its best.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was very hesitant to give this book a chance after hating Crys

    I was very hesitant to give this book a chance after hating Crystal Gardens but loving most other works by Amanda Quick.

    this one is a masterpiece. I recommend getting this in print because the audiobook narrator is horrible I had to return the audiobook and got the print version and finished this in a day and loved it. I wasn't wandering off to do other stuff. It is written exquisitely.


    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    Highly recommended!!!!!

    As usual Jayne Ann Krentz has hit it out of the ballpark! I think I've read everything Ms. Krentz has written, including all the Harlequins...She always keeps you involved in her plots and you can't wait to get to the end & then you read it all over again, just to make sure you did'nt miss anything....

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2013

    Terrific Reading

    I have all Amanda Quick books, and all of the Jayne Anne Krentz books, and have the Jayne Castle books also.
    I would recommend any books that Jayne Anne Krentz writes, truly I can hardly wait until the next book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    Perfect sequel...tie ins (or back) to the first in the series bu

    Perfect sequel...tie ins (or back) to the first in the series but very easily stands on its own as well. Great mix of mystery and mayhem, romance, and a great plot to boot!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Awesome book by an awesome author

    I love how Amanda Quick/Jayne Ann Krentz/Jayne Castle writes. The back story and twists and turns in this book were unexpected and surprising. Plus we get to read more about Marsh and Flint, which helped develop the agency's image more from the description of Crystal Gardens. I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves paranormal, Quick, or historical writings.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Gjfgh

    Fhghvbh

    1 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    excelent

    excellent as always..a very good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Highly Recommend - you should check this book out

    I love this new series from Amanda Quick, can't wait for the
    next book in the series. If you haven't read this series, pick up

    Crystal Gardens (Ladies of Lantern Street Series #1) to get started.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    A Perfect Quick

    Just what I wanted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Outstanding. Highly recommend for all Amanda Quick fans.

    Amanda Quick writing another in her female para-normal series. The strong female lead and strong male counterpart coming together to solve a mystery in 19th century England is always a plus for this reader. Throw in a little English history or spy craft of the day and I enjoy the story more. Our heroine, Beatrice Lockwood, is possessed of some psychical abilities which she uses in her role as a agent for the investigative firm of Flint and March. On her current mission she meets Joshua Gage, a former British agent and non believer in psychical matters. Their meeting and subsequent working arrangement involving blackmail, murder, and kidnapping weaved through with Egyptian mythology make for great story telling in mystery and romance Amanda Quick style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    EVERFREE FOREST

    Here. Zecora lives here.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Another Great Read

    I really enjoy Amanda Quick's books. The people seem real - ones you'd like to meet. Can't wait for the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Excellent

    Enjoyed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I really liked this book. She always writes excellent stories with strong characters, a good romance and lots of suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2013

    Recommend highly

    Very entertaining. Another winner from Amanda Quick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Excellent Reading and Entertaining

    This writer tells a good story and mystery. The plot keeps moving and keeps you interested to the end. You don't want to put the book down till finished. Recommend all the Amanda Quick series books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    I loved Amanda Quick's The Mystery Woman! Beatrice Lockwood is

    I loved Amanda Quick's The Mystery Woman! Beatrice Lockwood is smart, determined, self-reliant and logical as are all employees of Flint and Marsh on Lantern St. She also has a paranormal talent as do their other employees, but she is Joshua Gage's primary suspect as his sister's blackmailer. A former secret agent for the British government under the spy master, Mr. Smith, he was a recluse for a year, recovering from a leg injury from a blast that left his face scarred and his leg crippled, and he always finds what he's looking for. A whodunit with a fast paced mystery and a paranormal twist, The Mystery Woman is a fun, sexy, not to be missed read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2013

    Thoroughly enjoyable. As with all Krentz/Quick/Castle books an

    Thoroughly enjoyable. As with all Krentz/Quick/Castle books an looking forward to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Jayne, you are my favorite author and you have delivered another

    Jayne, you are my favorite author and you have delivered another best seller!

    Thanks for another great read!

    Evie

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2