Customer Reviews for

Mystic City

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun

Fun & fast-paced. Great love story & a creative world.

posted by RoseVogt on October 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I tried so hard to like it but it just wasn't working for me

This story started off with an intriguing situation, a solid, believable dystopian world and lots of potential to be an exciting and interesting book. But it fell flat so early on in the book that I lost hope really quickly. The characters are two-dimensional and shallo...
This story started off with an intriguing situation, a solid, believable dystopian world and lots of potential to be an exciting and interesting book. But it fell flat so early on in the book that I lost hope really quickly. The characters are two-dimensional and shallow with absolutely no depth into personality. They just felt like the author threw them into the story so as not to leave Aria all alone all the time. I could not stand Kiki whatsoever and considering the fact that Kiki and Aria are best friends, I could not find one instance where Kiki did anything for Aria that showed me how close they were. They just gossiped and shared jewelry and went out to parties together. Bennie and Aria's brother were also unrealistic and I didnt find one place in the book where they showed their love, I don't even recall them holding hands in the book. Aria's parents were stereotypically cold and uninviting and we were never given a glimpse into what was behind her parent's actions throughout the book. Aria's romance with Hunter was awful and I found myself skipping entire pages so as not to read the cringe-worthy dialogue between the two characters. The author made him forcefully "mischievous" and a "jokester" who held a lot of secrets and was "mysterious" as well. Every scene with him was atrociously put together and the conversations between Aria and him were unrealistic and at times very rushed. Her feelings for him came from absolutely nowhere and you could tell what was going to happen between them from practically their first encounter (and just to add something, their first kiss was absolutely ridiculous and not sweet or romantic at all and I felt like it was one of the worst parts in the book). I would not recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of dystopian romance books because of lack of surprises throughout the plot and the awful character developement. If you want to read a good dystopian romance, read the Razorland series which I highly recommend.

posted by 16719571 on January 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Fun

    Fun & fast-paced. Great love story & a creative world.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    I tried so hard to like it but it just wasn't working for me

    This story started off with an intriguing situation, a solid, believable dystopian world and lots of potential to be an exciting and interesting book. But it fell flat so early on in the book that I lost hope really quickly. The characters are two-dimensional and shallow with absolutely no depth into personality. They just felt like the author threw them into the story so as not to leave Aria all alone all the time. I could not stand Kiki whatsoever and considering the fact that Kiki and Aria are best friends, I could not find one instance where Kiki did anything for Aria that showed me how close they were. They just gossiped and shared jewelry and went out to parties together. Bennie and Aria's brother were also unrealistic and I didnt find one place in the book where they showed their love, I don't even recall them holding hands in the book. Aria's parents were stereotypically cold and uninviting and we were never given a glimpse into what was behind her parent's actions throughout the book. Aria's romance with Hunter was awful and I found myself skipping entire pages so as not to read the cringe-worthy dialogue between the two characters. The author made him forcefully "mischievous" and a "jokester" who held a lot of secrets and was "mysterious" as well. Every scene with him was atrociously put together and the conversations between Aria and him were unrealistic and at times very rushed. Her feelings for him came from absolutely nowhere and you could tell what was going to happen between them from practically their first encounter (and just to add something, their first kiss was absolutely ridiculous and not sweet or romantic at all and I felt like it was one of the worst parts in the book). I would not recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of dystopian romance books because of lack of surprises throughout the plot and the awful character developement. If you want to read a good dystopian romance, read the Razorland series which I highly recommend.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Magical and Thrilling

    This is one of those books that grab your attention right in the first chapter. One of the books that has a heroic protagonist with a sexy love interest and a set of secondary characters that you cannot help but feel something for. Plus, the cover for this book is absolutely stunning... totally does it justice. Overall, Mystic City is a magical and thrilling book that will rouse all of your emotions.

    Aria Rose awakens one day and is told that she overdosed on a drug called Stic, which is pulled from mystic energy. She is told that she is engaged to Thomas Foster, the son of her parent's political rivals. Aria doesn't remember being engaged to Thomas nor does she remember being in love with him or her parents and the Fosters uniting. As much as she tries to remember her memories before her "overdose" she can't seem to grasp them and the ones that do slip forward don't seem quite right. The night is about to confront Thomas about it, she is attacked and saved by a rebel mystic. Hunter is built, blonde-haired blue-eyed and feels like someone Aria can trust. As she starts to see more of Hunter and learn more about the world around her she soon understands that Hunter may be key to unlocking her lost memories and that she can't trust everyone around her... a war just may be coming.

    I really loved this book. I absolutely love the magical feel of the world of mystics. It quite beautiful actually. The unfortunate side of the city is the political feud that keeps the city under lock. All the Roses and Fosters are, are power hungry animals. All but one... Aria. Aria is the type of protagonist you root for. The one who is the "black sheep" of the family, yet her heart is in the right place and she fights for what she believes is right. As Aria grew to hate her family and the people around her, I did as well. It's truly amazing what people, who you think love you, will do for power. And despite almost everything going against Aria she constantly prevails and fights and I absolutely adored her for it.

    Other than our protagonists though, we have people like Kiki who I loved her funny outgoing personality, yet sometimes I wanted to slap her for her naivety around Aria and what was going on. Also people like Benedict and Davida who you need and end up loving by the end of the story. There's also Turk who is probably one of my favorite secondary characters in Mystic City. Hellloooo sexy mohawk boy with powers. Turk is the funny, outgoing best friend who always seems to be in the right place at the right time. A boy with a golden heart who I just wanted to hug. Then finally there is Hunter. Oh Hunter, I want you. First, I love his name. Second, blonde hair blue eyes and built. Third... he has a heart of gold and the mind of a warrior. I just could not get enough of him. He always tried to do the right thing for himself and Aria. His protective side and the way he could sacrifice himself just because it's the right thing... just killed me. Definitely a new book boyfriend.

    Overall, this is one of those books that has the adventure, romance, and thrilling moments I live for. There were so many parts that I just couldn't put the book down and so many parts where I was nervous to see what was coming next. Completely loved Mystic City and cannot wait until I can get more of this world.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I really wanted to like this novel. Romeo and Juliet meets dysto

    I really wanted to like this novel. Romeo and Juliet meets dystopic world with paranormal elements...? That already sounds tantalizing. Girl can't remember anything? Mysterious and intriguing. Plus, my friends all know that I have a thing for sparkles and shinies, and the cover of this book is drop-dead gorgeous. If I lived in Aria's world, I might become a collector of Stic, not for the high but just to look at the pretties.
    Mystic City gave me too many details when I didn't want them and too little when I needed more. I didn't need to see Aria run down to dinner in the middle of reading Davida's notes, for example. I just needed to learn more about Davida. Other times, Aria does things without explaining why she does them. There's also Hunter who tells Aria to stay far away from him and then goes and does the opposite himself. It felt as though I was reading a running commentary on the events that take place instead of living them with Aria, and it's an inconsistent commentary with Aria's mind flititng from one idea to another. I couldn't relate to her or any of the characters. They're flat and strongly rooted in good or evil. I had a hard time feeling the underlying motivation for their beliefs and actions, including the big romance of the book. While I can see why Aria would be instantly attracted to Hunter, I had a hard time believing it.
    Aria is a sheltered princess. She grew up in a rich family and doesn't know how to protect herself. She goes into the Depths without thinking about what she'd do if someone jumps her--she doesn't think about the dangers. Many times, she'd be dead if there weren't people looking out for her. She's also an idealist, which isn't bad in itself, but she doesn't have the power to change things. At the end, it seems as though she's finally found her path. However, it took far too long for her to figure out everything and assert her position.
    The book is recommended for fans of Matched, The Hunger Games, X-Men, and Blade Runner. However, don't get your hopes up if you liked these. There is far less action and character development in this book than you'd be expecting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    A must read book.

    I cannot wait for the sequel! Definitely mystifying ^_^

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Great mystical fantasy adventure ya read!

    It took me awhile to finally finish reading this book. I kept getting interrupted by other books but I am soo glad I finally did finish it! It was great. There was a futuristic romance fantasy adventure sort of feel. Good suspense... Mystic City kept me guessing! I can't believe book 2 won't be out til fall 2014! I want to know what happens next! I will say I felt the characters were believable in their actions and that the story played through well. There were not really any slow bits which I loved. Romance storyline played out well. All in all another great ya read! Check it out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Amazing!

    This book pulled me right in. You should definatly read this book youll love it! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    :-D

    Love this book can't wait for the second one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Mystic City is a unique dystopian novel that is set in post-glob

    Mystic City is a unique dystopian novel that is set in post-global warming New York. This book captivated me, and after the first few pages, I was hooked. The characters are amazing and, for the most part, well-developed. The world-building is done fairly well, and the concept itself is extremely unique. If you're a fan of dystopian fantasy, this is one book you do not want to miss!

    Aria is an excellent leading character. There were times that I wanted to smack her, but overall, she was strong and intelligent. Her friends, however, were anything but. Kiki is obnoxious and such a cookie cutter character that I couldn't stand to read about her. Bennie is okay, but nothing terrific. Thomas is a jerk, and I can't stand him. I adore Hunter and Turk, though! Also, some of the secondary characters, such as Elissa and Benedict are extremely interesting. The Roses and the Fosters are both terrifying, and I could not believe the awful things that they do in the name of power. 

    The plot is unique and captivating. I had the mystery figured out with Aria pretty early on, but I still couldn't put the book down. I had to know when she'd figure it out and who else knew what was going on. I also had to know what else was going to happen before she figured everything out. That being said, there still were plenty of surprises! Some of the events really shocked me, and it was all I could do not to flip to the end to see how things end up. Needless to say, this novel is extremely suspenseful. I was kept on the edge of my seat the entire time. Lawrence definitely kept me guessing, and that's a good thing!

    The world-building is okay, but sometimes I felt that there was so much description that the author was showing more than telling. For the most part, things are pretty balanced, though, and a lot of the descriptions may be edited out before the final version is released. The pacing is pretty spot-on, though it does drag a little bit in the beginning. I would have liked for things to come together more quickly. For the most part, though, I have no complaints. The ending is excellent. It ties up a lot of the loose ends, but leaves room for the sequel. 

    Overall, I'd recommend this book to anyone who loves dystopian fantasies. You will not be disappointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Predictable

    Thats the one thing thay came to mind when i read this. I found myself guessing everything that was going to happen. It was interesting at times and a good quick read but i just felt like it lacked depth for me. I finished the book and had no urge to read the next one, though i will i just wasnt as interested in this world. All in all it was a good start hopefully the next book will be better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Futuristic romeo and juliette

    Set in a futuristic society full of magic and mafia type families, unlike anything out right now. Ended as a stand alone, but with enough open ends for another (which i would love).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    Good Story!!

    Theo Lawrence did a good job of making this story have mystery elements that didn't let me put the book down. I loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Great

    Loved this book so much recommended for loversof the legend trilogy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    This sounds like matched..

    It sounds exactley like matched. I dont to read it just for that reason. I mean like.. plagarism much? Sure it has differences.. that sound exactly like divergance and a few other books. Yeah no. ;-;

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Amazing

    Am amazing book. Worth every penny!! Cant wait for the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Needlestorm

    He snatched up the rabbit and went back to camp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    The rabbit

    Sqeals and lays still. (

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Dont buy

    What killed this book was the lack of passion. Aria and hunters "romance" was so forced and fake, I honestly didn't care whether they ended up together or not. The characters of this book had no depth what so ever, AT ALL. DONT READ.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Mystic City is a fun fast paced mystery that takes us into a bea

    Mystic City is a fun fast paced mystery that takes us into a beautiful and terrible version of our world. Aria comes from a life of privilege in a futuristic high society of New York City. She has possessions, comfort and power, but also is expected fulfill certain expectations. Thusly, she pays for her cushy lifestyle with her freedom.

    The story begins with Aria losing a chunk of her memory due to an accident and the rest of the story is spent figuring out the mystery of that missing section of her memory and determining who her friends really are.

    Love triangles, deceptions, battles and gained/lost love ensue (natch) and every plot twist keeps you peeking around the next page.

    I loved viewing Mystic City through Aria's perspective and the details were teased out in a way that kept me guessing. Some mysteries are solved easily, but many remain until the end. The characters, pacing and world-building were all exceptional. Lawrence definitely has a winner of a series on her hands.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Great book. It was pretty predictable... I found myself knowing

    Great book. It was pretty predictable... I found myself knowing exactly what would happen next all the time... but still, it was written well. All of the characters have their good and bad qualities even if some did lack depth. The romance was as good as can be written by a man and the guys were sexy enough (well hey there Hunter and Turk.!).
    I liked the idea of the story. It's a lot like many others in the way of a girl losing her memory, realizing that everything she's grown up with is a lie, etc etc, but it has a few aspects that were completely new. The idea of "mystics"- magical people- being siphoned of their energy was interesting, and the Romeo and Juliet storyline worked well.
    Basically, this book wasn't very original. But it was well-written and hard to put down. It was captivating, thrilling and romantic with a hint of scifi and a dystopian touch. I will be looking forward to the next in the series!


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2