Customer Reviews for

The Naked Mole-Rat Letters

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good gone bad!

The Naked Mole Rat Letters
By Mary Amato
Illustrated By Heather Saunders
Published By Holiday House Inc.
Copyright ...
The Naked Mole Rat Letters
By Mary Amato
Illustrated By Heather Saunders
Published By Holiday House Inc.
Copyright 2005


When straight A, twelve-year-old Frankie's dad begins a long distance relationship Frankie decides that that's it! She sends fabricated e-mails, ditches school, loses her brother, cheats in school and sets part of the house on fire! Even though Ayanna responds with witty letters about naked mole rats and growing up, things get worse. Frankie pretends to be her dad, lies, hangs out with a troublemaker and gets into more trouble herself. Then someone else gets into Frankie's life and gets buddy-buddy with her dad. Who is it but Frankie's school guidance counselor Doris Trolly a.k.a. The Troll. Frankie feels like she has become a spec, especially since she hasn't gotten the lead role in the play and every other time she has!

But then for the first time, she notices how wise Ayanna's letters really are. Ayanna writes about growing up and fitting in. Will this help Frankie or will Frankie's life keep falling apart? I recommend this book for children 8-13.

posted by 2381418 on December 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hey people

Dont buy the book. I mean the title badically is saying thete is going to be nudity in a chilrens book. Thats just wrong. 1 STAR BC THE GIRL ON THE COVER IS PRETTY

posted by Anonymous on December 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2009

    Good gone bad!

    The Naked Mole Rat Letters
    By Mary Amato
    Illustrated By Heather Saunders
    Published By Holiday House Inc.
    Copyright 2005


    When straight A, twelve-year-old Frankie's dad begins a long distance relationship Frankie decides that that's it! She sends fabricated e-mails, ditches school, loses her brother, cheats in school and sets part of the house on fire! Even though Ayanna responds with witty letters about naked mole rats and growing up, things get worse. Frankie pretends to be her dad, lies, hangs out with a troublemaker and gets into more trouble herself. Then someone else gets into Frankie's life and gets buddy-buddy with her dad. Who is it but Frankie's school guidance counselor Doris Trolly a.k.a. The Troll. Frankie feels like she has become a spec, especially since she hasn't gotten the lead role in the play and every other time she has!

    But then for the first time, she notices how wise Ayanna's letters really are. Ayanna writes about growing up and fitting in. Will this help Frankie or will Frankie's life keep falling apart? I recommend this book for children 8-13.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Hey people

    Dont buy the book. I mean the title badically is saying thete is going to be nudity in a chilrens book. Thats just wrong. 1 STAR BC THE GIRL ON THE COVER IS PRETTY

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2006

    This book is G-R-E-A-T ! !

    The Naked Mole Rat Letters By Mary Amato Reviewed by Claire Hasler Sitting by the computer checking e-mails and trying to chase away unwanted love. This is normal for Frankie Wallop, after her dad comes back from Washington, D.C.. The Naked Mole Rat Letters is another great book by Mary Amato. If you like heartwarming comedies you should read this. In the small town of Pepperblossom, Frankie Wallop is going through a shocking change. Her dad is going gaga over some lady he just met! Now Frankie is determined to chase her away with the power of e-mails. But after awhile everything gets bottled up inside until she can¿t hold her feelings in anymore. Will this stranger go away or come and take the place of her beloved mother that had passed away? This book has a fun format for kids. It goes from Frankie¿s journal, to her e-mails between the stranger and some of her dad¿s emails. If you don¿t like this type of format this book is not for you. Additionally Frankie is a very realistic character. She really acts like her age. Mary Amato really makes you feel like you are in Pepperblossom. But other characters like Mrs. Holmes are not so realistic. The characters are too involved with the community. They know way too much and are too noisy to be realistic. After you read The Naked Mole Rat Letters you should make sure to check out The Word Eater, another great book by Mary Amato. The Naked Mole Rat Letters is great for readers 10 and up. You will gain a sense of knowing to always be grateful for the family you have and the love you get.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Shut up

    They wont stop sayind ratlady

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    "Get the Mouse Traps Ready!"

    I'm a sixth grade student in Glendale, AZ and I read this book by Mary Amato called The Naked Mole-Rat Letters. In this story, one of the main characters is Francine Wallop, or as everybody calls her Frankie. Frankie's mom and dad are divorced and she mostly lives with her dad. Her dad is dating a woman by the name of Ayanna Bayo and Frankie is not happy at all! Frankie is the kind of girl who takes action and is protective of her family. Another main character is Ayanna Bayo who I mentioned earlier. She is dating Frankie's father. She lives in Washington D.C and is high strung. Whatever she wants, she gets. Those are the two main characters in this story.
    The plot in this story is that Frankie's dad went to Washington D.C for his work and he met a girl named Ayanna. Her dad said that he was in love with her at first sight, and so was she. Ayanna asked her dad out on a date and he accepted it. The date was going well so Frankie's dad kissed her! After that, he had to go back to his hometown and they kept in touch with each other. Then Frankie looked through her dad's e-mail and saw all of the e-mails they sent to each other. Now Ayanna is in big trouble because Frankie is e-mailing her with some nasty responses. That is the plot of The Naked Mole-Rat letters.
    By the words and places of this story, I think that the time is right about now. The story never says what Frankie's hometown is, but if I was to pick I would say Tennessee. I said this because Frankie's dad said that he was about two states away from coming back to his loving children.
    The theme of this story is that it is say don't judge someone just by an e-mail (or anything else) because in the end, you might end up liking that person. That is the Theme of this story.
    I liked The Naked Mole-Rat Letters because I love comedy books and this book was hilarious. When I read the cover of this book, I thought it was going to be a story about a scientist doing an experiment on a naked mole-rat, so I almost didn't get it. Then I read the first couple of pages and I loved it and I just had to get it! That's why I liked this book.
    I think that I connected to this book by text to self because just like Frankie judging Ayanna, I personally have judged my new dance teacher. I thought that she was going to be strict and if we did something wrong, she would make us do it ten more times! When I finally met her, she was really nice and just a tad bit strict. I also think that I have connected to this story by text to world. I say this because Frankie's mom and dad are divorced and her dad is dating some other girl that she doesn't really like. Well my mom and dad are divorced and my dad is dating a girl that I don't really like. That's how I connect to the book to self and world.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    your amazing

    i love your book it shows the opinions of a thirteen year old and even though im only 11 it inspires me to talk to my parents about everything and not care about what other people think about me and that it is ok if im different! thankyou for inspiring me to just be a kid and have fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2007

    Mark twain award awsame

    In this book Frankie¿s dad falls in love with a zoo keeper in Washington D.C. Frankie is not happy. She interferers with phone calls and emails. Will the zoo keeper become Frankie¿s step mom? You should read this book if you are 8 or older. This exiting drama will keep you from putting the book down. If you have to read a Mark Twain nominee for 2007-2008 read this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2007

    got books got cookies got milk got it made

    excellent outstanding wonderful terrific superb book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2007

    I loved this book

    I loved it it was so good i sure wish Mary Ammato makes a sequel to it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2006

    GREAT BOOK!!

    This is a wonderful book!! I loved it I couldn't put it down! I picked it up as sort of a joke because my friend thought it look funny(because of the nake mole rat) but when I started to read it I couldn't put it down! I think every one should read this book! I love everything about this book. I almost cried when I got to the last page. And I did cry when her father and her finaly talk!! well I hope you check this out and read it for yourself because it a GREAT BOOK!!! -Nicole Boggs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2006

    this is a good and dramatic book

    There is this girl and her name is franky wallop and she is going through a hard time with her mother gone and she is living with her father now and she has two brothers and they are both younger than her and so she is in seventh grade and she is trying out for this play and it is going to be kind of hard because she is going against 8th graders and she would be suprised if she got the part becouse no seventh grader has gotten the part yet. then she starts skipping school and telling lies and she has never done that before and so everybody believes her. then she is trying to hack into her fathers e-mail adress because he is secretly typing to this woman named Ayanna Bayo who lives in washington and she is a she works at a zoo and takes care of mole-rats. then frankie is telling her all of these lies so she would not fall in love with her father but she knows what frankie is trying to do. but this is a really good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1