Customer Reviews for

The Nation

Average Rating 4
( 189 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(104)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Finally!

I've been waiting for this since I got my nook! Looks great and reads just as good. Also, can't beat the price. The Nation is a must read for anyone interested in progressive politics.

posted by jslakey on January 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Beware - nook subscription is not a "real" subscription

As far as content, The Nation is as-advertised: the definitive progressive political magazine. I enjoy the content and was pleased to see it available for my nook.

However, nook subscribers should be aware that this isn't considered a "real" subscription by the folk...
As far as content, The Nation is as-advertised: the definitive progressive political magazine. I enjoy the content and was pleased to see it available for my nook.

However, nook subscribers should be aware that this isn't considered a "real" subscription by the folks at The Nation. Hence, you are not able to register as a subscriber on their website. Guest registration is available, but it does not allow you to view any subscriber-only content. Loved an article and wanted to print/save it? Forget it.

I am happy to be saving paper, ink, shipping, and space by reading The Nation on my nook, but nook subscribers should know upfront that they have no access to subscriber-only services or content on the magazine's website.

posted by kcmeredith on February 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 14, 2010

    Moral compass?

    If you are a conservative, this is NOT the magazine for you. It is CNN in print form. I am a history teacher and was looking for informative articles to include in class. Too much liberal slant on the articles. I did try 2 issues, but the second one did not get any better.

    20 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    Hardly a *Moral Compass*

    I'm about as centrist as you can get. *Independent* through and through.

    Translate "read to keep up with what's going on" to "read to remain dumbed-down and brainwashed" and you have a more accurate description.

    Please, sheeples, think for yourselves!! Stop letting CNN, MSNBC and their ilk tell you what you SHOULD be thinking.

    Glad I only got a trial subscription and didn't waste real money.

    Canceled after three issues.

    11 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2010

    Tried it - hated it. Moral compass? Not even close.

    Tried it - hated it. Moral compass? Not even close.

    6 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    No points being made

    First, let me point out that I am a liberal.


    I am disappointed and regret to report that I have learned nothing from this magazine. The writing in this magazine consistently fails to get to a point and thus seldom makes one.

    No wonder it holds no interest for me.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    First, I love the Nation Magazine. It's exactly the kind of maga

    First, I love the Nation Magazine. It's exactly the kind of magazine I enjoy.

    But reading it on the smaller device like Nook Tablet, Nook Color or Nook HD is nearly impossible. BN has a crazy and terrible magazine viewer intended to show you as many ads as possible. Unfortunately, it seems to be incompatible with the Nation magazine itself. If you click on the "ArticleView" it pops up a slim window about 1/3 the size of the page. Extremely hard to read. You need to read this digital edition ONLY on the larger 9 inch HD+. Ironically, they published it in a more readable format on the e-ink Simple Touch. On ST I used to read Nation weekly. But on Nook Tablet I almost never bother to read it; it's too cumbersome.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    American Flag with "Socialist" Under It?

    Notice the first article on the current cover, "How Socialist Built America". Kinda gives you an idea of what this magazine is all about. If anyone doesn't like the principles of democracy and free enterprise that this country was built on, I am sure there is room in either Cuba or China for them. It would be a real reality check.

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Communist agitprop.

    Communist agitprop.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    No news! All editorial!

    I found The Nation way too biased for a liberal to middle grounder like me!!!I knew after the first issue this was way too close-minded and left-leaning.I gave the second issue a look anyway.I cancelled within the trial period.Maybe if you aren't even interested in even hearing "the other guys" point of view the magazine would be perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Sick

    This is about as far left as anything could possibly be. It is so bias its not worth reading.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    liberal claptrap

    This money-losing propaganda organ of the left has strayed so far from its roots I'm sure its founders are turning over in their graves. From advocating small government to the exact opposite, a more cynical and intellectually barren literary wasteland cannot be found.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1