Customer Reviews for

The Nation

Average Rating 4
( 189 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(104)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Finally!

I've been waiting for this since I got my nook! Looks great and reads just as good. Also, can't beat the price. The Nation is a must read for anyone interested in progressive politics.

posted by jslakey on January 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Beware - nook subscription is not a "real" subscription

As far as content, The Nation is as-advertised: the definitive progressive political magazine. I enjoy the content and was pleased to see it available for my nook.

However, nook subscribers should be aware that this isn't considered a "real" subscription by the folk...
As far as content, The Nation is as-advertised: the definitive progressive political magazine. I enjoy the content and was pleased to see it available for my nook.

However, nook subscribers should be aware that this isn't considered a "real" subscription by the folks at The Nation. Hence, you are not able to register as a subscriber on their website. Guest registration is available, but it does not allow you to view any subscriber-only content. Loved an article and wanted to print/save it? Forget it.

I am happy to be saving paper, ink, shipping, and space by reading The Nation on my nook, but nook subscribers should know upfront that they have no access to subscriber-only services or content on the magazine's website.

posted by kcmeredith on February 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    Finally!

    I've been waiting for this since I got my nook! Looks great and reads just as good. Also, can't beat the price. The Nation is a must read for anyone interested in progressive politics.

    25 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    Good to see The Nation move into the digital age

    A journal of liberal opinion for generations, The Nation still manages to infuriate the right. And for that it's worth the price of admission.

    Perhaps the most striking comment from a previous reviewer is that a "history teacher" would not know what The Nation is. Apparently, the same coaches are teaching history as they did when I was in school.

    21 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2010

    Best Political Magazine by Far!

    The Nation speaks truth to power. They are not beholden to the corporate oligarchy that runs this country. The Nation was founded by abolitionists just after the Civil War, and has been published ever since with integrity and wit. Long Live The Nation!

    18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    If you are an idiot, this is not for you

    Morons, narcissists, cretins, knuckle-draggers, Ayn Rand & Rush dittoheads, National Review readers, and other Fox News dupes will be unable to comprehend the articles, much less appreciate them. The sheer level of intellect crammed into every weekly issue is intimidating even to readers with Ph.D.s. Looking for Mark Twain & H.L. Mencken? You'll find them here in their modern incarnations. Let your students read it, teacher, they just might teach you something.

    16 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    One of the best periodicals on the market!

    The Nation is reliably untainted by special interests. They are one of the few good sources of news.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    This magazine is more like a "citizens guide". Love it!

    Every citizen needs to know what is happening in our Nation, in order to make educated decisions, and be an active participant in the political process. In an age of ever increasing propaganda in so many media outlets, choosing fact based information is essential to really understand the issues. While The Nation takes a progressive position on "the issues", it does not journey into unreasonable logic, nor does it present lies as fact or credible reporting. Love it!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Neutralize Faux News

    Get the real story - factually based instead of extremist opinions masquerading as reality.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    Great magazine!

    The same great magazine, on an e-reader.

    I think the navigation could be improved (why 4-5 small tables of contents instead of one big one?), but overall it's fine. It's also disappointing to go to The Nation's website and see the "current issue" listed is the next issue.

    Otherwise, it's a good journal to support with a subscription.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    Great For Those With Common Sense

    If you believe this is not the country you grew up in, this is for you.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    Highly recommended

    What can one say about The Nation? Its standards are as high as ever, and it is still a great read. The most informative liberal publication I have seen.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    One of the only ways to stay truly informed

    I'm not sure I could get along without the Nation. Not only does it provide coverage of issues of importance routinely ignored by the mainstream media, it does so with wit and verve. The writing is superb, dominated by fearless and tireless journalist who never seem to fail in challenging the reader. Short of becoming destitute, I may never drop my subscription to this essential piece of journalistic excellence.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Headlines

    Good reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2013

    Best Magazine

    Find out what is really going on read The Nation!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Reconnecting me with Liberal Perspectives

    I am so happy to have my Nook and to install, "The Nation Magazine",, as my first subscription! It is one of my oldest friends in my reading tradition since leaving college in the 60's. Having participated in the quarter of a century that followed, actively sharing in the movements of history, and having survived, if not always actively experiencing the events of the last years, "The Nation" keeps me in touch.
    Anyone who wants a fresh look at today's issues would benefit from a weekly reading of this magazine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Smart Read

    To be informed takes work but The Nation makes it easy. Thorough investigative journalism that is hard to find in today's newspapers and magazines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Excellent news investigation and analysis.

    Very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6