Customer Reviews for

The Naturals (The Naturals Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2014

    An amazing novel and I certainly will be picking up the next boo

    An amazing novel and I certainly will be picking up the next book in the series tomorrow. I refused to put it down,
    even after my parents got upset with me for letting my sister read a descriptive murder. It was fast paced, had a
    plot twist I couldn't have seen coming, and I was on the edge of my seat biting my nails, trying to figure out the 
    mystery. I've been waiting to read a book like this for quite some time and now I've found it. It's an excellent read 
    and you'll be hooked, just like me, from the first paragraph to the last word.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Hey

    Awesome!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    The Naturals follows the story of Cassie. She's young, has a tal

    The Naturals follows the story of Cassie. She's young, has a talent for reading people, and feels out of place. So when the FBI provides her with a chance to leave the people whom she "loves" but doesn't feel she belongs with, she takes it. If there is a farfetched chance she may learn something about her mother's disappearance, then, all the better. But this new world of similar teens, is not all it appears to be. Secrets are held, lines are blurred, and danger lurks in the shadows.

    I rather enjoyed this book. (Side note: The cover quotation compares it to Criminal Minds. So the whole time I am reading it, all I can picture was a younger Reid joining the house.) It was interesting and entertaining for a quick read. The story basically follows Cassie as she learns about her natural talent and goes through this training program with the other kids to focus and develop their talents before society can curb their instincts.

    But, to me, the core of this book seems to be the romance triangle. If you are not a fan of love triangles at all, you may want to skip this one. Most of the book Cassie fluctuates between the two boys, she notices and we notice things. If you are not a fan, it could easily be too much. I didn't mind the triangle so much, and I am curious as to which boy she might finally choose. But there were some times when I just wanted to smack them for being, well stereotypical teenagers. One can only take so much angst before one has to say enough. Or decides to strangle a certain cocky boy.

    The serial killer plot is what really kept me invested in the story. Every so often you get a bit from the killer's point of view tossed in there. I liked reading them as the story progressed and picking out details that I thought would be relevant to discovering just who it is. I was in the dark for most of the book, and I liked that. It's horrible when I figure out who done it in the very beginning. And the motive? Didn't see it coming at all. So that was a plus.

    I am hoping for book two that the characters will be fleshed out a bit more, the love triangle tones down a bit, and we get another great mystery to solve. But I am planning on reading the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2013

    The Naturals by Jennifer Lynn Barnes Print Length: 321 pages Pag

    The Naturals by Jennifer Lynn Barnes
    Print Length: 321 pages
    Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1423168232
    Publisher: Disney Hyperion (November 5, 2013)

    My Review~
    I received this book in exchange for a honest review from the publisher Disney-Hyperion.
    This book is an intense read! I could not put it down once I started. The author had me captivated in the YA Crime thriller. This was mind-blowing!! I was left guessing the entire time but then I did not expect the murder to be who they were!! Then there is a love triangle between Micheal Cassie and Dean that is intense. I am voting for Dean though who is the misjudged teen. Did I say how interesting and cool looking the cover is?!! It makes me want to book shimmy to delve in and discover what is hidden in the present. I love love love this book! The writing is fast action packed ride that will leave you wanting more at the end. I can't wait to see if there is another book after this one. This author knows how to ensnare the reader within the first few chapters. This has got to be one of the best YA thrillers of 2013!!! Cassie is a somewhat normal girl who found her mother murder when she was younger. Her mother taught her how to read people. Now Cassie lives with her father's family and is struggling to fit in when she meets Micheal who intrigues her and enrolls her into a classified program meant for other teens who have a similar ability as Cassie. With the help of the teens, Cassie soon realizes that she is far too close to the case. Will she survive? Who is this murderer and what do they want with her?

    Amazon Book Description~
    Seventeen-year-old Cassie is a natural at reading people. Piecing together the tiniest details, she can tell you who you are and what you want. But, it's not a skill that she's ever taken seriously. That is, until the FBI come knocking: they've begun a classified program that uses exceptional teenagers to crack infamous cold cases, and they need Cassie. What Cassie doesn't realize is that there's more at risk than a few unsolved homicides—especially when she's sent to live with a group of teens whose gifts are as unusual as her own. Soon, it becomes clear that no one in the Naturals program is what they seem. And when a new killer strikes, danger looms close. Caught in a lethal game of cat and mouse with a killer, the Naturals are going to have to use all of their gifts just to survive. Think The Mentalist meets Pretty Little Liars—Jennifer Lynn-Barnes' The Naturals is a gripping psychological thriller with killer appeal, a to-die-for romance, and the bones of a gritty and compelling new series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wow. Just wow. This book is ridiculously amazing. Holy hell was

    Wow. Just wow. This book is ridiculously amazing. Holy hell was it epic! Saying it's thrilling doesn't even cover how on-the-edge-of-your-seat this books keeps you. The Naturals was an absolutely fantastic YA read full of some crazy thrills, a spine-chilling murder mystery, and a sprinkle of romance. I LOVED THIS BOOK.

    Cassie was an amazing heroine. She's never gotten over her mother's murder and when she has a chance of learning the truth by joining the Naturals program, she jumps at it. But, she gets more than she bargained for when murders start happening that seem to center around her. Cassie was just great. She was strong, clever, and determined. I really liked her and I thought she was a wonderfully kick-ass heroine.

    Though the romance in this book is fairly light, most of the plot being centered around the mystery, it was still a major plot device, so I'll mention the love-interests.

    Michael was a charmer. But, there's a lot more to him than just that. Like all the other Naturals, his past is not pretty. The downside of him is that he's very sneaky. He can be quite manipulative. But I really liked him. When he wanted to, he could be very sweet.

    Dean was the other love-interest and, though I liked Michael, I had a preference for him, though probably just because I have a weakness for bad boys. His past was possibly the most grim and he has a definite chip in his shoulder because of that. But, he could also be very sweet and he was dedicated to solving cases, mostly because he felt he had to make up for what was in his past. He was wonderful.

    All the other characters, the Naturals and the FBI agents were wonderfully complex character. Each one drew me in and engaged my individually, which is quite a feat. They were all brilliantly drawn out.

    The world that the author created was incredible, with the Naturals. The way their skills were described, particularly how Cassie thought as she was using her ability, was just brilliant. I loved the world of the Naturals.

    The plot was amazing. It was fast paced and it was one hell of a roller coaster. The thrills were nonstop. The murder mystery was amazing. I never suspected who it turned out to be. My jaw literally dropped when I found out. I haven't heard news of a sequel yet, but after that ending, there better be one as soon as possible. I can't wait to see more for these amazing characters and this fantastic world. 

    The Naturals was a magnificent YA book! I LOVED it! If you like thrills, mystery, surprises, or romance, then you have to read this book because it's just mind-blowingly amazing.

    *I received a free copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2015

    I had some mixed feelings about this story.  On the whole I enjo

    I had some mixed feelings about this story.  On the whole I enjoyed it, but there were a few things that did bother me about it that kept me from really loving it completely. 




    First off, I loved the concept of the story... the idea that there are these gifted teenagers out there who are able to perceive things that others can't...i.e...Cassie's ability to read people, another's ability to detect lies, etc...  I did wish, however, that there had been some explanation for how they received these abilities, and no reason was ever given as to whether this is a paranormal story, if these teens are just mentally mutated, or if they have natural gifts of intuition that are just more highly developed than that of other people. But overall, this lack of explanation didn't really detract from my enjoyment.




    I had a little trouble believing that the FBI would enlist kids to aid them, but I overlooked that as well because if you have a group of people with paranormal abilities/mutated abilities/overly developed natural gifts, why wouldn't you use them to help you solve crimes?  So when the teenagers got into their work, it was really fascinating.  Especially the fact that Cassie will be investigating her own mother's murder.




    I did enjoy the characters themselves very much, although I could have done without the love triangle.  To me, it was just unnecessary drama.  I would have preferred that the romance focus exclusively on the one guy she ends up with.  I felt like having another guy involved in there just complicated things in a way that was trivial at best. That being said, I did love the romance between Cassie and her ultimate choice guy.  I loved him!




    The last portion of the book was my favorite due to the twists and surprise killer.  I have to admit the author really had me going on that one.  I tried to predict the killer and was shockingly wrong.  So I have to give kudos there.  Very well done.




    Overall, the story was a good one...entertaining, with a good premise and a great, shocking ending.  It gave us, as readers, closure.  It seemed as if this was a standalone book, which was really refreshing in this world of trilogies.  I'd recommend the book for a good distracting, enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2015

    AMAZING

    My daughter read this book till midnight and loved every second of it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2015

    Fantastic Cross Between Criminal Minds & Scorpion

    Barnes begins this series in a fashion one could compare to the ever popular Criminal Minds and Scorpion TV series. Completing this book in only a few hours, I was overly impressed not only with the story itself, but the character development. I loved everyone, even the bad guys! The pace moved quickly with just enough information to make you understand the events of the story. Also, I loved how this was written to appeal to both young adult and adult audiences!

    Five stars for a truly riveting book! I can't wait to read the second installment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2014

    So like Sherlock. 

    So like Sherlock. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2014

    3.5/5 stars I won this book last year in a Twitter giveaway and

    3.5/5 stars

    I won this book last year in a Twitter giveaway and just never quite found the time to read it... until now! Our school has started up a book club and they are doing a different genre every month and then meet to discuss what books they read! Being a teacher I was afraid they would say it was only for students, but they were happy to let me join in the fun! This month's genre was mystery, so naturally I thought of this book! I'm not a huge mystery fan, but I really did enjoy reading The Naturals. It was very CSI for Young Adult, which definitely captured my interest!


    While I enjoyed this book, I did expect a bit more action and suspense. Instead, a lot of the book revolves around our main character Cassie getting acquainted to the program and learning to hone her skills as a profiler. This was important to see, but I felt it went on a bit too long for my taste. I did love the thriller element to this one though. Barnes incorporates a very creepy 'extra' that we see throughout the book before certain chapters. It is critical to the storyline and I loved trying to figure out what it meant! The action really ramped up towards the last 1/4 of the book, and I have to say- I was NOT able to predict the end of this one!


    Cassie is a bit of a loner. She is surrounded by family, but still feels out of place. When she is approached by the FBI for her ability to profile people, she jumps at the chance to leave and head for Washington. She is not the only one to have enhanced abilities though. In the program, there are 4 other teens her age who are also helping the FBI crack cold cases. Michael can read emotions and is quite good at masking his own. Cassie really struggles to get a read on him and finds herself wondering who the real Michael is. He comes across as snarky and confident, but I liked him. I especially liked what he said to her at the end of the book! Dean is another profiler like Cassie, but he is determined to keep her at arm's length. He doesn't have any interest in befriending her, but as they are both profilers, they find themselves working together quite frequently. Dean is still a bit of a mystery, but as we learn more about his past, it makes sense as to why he is the way he is. Lia and Sloane round out the group. Sloane is Cassie's roommate and is a bit socially awkward. She thinks in patterns and numbers and is very type A. Lia, on the other hand, is a bit of a wild child and likes to be the center of attention. She could really grate on my nerves at times, but I don't think she's a bad person. I was afraid she'd be a bit too mean girl for my tastes, but she wasn't that bad.


    I wish I could have gotten a bit more on Cassie. She's not a bad heroine, but I didn't really connect to her at all. I felt like we saw way more personality in Lia than anyone else and she's not who the book is focused on.


    I wasn't crazy about the impending love triangle either. I honestly didn't feel Cassie had a spark with either Michael or Dean to be honest. I prefer Michael, as he actually is forthcoming in his want to date her, where Dean doesn't show any outward affection towards her. He offers her comfort and a quiet strength when she discovers some things that connect to her past. However, Michael had something going on with Lia at one point in time and it's clear she still wants him, so of course this complicates matters.


    I'm huge on character development in a novel and I just felt this one was lacking in that department. I really liked the premise though, so that is what would encourage me to continue this series. I've also heard fantastic thing about the second book, Killer Instincts, so I'm definitely going to give it a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2014

    OMG!!!!!!!! This book is on my top greatest books ever!!!!!!! Je

    OMG!!!!!!!! This book is on my top greatest books ever!!!!!!! Jennifer Lynn Barnes is also on my top three favorite authors.
    This book was so well written it had just the amount of action and a pinch of romance. The book has a great love Triangle
    I hope this book is a series. I rarely read books that are this well written. Words cannot express the suspense you get 
    When reading this book!!!!!!!!!!! It's a book were you know it will be ending soon so you just want to stop and savor 
    The moment of reading this book!!!!! I would highly highly highly recommend this book to anyone i see!!!!! Such an amazing author!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    awsome

    This book is really good. A mystery in a mystery. Twists and turns make this book the highlite of tension-inducing mystery murder novels. I recomend this to anyone who likes being on the edge of their seet. This would make a great movie FYI.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Great suspense!

    Could not put this down.A wonderful suspense.Thoroughly
    crafted and characters very believable! Hope there is a sequel!
    Cannot wait for any new book written by this author.
    All are absolutely fantastic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2014

    My favorite mystery/ thriller/ crime novel of the month! The pl

    My favorite mystery/ thriller/ crime novel of the month!

    The plot is spectacular for YA mystery/thriller. Cassie is a “natural” at profiling people, being able to piece together who you are and what you want from the way you like your eggs. Jennifer Lynn Barns does a great job at writing a gifted protagonist who the reader can relate to. The book is like Sherlock  or Criminal Minds with teens. Cassie talent lands her in an FBI program for gifted teens who have the same kind of talents as Cass. Michael can read peoples emotions on their face, Sloane spit out  any fact and analyze numbers, Lia is a waking lie detecter and Dean is like Cass. Barnes is pretty gutsy with the casting for this ensemble but again she pulls it off without to much of an inhuman feeling to the characters. Working on old cases and trying to learn something of her mothers disappearance she stumbles onto a copy cat killer. Having some insight into the mind of the killer we get a feel of whats going on but are still left in the dark until the end. Then only thing that really worries me is the love triangle involved. Despite the fact that  almost every YA series has one, a love triangle it isn’t always written well and can often end up to be messy. But if Barnes can write it as well as she’s doing now, so be it. Im just hoping  that she can keep the thrill intact throughout  the series because I have high hopes for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    This book was AMAZING! I couldn't put it down! By the time you g

    This book was AMAZING!
    I couldn't put it down! By the time you get to the ending you want to keep on reading just to figure out what happens. You try to figure out who ends up being the killer and you can't,. This book is one of the better ones I've read in a while. I couldn't wait to be finished one page so I could read the next. A truly amazing crime mystery novel. I can't wait for the sequel. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Beautifuly written

    I love this work, and I hope many of the other readers enjoyed it as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    I can't help but feel that the author tried to com[plicate the l

    I can't help but feel that the author tried to com[plicate the love story *SPOILER* between Cassie, Dean, and Michael. This book is more of a romance then focusing on the actual investigations and that kind of put me off a bit from the story. Cassie is also kinda a Mary-Sue (a Mary Sue is a character that is pretty much perfect, in look in everything). But I guess it was an okay book, I'll definantly wait to read the sequal (if there is one) when its in paperback, so I don't have to waste almost 20 dollars on a book that I didn't really enjoy immensely. I suggest if you want to read it, wait for paperback. It isn't a bad read, but not a bestseller in my opinion.   

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Good read

    Is there going to be a sequal?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Book

    Not worth the money

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    FYI - Amazon has the kindle edition for 9.99. I can't believe ho

    FYI - Amazon has the kindle edition for 9.99. I can't believe how much Barnes is trying to sell the Nook one. 17.99 that is insanely expensive.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2